top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

MADE BY MITCHELL | FEET ON THE GROUND PRESSED PIGMENT PALLETE | REVIEW | 5 LOOKS

To be fully, fully honest...this was the pallete I wanted to grab from the Made By Mitchell launch the most. The GREEEEEENS!


The Feet On The Ground Pallete from Made By Mitchell is a more grounded sister to the Head In The Clouds pallete which was also launched at the same time. It's a 25 pan pallete with pressed pigments which retails for 40 Pounds.


The 25 shades consist of 3 sheens, 3 metallics and 19 mattes just like the other pallete. The colorstory is less bright and more grungy and earthy. It's really hard to come across a pallete with army greens and greys and that's why I was drawn to this pallete so much. The shades are very unique and hard to come across.


The packaging is very pretty, there are some military vibes going on. You get a pouch with the pallete which is great for travelling and it has a very decent sized mirror which I love. Even though these palletes are quite large, they feel like a good travel palletes because of the versatility.


These shadows are actually pressed pigments so I would recommend using them with an unset eyeshadow primer for the best payoff. They work a little different than eyeshadows but the quality of these is incredible. That being said, because they are pigments, they sometimes swatch like garbage. But at this point, we all know that swatches don't really mean anything, right?


The black and white are a little different than I expected, they are both more sheer than in my other palletes but it doesn't really mean that they're bad. The black is very easy to work with, there's just not the full on black opacity. For me it's almost better because I can use it to darken any look without worrying if it's going to ruin everything.


 

Look 1

For the first look I went for the mauves/greys/pinks in the pallete. I love a good cooltoned pink-ish look.


I started with Ground on my outer corner with packing motions and blended it out into a V-shape. Then I took a bunch of Breaking and used a tiny blending brush to sweep around the edges and improve the blend. I used a tiny bit of Ammmmo to deepen the outer corner. This black it very weird. It's not very pigmented so it almost goes on blended? Odd. Anyway, then I took Angelina on a flat brush and swiped it all over first 1/2 of my lid. This shade is stunning. I applied a mauve liner into my waterline and skoned it out with Ground and then Breaking on a slightly bigger detail brush. At the very end I added a black winged liner and a mascara and that's it.



Look 2

I felt like doing a more creative look today to show you that this pallete is way less neutral than it looks. It has some beautiful pops of color and also shade Tigerlily which I'm obsessed with.


I started with Tigerlily at the inner portion of my crease. I didn't take it more than halfway through. Then I took P.Louise base and kind of cut the inner crease and cut off the shade going upwards. Then I took Ain't on a small blending brush and blended it into the outer half of my crease creating a v-shape. Between these two shades I placed Chem Train on a small shading brush and took it all the way from my inner corner to the brow. On my lid I didn't want anything shimmery so I took Salt Bae and blended it over my lid. Then I created a winged liner with A mood and placed purple pencil liner in my waterline. I buffed my powder lashline with the same shades I used on the top in the same order. And on the inner corner I used Bless u as my highlight.


Look 3

This look is more basic and simple. I just love the cool-toned variety you get with this pallete to be honest and I want to show it as much as I can.


I started with Descent on my inner and outer corners to prepare for a halo eye. Further out from the placed grey I took ground on a small blending brush and blended out the edges. I went for a more rounded shape as I prefer it when I'm doing a halo eye look. In the center of my lid I put a rosy shimmer I found in my pigment drawer because I wanted something slightly warmer than the shimmers in the pallete. After I placed the shimmer I took Ammmmo on a small brush and blended out the edge of Descent and the shimmer to make it pop a little more. I also smoked out my upper lashline with Ammmo as well to add some definition. On the bottom I just took a grey pencil to my waterline and buffed it out with Descent and Ground.


Look 4

I just had to be out of the door quick and I felt like doing a nice quick simple shopping look. Once stores are open again I had to go and get myself some shoes for winter. So I thought it's a nice time to make a little sunset-ish look.


I started with Clay Baby in my crease in a more rounded shape than usual. It's such a pretty transition shade. Then I went a little deeper into my socket with Tigerlily and built both shades in my crease and above. Then I packed Off-roading on my lid and a little bit towards the crease and blended the two previous shades into it to make a nice smokey gradient. I added a brown pencil into my waterline and also did a brown winged liner and used brown mascara. I was feeling the brown look, really. On the bottom I just buffed out the lashline with Off-roading, Tigerlily and Clay Baby.

Look 5

Here it is, the green look. I just had to happen with this pallete. The greens are unreal and I am really glad I have this pallete in my collection of green shades because they are fire. Anyway, here's a fun graphic look.


I started with Greener in my inner crease blending it all the way in my inner corner and near my brows. I cut the crease with white eyeshadow base about halfway into the crease. Then I took Grass on a liner brush and created the lid shape. I wanted it to be pointy at the end and rounding up on the lid. The outer half of the shape got filled in with Grass and the inner part was filled in with Fool's Gold. I then took a tiny brush and filled the gap between the shimmers on the lid and the green crease with Bittersweet. I smudged my upper lashline with Ammmmo. On the bottom I took gold liner and emerald green liner and smoked it out with Greener. On the inner corners I put Bittersweet for that matte highlight.

 

Final thoughts

How do I feel about this pallete? I think Mitchell did a great job with his eyeshadow formula and it was a bold and probably rewarded move to go for this color scheme. Greens are a gap on the makeup market for sure and the quality of these eyeshadows it worth every penny.


They work well with any eyeshadow primer, they blend well, last well, almost no fallout, great pigmentation and the shimmers are amazing as well. I fell in love with the pallete mostly for the green and earthy mattes and I love the variety of the cool tones like the mauves and greys. I would absolutelly recommend it because it's a really a unique pallete with an interesting and inspiring color story. Chances are that you probably don't have a pallete like this in your collection. I would also recommend waiting for a sale as Mitchell does sales very often on the website.


Have you tried anything from Made by Mitchell? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page