top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MADE BY MITCHELL | HEAD IN THE CLOUDS PRESSED PIGMENT PALLETE | REVIEW | 5 LOOKS

When you cannot decide which pallete to grab...just grab all of them! I managed to get my hands on Made By Mitchell's first launch which included two stunning palletes. To be honest I didn't really want to buy both of them but well...here we are.


Made By Mitchell is Mitchell Halliday's brand which recently launched a bunch of products including storage, brushes, blushes and stunning palletes. Head in the Clouds is one of the two large launched palletes which retails for 40 Pounds. According to the website there are 25 shades in three finishes, 3 sheens, 3 metallics and 19 mattes.


Let me tell you, the packaging is stunning. It's very Mitchell, I like how bold and bright it is and the shades inside really speak to me. I love that it comes in a little neopren pouch. You can actually fit both palletes in one pouch so I would say it's very travel friendly. It has a large mirror which is very nice quality.


This is a pressed pigment pallete so you probably already know that pressed pigments work slightly different than normal eyeshadows. However the pallete is really stunning. I love the selection of colors you get. There are pastels, deep tones, brights colors, jewel shimmers...very versatile yet very fun and bright.


One thing about these is that they don't swatch well. It happens with a lot of pressed pigments to me and honestly I don't really care about the swatches, I just wanted to show you how some of these look on the skin. But beware that just because a shade swatches poorly doesn't mean it's going to perform badly. The technique, base, brush...everything influences how the shade actually performs on the eyes.

 

Look 1

So one of the first looks I did was a rainbow look I don't have any evidence of. But another look I did is this purple beauty that took me ages to decide on because there are so many choices in this pallete.


I started with packing Night Shift in my outer corner into a slightly winged out shape. And I blended it slightly into the crease. Then I took Lucid which is an absolutelly stunning shade and I used it to blend out the edges of the placed Night Shift. Then I took Lucid further through my crease and into the inner part of my crease blending it almost into my eyebrows. Then I felt like planing some shimmers onto my lid so I first took Soda Skies and placed in with a brush on the middle of my lid. Then I took Pink Eye which looks very pink but is actually more like a silver-pink and I put that on inner 1/3 of my lid. Then I blended the two shimmers together a little bit and placed them on the lid and slightly above the crease. I deepend the outer edge with a little bit more of Night Shift. I put lilac gel liner onto my waterline and buffed it with Night Shift on the outer corner. Then I took Lucid and blended it even further down. I added a black winged liner and that's the look. And I love the shimmers!


Look 2

This look just turned out to be when I wanted to go out, totally random color combo but something I go for quite often. I love me some burgundy and baby blue.


I started with Shepherd's Delight in my outer corners and blended it out and up into my crease. Then I wanted to make it little deeper so I layered Dusk and Night Shift into the outer corners as well. Then I cut the crease using my Fenty concealer and set it with Skywalker. I liner the edges with a glittery blue liner and continued to the bottom. I placed white gel liner into my waterline and then buffed it out with Shepherd's Delight on the outer half and Skywalker on the inner half. I didn't even bother with a liner because I loved that matte lid look.


Look 3

I really like how this look turned out, I wanted to go for an old-school cut-crease with the glitter liner and stuff and so I did.


I started with Hi Honey in my inner crease and then sunburn at the outer portion. I went for a more extended look and blended Sunburn out beyond my brows. To deepen the look I used Dusk in the very outer corner and blended it out with more Sunburn. Then I cut the crease using a very pale concealer and I set it with Banana Skies. I used Sunburn and Dusk to create the gradient on the lid. On the bottom I used a pastel yellow gel pencil and buffed it out with Dusk and Sunburn on the outer part and Banana Skies on the very inner part. Then I lined the cut-crease with a gold glitter eyeliner and added a black winged liner and mascara.


Look 4

The royal blue shimmer in this pallete is just phenomenal and I just had to make a blue smokey eye, I just had to.


I started out with Midnight in my crease, it took about 3-4 layers to build it up to where I wanted it but we got there. I blended out its edges with Skywalker and was very pleasantly surprised how well this shade worked for blending out. Then I placed Eclipse all over my lid, almost up to the crease, with a flat fluffy brush. On the bottom I wanted something a little different so I put down a dark blue pencil and buffed it out with Nyt Nympho. Then I blended the hot pink out with a little bit of Lucid. I added a black winged liner and some lashes to finish the look.


Look 5

I went over majority of the shades in these 5 looks but I don't I've used my absolute favorites yet. This look was super simple but I love how it packs the punch and how bright it is.


I started with Cockpit and I wanted a really winged out outer corner so I took my time. Then I blended out the edges with Bora Blue. What a beautiful combo! On the inner portion of the crease and the lid I took Mmmmarmelade which is just my favorite orange in the whole world and I buffed it everywhere. Between the two mattes I put down Golden Hour which is a lot more pink than it looks and I finished off with a little winged half-liner from Twikul.

 

Final thoughts

If I were to pick my favorite Made by Mitchell pallete I wouldn't know how but this pallete is something special. The tones are really unique and different and the whole pallete has to many well made and original combinations that I am just stoked to use it over and over.


It's not a cheap pallete, however in the spectrum of rainbow palletes that I own, this one has a special place as it's not really rainbow but it's just a burst of colors and creativity. And that is all I needed to get a little more inspired in these times.


The formula is great, once you use any eyeshadow primer it blends and performs really well and the colors blend together like a dream. Some of them swatch a little funny and some of the deeper blues and purples take a little building to get to your wanted opacity but it's nothing tragic and the pigments is there to stay once you build it up. The weartime of these eyeshadows is truly limitless.


Have you picked up anything from Made by Mitchell? Let me know and thanks for reading!

59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page