top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

L'OREAL | ULTRA MATTE LIQUID LIPSTICK LES MACARONS | WEAR TEST

Who wouldn't want a lipstick that lasts all day long with all the drinks and food you have? I know I would and I happen to have a couple of those in my collection.


You all probably remember or still see or own the Les Chocolates lipsticks from L'Oreal which smelled overwhelmingly like chocolate and were very matte and thick and very similar to the Maybelline SuperStay Lip Inks. I personally don't mind that formula, because it lasts really all day long. I wasn't really a fan of the chocolate scent, because I'm quite sensitive to strong scents and they can make me sick very fast. But I had hope again once I saw that new Les Macarones lipstick range.


They have the same packaging as the chocolate ones, the same doefoot, but they smell so much better and so much more pleasant! They are supposed to smell like macarons, which I don't think smell that much in a specific way, but I love the smell!


According to websites I could find, they are supposed to be very longlasting lipsticks with macaron smell that are highly pigmented. There are 8 very summer-like and vibrant colors, I loved them all but I decided to pick up 824 Guava Gush, because I'm a sucker for a good neon-orange lipcolor. Looking online, there are actually 12 colors in different countries...are we doing that again, L'Oreal? Just give us all the colors!


They are indeed very pigmented and the formula feels a little lighter and less sticky than the chocolate ones and the Maybelline Superstay ones. If you ever had any of those lipsticks, you know that they are super sticky and when you have your lips pressed together for too long it's not too pleasant to get them separated. It's a process. But they last so well, that I don't mind it and also there's a trick how to make that kinda go away. Just lick your lips a bit or go eat something and that stickiness will get down a little.


They retail for 219 Crowns, at least at a drugstore I went into, and you get 31g of product, which I have no idea how good that is. But hey, how many times did you actually use up a liquid lipstick? Right, probably like once, maybe even never. So I think is looks like a good amount.

 

Wear test


Start of the day

I put on this lipstick when I did one of my foundation wear tests and I didn't reapply or touch up the WHOLE DAY. So I thought I might as well document it and see how it looks at the end of a whole day of wearing. I did eat and drink all day like a normal person and I wasn't holding back because of it at all.


The application is quite easy because the doefoot is nice and flexible, but it's quite a thick formula, so you gotta be careful because it dries fast and any mistakes might as well ruin your makeup for the day. You can use a lip liner, but I don't really live that kind of life.


It went on smooth, feels a lot lighter and less sticky than the other two lipsticks I keep mentioning here and I really loooooove the colour. It's really hard to get colours like that because not too many brands are coming out with new lip colors. Not at all in a formula that would last anything.


5 hours in

Throughout the day, I noticed that my lips feel a little dry, but nothing too drastic. Matte lipsticks usually make your lips dry but I was impressed that the color was still very vibrant and smooth looking.


At the end of the day, you can tell that there's a little color worn off at the inside portion of my lips, but overall it still looks very presentable and I doesn't even really need another coat or a touch up, in my opinion. The color may be faded a tiny bit, but it's still uniform and vibrant orange-ish lip and I like how it looks. My lips are dry, but not as dry as with the original Les Chocolates lipstick, that one dries me out a lot more.


End of the day

Final thoughts

If you're looking for something that will really last all day, all night and the next morning, this is your lipstick. It smells great, not too much, it applies quite easily, just be careful and it lasts and looks beautiful. I really like the color selection in this range, so if any of these really spoke to you and you're like "I love that colour", really just go for it. They are not too expensive and they are indeed, incredible lipsticks.


Have you tried these and liked them? Or is the sticky feeling just too much? Let me know in the comments bellow and thanks for reading!

223 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page