top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | DREAM URBAN COVER FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

I first saw this foundation on sophdoesnails Youtube channel and to be honest, I was pretty impressed by it. And shortly after that pretty disappointed because there's no way I will ever buy it in my country. Luckily for me, I took a trip to Vienna at the end of July to see P!nk and I just had to scavange some drugstores while I was there. I was looking at DM Drogerie austrian e-shop and I got really excited when I saw, that they actually had the Urban Cover foundation. So that was my mission for the trip.


They had it basicly everywhere in Vienna, so I picked it up in the first DM I went to. The shade matching was super easy, because the lightest shade was the only one remotly close to my own skin tone. The undertone is quite warm, I can work with it, and the other shades were just waaaaay too dark for me. I don't remember how many shade they had in the store, but according to Maybelline website, there are 16 shades in total and I have the 6th lightest, there are 5 more shades before this one that could probably match me better. Anyway, I ended up with the shade 100 warm ivory, which doesn't really correspond to shade name online, but again, that's how it works in Europe. I think I spend 11 Euro, when I bought it, which is about 300 Crowns, which is not exactly cheap in my book, but if it's any good, I don't mind the price. Many people also said, that it's a dupe for the IT Cosmetics CC cream, which I cannot get in Czech Republic, so I cannot compare them by myself.


The whole shade range is not bad but there's a potential to spread it a bit in all the directions or at least pick sold shades in the stores a bit better. One light warm shade, ton of medium shades and none really dark shades isn't really good representation in my opinion. However, not every foundation shade can be in every store, I get that, I just hope they will consider adding more shades.


Also, this is a picture of the shade range from Maybelline website and there's not my shade at all. Renaming shades again? OK, then. I cannot even remotly tell, which one is my shade 100 warm ivory in the american shades, but well, hopefully there will be picture of the european swatches somewhere one day.


There's a good sound to the claims, that's why I wanted to buy it so much. It has SPF 50, which I cannot usually put on my face because it break me out. It also provides full coverage, it's lightweight and has antioxidants to protect from pollution. As someone living in a quite big city, I am fully listening. It should also have natural looking finish.


It comes in a plastic squeezy tube, I like that, because I really want to take it on vacation with me, if it's any good. Also you get 30ml, which is a standard amount for a foundation. The bottle it mostly seethrough, so you can actually see the product.


Coming out of the tube, it's not too thick but it looks like it has really good coverage. It didn't dry down matte at the back of my hand, so I hope it won't be drying on my skin. It also kinda smells like sunscreen, which I honestly expected, because it has strong SPF. The smell isn't strong and it dissappears shortly after application. I sometimes have trouble with SPF, because it clogs my pores and makes me break out easily when I wear it too often. We shall see, how it goes with this foundation, so let's get to the wear test.

 

Day 1

Today I went for a very hydrated base before foundation application and I applied it with a sponge. It's hard to measure how much I've used but it looked like less than two pumps, which is what I usually use with my other foundations. It went on well, looked smooth and not patchy. It didn't cling onto any patches and seemed to play well with the primers I've used. Also, I did cream base products because I was just too excited about my new Huda Beauty Tantour, so I just had to try it. While I was at it, I added a bit of cream blush. Hopefully, everything will hold up well, because it looks simply splendid right now.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • Catrice Hydrating Prime & Care Spray

  • Catrice Fresh It Up Primer

  • Revlon Photoready Prime + Anti-shine Balm

  • Maybelline dream Urban Cover Foundation, shade 100 warm ivory

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade Peach

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 light neutral

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Concealer, shade 110

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Setting Powder, shade Fair

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Dermacol Blush & Glow, shade 02

  • 183days Loose Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain

  • H&M Eyebrow Powder and Wax, shade Chocolate

  • Catrice Brow Colorist Semi-permanent Mascara, shade 03

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler, shade Clear

  • Benefit High Brow

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Catrice Exotic Traveller Eyeshadow Pallete

