top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

LANEIGE | WATER SLEEPING MASK - LIP SLEEPING MASK - CREAM SKIN GIFT SET | REVIEW

I love gift sets so much and tis' the season so there are beauty gift sets EVERYWHERE. I got some lovely Christmas bonus with my paycheck this year so I decided to invest a little in my skincare routine.


This gift set from Laneige is impossible to find online and not even Sephora has it listed...and I bought it there! The set costs 860 Crowns and you get 1 full size product and 2 minis. The full-size is the Water Sleeping Mask and the minis are the Vanilla Lip Sleeping Mask and the Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer. It comes in a really cute box which I cannot show you because I already threw it away but it's a really nice packaging and I think it would be an amazing gift for any skincare lover.


Laneige is a korean skincare brand so they have some really fun formulations and textures within their product range and I really wanted to try something from them for a while now. Their lip masks are very hyped up and I suffer from very dry lips so I feel like I just had to try one at some point. The Water Sleeping Mask is another quite well known product which will probably work nicely for me at the moment as my skin is really dry because of the weather. The Cream Skin is a very interesting product and it's not even sold at czech Sephora at all. So I'm very excited to try it as well. Let's look at them one by one.


Let's start off with the big boy. The Water Sleeping Mask is an overnight mask for all skin types and you get 70ml which is a full size. It comes in a nice blue pot and sadly no spatula. It should purify and moisturize your skin with hydro ionized mineral water and Sleep-tox which is their special formula that contains antioxidants and other clarifying ingredients. It also has a Sleepscent which should help you fall asleep better thanks to orange blossom, rose and santal wood scents. It doesn't really smell that much of anything but on the skin it feels like a water cream. It dissolves and absorbs quickly and feels nice and lightweight on the skin.


The Lip Sleeping Mask is such a staple from their product range. You get a mini which is 3ml in the Vanilla scent. It does look very tiny but it's very thick and you don't need that much so I am glad I got this so I can try it. It's an overnight lip mask that should help with dry lips as expected. It contains hyaluronic acid, antioxidants and vitamin C. It has a really funny texture, it's hard to describe but it's almost like a putty jelly. It's awesome to touch. It feels very thick on the lips in the best way possible and it's not sticky. It smells a lot like vanilla but it's not that annoying artificial vanilla scent.


The Cream Skin Toner & Moisturizer is a hybrid product that is suppose to include both toning and moisturizing and speed up your routine. You get 50ml and it's for normal to dry skin. It looks like a milky toner type of product but once it touches your skin it almost thickens. It's, again, hard to describe but it does make you feel like you've applied moisturizer for sure. I'm a little confused at when do I use it in my skincare routine because I usually apply my serums between toner and moisturizer.

 

After 2 weeks of testing

I tried these products in the last two weeks multiple times because I still wanted to give you this review quite soon so you can get your hands on this set if you like it.


Let's start with the Water Sleeping Mask. Some masks break me out, some don't feel like anything and some are just not for my skin. This one is very lightweight so you don't wake up with gunky skin or with breakouts which sometimes happens to me. I really like the texture of it and even though my skin is very dry this winter, I wake up in the morning with nice and hydrated skin. It's not a neccessary product for everyone to have but a good dose of hydration is a nice gift for everyone. It's also a good product to use if you want to step up your skincare routine a little bit.


The Lip Sleeping Mask is amazing. I really thought that the hype around it is too high and I wasn't going to like it but I like it a lot. It's so much different to any of my lip balms. When I get very dry lips it's hard to me to get anything to hydrate them but this mask just does it right. It feels awesome on the lips and in the morning you can feel that you had it on, it does soak in but it leaves that nice plumped and hydrated feeling on the lips. And I love the thick jelly putty texture that's not sticky at all.


The Cream Skin is a little so-so for me. I am still a little confused about usage of this product. It's very hydrating so when I use it as a toner I feel like it's a bit too much. It does feel nice as a moisturizer but there's something odd about using a liquid as your moisturizer. I do like what it does to my skin though, it has that glass skin effect and your skin really feels hydrated more than you would expect from such a liquidy product. That being said I think I like it but I need to explore it a little bit more to see where it fits in my routine. I can imagine using just this and my SPF in case I was really running late so maybe that's going to be the best usecase.

 

Final thoughts

Do I think this set is worth it? Absolutelly! If you're looking for something nice for yourself or someone you know that likes skincare and new fun korean skincare formulas I would give this set a shot.


I got it on sale with 20% off and there are many discount codes on the Sephora website right now so check it out if you can get some money off. I would say that this set is worth its original price as well. I love that you get a full-size product and a product that isn't that well known in a decent size. I think 50ml tones is a very nice amount to try and travel with as well. The lip mask is very tiny at the first sight but I think it's just enough to give it a shot and I really enjoy it a lot.


Overall, I enjoy all three of these products and I think that a good overnight hydrating mask and the lip mask are a good present for anyone really. The toner is just a nice bonus if you want a one and done product or if you want to start with toners and spice up that skincare routine a little bit.


Have you tried any Laneige products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page