top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MAYBELLINE | CHEEK HEAT SHEER GEL-CREAM BLUSH | REVIEW

I think I just have to try every cream blush out there, I just have to. And my obsession with affordable cream products has led me to this one. I've been trying to get my hands on this blush for MONTHS. And finally Amazon helped me get it.


The Maybelline Cheek Heat Gel-Cream Blush is a water-based gel cream formulated blush with pigments that delivers a buildable pigmentation with a natural finish. It comes in 6 shades and retails for around $7.99. I bought it on Amazon so I had to pay a little extra but I'm glad I have it because it's impossible to purchase in Czechia.


I have the shade 30 Coral Ember. It comes in a little tube with a twist-off lid so you just open it up and squeeze out the product. There's 10ml of product in the tube. On the back of the packaging it's recommended that you apply 1-2 dots on the cheeks with your fingers. It's an oil-free formula with soft dewy finish and apparently a little goes a long way.

The blush has a very interesting texture. It comes out pretty thick and looks pigmented but once you start to blend it out it just sheers out so beautifully. It's truly a gel formula, it feels very lightweight. I am not about that finger application life so I will probably use my brushes instead. But I'll give the fingers a shot and let you know how that went.







 

Wear test

I applied the blush with my mini stippling brush from Zoeva. It applied very sheer but not invisible. But it's very hard to pick up on camera. It didn't disrupt the base as at and even after applying powder you could still see the pigment peeking through. It's not shimmery but it has a glow to it. It's cooling as well because it's the gel texture and it looks very natural. It's truly a sheer product.


You can see it in the photo a little bit. It does add a little flush of color to my cheeks but it's incredibly sheer and natural. It would probably look really good on its own too.


Wear time 9 hours

My whole base didn't end up very well because I went into a workout that was a little too intense. But the blush is still there and it holds. It didn't fade through the day and didn't start separating so I must say that I am a big fan of the formula. I didn't manage to sweat it of which is also great. You can tell that I look like crap, I was right before shower in this one but the blush is still there. It might be a little more visible then in the morning. But I am impressed by its staying power.





 

Final thoughts

If you're a great fan of liquid/cream/gel blushes like myself, you need this one. It's such a nice texture and nothing like the other ones I have. It's very sheer and blendable and looks great on top of foundation and on the bare skin as well. I like that it comes in a little tube, good for travelling, affordable...it just ticks all the marks.


If you're a little scared of cream/liquid/gel blushes I would probably recommend this one as one of my top picks with the Fenty cream blushes. But this one is a lot more affordable and you might be even able to get it in drugstore. The color selection isn't the greatest but at least there's a bit of variety. But this is really a fool-proof blush and it applies very well with both fingers and a brush. If you want to start adding liquid blushes to your routine, I would start with this one.


Have you tried any new liquid blushes lately? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

1,489 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page