  • Catrice Metal Sensation Ultra Creamy Eyeshadow, shade 020 Go Incognito

  • Fenty Beauty Moroccan Spice Eyeshadow Pallete

  • Flormar Satin Touch Stick Eyeshadow, shade Cashmere Dress

  • Huda Beauty Matte & Metal Melted Shadows, shade Dinero

  • NYX Glitter Goals Eyeliner, shade Diamond Dust

  • H&M Best Curlfriend Mascara, shade Deep Black

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Sleek Highlighting Pallete, shade Solstice

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray

  • Sephora Lip Stain, shade Soft Coral


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 10 hours

I enjoyed a fair amount of sweating today, however, my foundation looked pretty in place, aside from random glitter fallout. It didn't budge between my brows too bad, but on my forehead it looked a little more sheer, almost like some of it just sweated off into oblivion. It's quite strange, but it didn't leave me with a hole in my foundation, just with a little uneven finish. The weather was really hot today, and considering that, it held up really well. The blush faded a little bit, but I didn't apply to much in the first place, because it's really vibrant color. The tantour really impressed me, it didn't face at all and it didn't become patchy. I really like that product! Same thing about the foundation, I didn't feel it on the skin the whole day, it looked nice everytime I checked, it didn't really look disrupted or gross at the end of the day. That's a good makeup day for me.

 

Day 2

Today I went for my everyday makeup kinda thing. I had to wake up really early and there wasn't much time to fuss around with cream contour and such. So I did a quick look with powder base products and a quick eyelook to be on my way as soon as possible.


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • Essence Pink Clay Primer

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • Maybelline drema Urban Cover Foundation, shade 100 warm ivory

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade Peach

  • Catrice Liquid Camouflage High Coverage Concealer, shade 005 Light Neutral

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Setting Powder, shade Fair

  • 183days Loose Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain

  • Lottie Brow Powder, shade Medium

  • Catrice Brow Colorist Mascara, shade 030

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler, shade Clear

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Fenty Beauty Moroccan Spice Eyeshadow Pallete

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Lottie London AM to PM Eyeliner Pencil, shade Mocha

  • Too Faced Glitter Peel Off Eyeliner, shade Yes Way Rose

  • Benefit Roller Lash Mascara

  • Benefit Hula Bronzer

  • Essence Blush Trio

  • Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector Pressed, shade C-POP

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray

  • Fenty Beauty Stunna Lip Paint, shade Unbutton

It's very hot outside and it's hard to breathe, therefore I sweat like crazy. It's been rainy all day and I don't really bother with an umbrella these days. I don't even have the courage to look in a mirror at work today. I don't want to touch up too much but I can totally feel my face melting away. We'll see how bad it will look when I get home. I really wanted to give a shot to my old favorite Essence primer, because their primers are actually bomb. I even bought multiples of the mattifying one with charcoal. It worked so well on me, when I had more oily skin. Anyway, I went with the more brightening one today to see if it's still any good, so we shall see.


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 13 hours

I actually wore the makeup a little longer after I took the photo, but let's be fair here. It was 13 hours at the point I got home. To be honest, I didn't expect any makeup to be left on my face after today. It was so hot, raining, I was soaking from the rain at one point, from the sweat in another. It was a rough day. Did the makeup hold up? Honestly? Better than expected. It didn't look its best for sure, but mind you, this is not advertised as a longwearing foundation that can resist extreme conditions. But it did work pretty well. Of course I was pretty oily and gross as I was coming back home. But maybe a little bit of blotting and a powder could fix it. I think, that it looked pretty decent considering the circumstances. Do I have foundations that look better after a day like this? Sure. But they're nowhere near the same pricepoint or the same wearing comfort. You don't feel your best but you don't feel like it's melting off your face either. It does seem like a good summer foundation to me so far.

 

Day 2.5

As I was on a holiday for a whole week, I took a trip to Barcelona. I put on this foundation and took it on a 14 hour trip into 35 degree Celsius heat and constant sunshine, humid climate and walking about 35 kilometers in a day. Also Tacobell. Loved it!


