top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

L'OREAL | TRUE MATCH NUDE PLUMPING TINTED SERUM | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Here we go again, tinted serums and moisturizers are taking the drugstore by storm because some people are just not ready to go back to matte...me included.


The L'Oreal True Match Nude Plumping Tinted Serum is the newest complexion product in the drugstore and people rave about it like crazy. It's a tinted serum with 1% of pure hyaluronic acid which is supposed to unify and brighten the complextion. The hyaluronic acid should plump the skin with moisture and smooth it out while reducing marks of dehydration. It came out in 9 shades, I have the shade 0.5-2 Very Light which is the lightest. It retails for around $20 (440 Crowns).


The shade range is quite decent and because it's not a full coverage product it will cover a wide variety of skintones. The undertone of the lightest shade is quite neutral so it is perfect for me. It promises radiant finish as it contains luminous mineral pigments to create it. It is suitable for sensitive skin, dermatologically tested and non-comedogenic.


It comes in a serum-like bottle which is glass and has a pipette. There's 30ml of product in the bottle and you are supposed to shake it well before using. The product is quite runny but it feels quite lightweight and certainly has that hydrating feeling to it.


Once you apply it you can absolutelly see the luminosity they describe on their website. It is very radiant, almost reflective once you apply it. It looks very dewy/radiant but it doesn't feel oily which is a big plus.




 

Wear test

I used my trusty primers that are mostly on the hydrating side because the weather has been rather crazy and dry. I applied it with my foundation brush from IT Cosmetics as it never disappoints me. I also decided to go in with a cream bronzer.


The foundation applied pretty much by itself, it blends really easily and the colormatch is great. The finish is beautiful and very luminous but it does not feel oily. It creates a nice even layer of luminous light coverage which is my absolute ideal finish.


List of used products

  • Bell Cosmetics Pore Correcting Primer

  • Trend It Up Hydro Vitamin Primer

  • L'Oreal True Match Nude Plumping Tinted Serum, shade 0.5-2 Very Light

  • Rival Loves Me Skin Optimizer Under Eye Concealer, shade 01 Light Natural

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Luminous Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiatto

  • H&M Pure Radiance Powder Blusher, shade Brown Sugar

  • Steph Toms x Ofra Highlighter, shade Milk & Cookies

  • Lime Crime Bushy Brow Precision Pen, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Nudestix Brow Boost & Set Gel XL

  • Catrice Waterproof Eyeshadow Primer Mattifying

  • Kathleen Lights x Colourpop So Jaded Palette

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Eyeliner

  • Essence Double Trouble Mascara Ultra Black

  • e.l.f. No Budge Eyeshadow, shade Ice Cream

  • Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

  • Wonder Woman x Kiko Milano Flash of Light Lip Gloss, shade 03 Epic Peach

Wear time 11 hours

I've been going full in today so I did the makeup in the morning, went to the office for an hour with my mask on sweating on the bus. Then I had to take a PCR test and had a couple very long meetings followed by another sweaty way home. It was something. The foundation is looking surprisingly good. There is a patch missing on my chin which is caused solely by the mask and there's nothing I can do to prevent that happening. There's also a scratch on my cheek and my foundation and bronzer are missing there but that is my own fault and really not the foundation's fault. I should stop touching my face when I talk.


Anyway, the lasting power of this tinted serum is pretty impressive. It is not separating or budging anywhere which is a great plus and I honestly did not expect that. Luminous and dewy foundations tend to last less than more semi-matte ones but this one seems to be an exception. It kept my face very nicely hydrated through the day which I appreciate. The winters here are quite dry so that is a big plus. I don't look super smooth and flawless but the glow I had in the morning is still there and it gives me a very nice natural feel. The coverage did not fade and everything looks pretty intact. Even between my eyebrows we're looking at the quite a decent performance as there's just a very little product budging near my frown wrinkles.


Honestly, my expectations weren't high when I saw the amount of glow this product gave me. But longlasting glow? That is a dream.

 

Final thoughts

I've been wearing this product for a while and it just fills on all the checkmarks on my everyday complexion product. It is hydrating, lightweight, it has light coverage and it's luminous. It lasts well and doesn't apply streaky. It also works well with creams and powders and there's no problem with me powdering down my whole face. It also wear well even with a mask and my face doesn't dry out through the day.


One downside is that maybe it's a little tricky to get the right shade because online it seems a little confusing to me as of which shade to get. In the store it was much more clear. But then again, I have the lightest shade but I am certainly not the lightest skintone there should be.


Another downside is the price because it is quite a high price for a drugstore foundation in my opinion. But maybe that's just me. It is a nice skincare-makeup hybrid product and I am very happy with it so its uniqueness maybe balances out the price a little bit. It's also pretty much an exact dupe of the Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk Foundation (shade 3). It has the same beautiful radiant finish and natural lightweight feel to it. Maybe this one is more hydrating.


Overall though, I would absolutelly recommend it if your skin needs that extra moisture, if you like lighter coverage and if you just love that radiant natural look to your complexion. I know I love it. It's very easy to work with and I find it very pretty on the skin and it also wear really well.


Have you tried any cool tinted serums lately? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

4,429 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page