top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | COLOR STRIKE CREAM-TO-POWDER EYESHADOW PEN | REVIEW

When it comes to single eyeshadows or toppers there's always a new launch that gets me with their packaging, formula, shades or just the idea. Maybelline did it this time.


The Maybelline Color Strike Cream-to-powder Eyeshadow Pens are the newest addition to their eye makeup range. I haven't tried a lot of their eyeshadows but I love the Color Tattoo creams and these really caught my eye as well. They are a cream-to-powder formula, crease-proof, fallout-proof, with 12 hours of wear and they promise bold color impact. There are 6 matte shades and 4 metallic. I have two metallic, 30 Spark and 50 Hustle. Each one retails for around 220 Crowns and I got mine at Rossmann. You get 0.36ml of product in each.


The packaging is a simple tube in the color of the product inside. You twist-off half of the tube and reveal the round pointed sponge applicator. I am a little affraid that the product is going to get pushed lower and lower with the applicator and one day I won't be able to reach it...but now it's coming out just fine. I like that they are small and very travel friendly. You could just take an all-matte pallete and a couple of these and you're set for about any eye look.

The shades I have are both stunning and very metallic. The 30 Spark is a light rose-gold and 50 Hustle is a metallic khaki green with a gold reflect. I couldn't decide which one to pick up in the store, they all looked really nice and I was also curious about the matte ones. But well, the metallic kinda win in this setting because I love metallic toppers and mono eyeshadows.


They are very reflective and the formula doesn't seem to have any fallout. They don't seem to be a classical cream once you apply them but more like a gel-powder shadow. They do dry down though so you don't have to really worry about creasing that much. If they crease through the day that's a different problem. And we'll find that out in the wear test.



 

Demo

If you want to see these shadows in action I did feature them in my last drugstore haul video so feel free to check it out. I used the lighter shade as my lid shade and did a little cut-crease style look with it. The deeped shade was smudged on my lower lashline and I would say it looks awesome, I love that it has a deeper base.

Here are a couple screenshots from the finished look. The shadows applied really well and they didn't have any fallout at all. I was surprised about that especially on my lower lashline where I used the applicator to buff out the color. It worked perfectly fine.


The shade 30 Spark worked really well too, I just had to dip back into the product a couple times because I had a lot of space to cover with the applicator. I could use a little more sparkle in the formula but since it doesn't have any fallout I might as well just put some topped on it if I want it to be more glittery.

 

Final thoughts

I think that these shadows are a great alternative to the regular pot cream eyeshadows which often get messy and you need a special brush to apply them. These are quick and easy to use and the payoff is very good. They don't have any fallout and they come in beautiful colors. Overall I really like the Color Strike Shadow Stick a lot.


I would say that they are a little pricey but you can get them on sale for about 160 Crowns which is a bit more affordable and there are discounts on Maybelline quite frequently online or in stores. Also in this type of product you cannot get much lower with price, cream shadows that are good tend to be a little pricey.


I personally like a little more glitter in my cream shadows and I like to use them more as a topper but if you're not into glittery look but you want that something extra on the lid, this is perfect. These can be a one-and-done product as well because they are very easy to use and shape up a whole eye with. I think they are really practical and if you're missing a little something something in your collection, these might be it. Maybelline did something here with the formula and packaging.


Do you have any favorite cream shadows from the drugstore? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

131 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page