However, I didn't realize, I could take pictures and post it as a third wear test day, so here are just my thoughts. And a picture of me near Sagrada Familia. Barcelona is an incredible city and I highly recommend visiting it.


The foundation did in fact protect my face, a lot. My whole clevage was pretty much a disaster, I am still trying to recover from all that sunshine, but my face stayed pretty much as pale as it was. I believe in the 50 SPF for sure. The lasting ability, that wasn't the greatest. I know, it doesn't claim to be longlasting, but when you put such a strong SPF in a foundation, people will probably tend to wear it in more "extreme" conditions. For about 6 hours I wasn't looking disgusting. After that, all powder I put on that day was just dissolved into my skin and I had a sticky layer on my face. I didn't even try to touch up because it would become powdery mud, but I did touch my face a couple times and it just didn't look the greatest.


In my opinion, it's food in high temperatures and high humidity, if you have a very good powder and primer and also when you don't need it to perform too long, a whole day in heat is probably not a good idea. I wore it to a salsa disco the last night of the trip and it lasted perfectly. So I wouldn't rely on it to keep up in the heat like for example the Fenty Pro Filt'r Foundation. That's a whole different story. But it didn't dry out my skin, it didn't crease too bad and it feels very lightweight and doesn't break me out, even with the high SPF. Those are very well sounding advantages.

 

Day 3

I was in a big hurry this morning, so I didn't really do anything special. I did apply the foundation with a brush but I have such a bad eye when it comes to applying foundation dots on your face, that I always go waaay too overboard. I had to go over with a sponge to soak up some leftover product. Everything ended up looking pretty good. I went in with my Huda Beauty Tantour, as I am absolutelly in love with that product. It just makes you look so pretty and tan. Also it blends over anything and even on your bare skin.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • Revlon Photoready Prime + Antishine Balm

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Maybelline dream Urban Cover Foundation, shade 100 warm ivory

  • Tarte Shape Tape, shade 22N Light Neutral

  • H&M Powder Hi-Definition Setting Powder

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • NYX Build 'Em Up Powder Brow Filler, shade Taupe

  • 183days Brow Gel Filler Waterproof, shade 020

  • Sephora Universla Cooling Eye Primer

  • Revolution Newtrals 2 Pallete

  • Revolution Foil Frenzy Pallete, shade Creation

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner, shade 900 Deep Onyx

  • H&M Best Curlfriend Mascara, shade Deep Black

  • NYX Glitter Goals Liquid Eyeliner, shade Crystal Ball

  • NYX 3 Steps to Sculpt, shade Fair

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 medium cool

  • Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade Nude Silk

  • Revolution Skin Kiss, shade Champagne

  • NYX Lip Lingerie, shade Romance Me

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 15 hours

I didn't expect today to be this long. But you know, you meet up with your sister, you see a new Fast & Furious movie in and the party goes on. At the end of the day, I arrived home at midnight. To my makeup though. I looked a little messy, the base wasn't looking brand new, it was a little shiny, a little patchy as I touched my face all day. But considering the timestamp, it was still very presentable. If I went to party after the cinema, would I think it's acceptable makeup? Yes. That's the measure for me usually. It didn't feel or look heavy and also didn't feel gross at all. Sometimes, I really have a need to take off my makeup in the middle of the day because it feels off. This one is absolutelly fine, until I decide to take it off before I go to bed.

 

Final thoughts...

The era when all Maybelline foundations didn't work for me is probably long gone. This one has become one of my favorite everyday foundations for the summer, because it looks great, has amazing coverage, holds up pretty well (at least in Czech Republic) and protects your skin without irritating it. It's everything I ever wanted from a BB cream and never got. I am very happy I managed to buy this foundation, and if you see it anywhere or if it's finally being sold in Czech Republic (please Maybelline!), go and grab it and you won't regret it, it's totally my summer must-have this year.


Have you tried the foundation your self? Let me know how you liked it in the comments and thanks for reading!

779 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page