top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

L'OREAL | SKIN PARADISE TINTED WATER CREAM | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

It's summer, the full coverage foundations leave the scene for a while and it's time to pack on that SPF and light coverage while we quarantine at our own backyards and balconies. I love me a good light coverage, SPF including, lightweight and glowy foundation and this one is just the candidate for that.


The L'Oreal Skin Paradise Tinted Water Cream took the drugstores by storm and I was drawn to it from the minute I saw it. It looked like a tinted moisturizer which I rarely see in a drugstore here and when I do it's usually a disaster. This bad boy is a water-based tinted face cream which leaves a dewy healthy looking finish. It's infused with aloe and caring waters (whatever that means) and also witch hazel and ginger to brighten up the skin. It's supposed to be a lightweight formula that combines pigments with water to even out the skintone and illuminate the face. It promises radiant, shine-free finish. It also comes with SPF 20 and antixoidants mixed into the formula to provide protection against pollution and UV rays.


It comes in 9 shades and I have the palest shade they make which is Fair 02. The shade range might need a little expansion however with products with very low coverage it's hard to tell how many shades you really need to cover the whole spectrum. There are deep shades on L'Oreal website, however those are not available in Czechia at all which is a little frustrating to be honest. They do this with both pale and deep shades all the time.


The product itself is 349 Crowns at DM but I can see that you can get it cheaper online. You get 30ml of product and it comes in a plastic squeezy tube. It's not transparent so check out testers if you want to see the shades. I was a little hesitant but now I'm glad I went for the palest shade because for once it doesn't have a pink undertone. It's more of a neutral-warm, which is perfect for me.


Even when you swatch it, it comes out very sheer and blends really nicely. The issue with products like this one is usually the formula. They tend to go patchy, uneven, separate way too fast or have odd texture that just doesn't last at all or doesn't really play well with powders. Those are usually my issues with "tinted moisturizer-ish" products from the drugstore.


However, this one feels really nice on the skin. It actually feels like putting a light, almost gel, moisturizer on your face. It feels so good. I wouldn't really agree with the shine-free finish claim, it looks really dewy and glowy and healthy and absolutelly not shine free. But you can tone that down with powder and it looks really good. It really feels like nothing on the skin. The coverage is very sheer but it's just the right amount for me personally. I don't need a lot of coverage and you can still make up for it with concealer placement or more pigmented powders. This is just the amount I need for my everyday makeup and it's perfect for summer with the SPF in it. I think this will be my holiday foundation.

 

Wear test

I wore this tinted moisturizer a couple times now but never for a whole day so here we go. I used my trusty primer combo to see how everything acts. I applied it with the Juno & co fuzzy sponge, which I use all the time. It applied really well and evenly. The coverage was way better with this fuzzy sponge than with a brush for sure. I used my giant flat foundation brush from Revolution every time I wore it before and it applied well but way more sheer. I used cream contour and cream blush, both applied nicely and blended really well without moving the base. The powders went on fine as well and overall I like this look a lot. The base looks really flawless and fresh but feels literally like nothing.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • L'Oreal Skin Paradise Tinted Water Cream, shade Fair 02

  • Maybelline Fit Me! Concealer, shade 05

  • e.l.f. Under-eye Powder, shade Sheer

  • Essence My Skin Perfector Loose Fixing Powder, shade 10 Light

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sculpting Contour Wand, shade Light Medium

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Cream Blush, shade Rose Latte

  • Fenty Beauty Matchstix Shimmer Skinstick, shade Confetti

  • XX Revolution Brow FiXX, shade Clear

  • Essence I Love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Kathleen Lights x Colourpop So Jaded Pallete

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Amethyst Hour

  • Colourpop Super Shock Shadow, shade Daytrippin'

  • Revolution Mascara Revolution, shade Black

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 medium cool

  • I Heart Revolution Fixing Spray Green Tea

  • Dermacol Eat Me Lip Shake Gloss, shade Coconut


Wear time 12 hours

I did a litte shopping spree and it's been so hot today that I was actually impressed that there was any makeup on my face left after such a sweating marathon. It wa really hot and sunny and my face started feeling a little sticky after about 6-7 hours, which is quite fine. I didn't powder it or touched it up just because I didn't really want to mess with it and I don't usually do it that often anyway. I had to wear a mask on my way home because I took the subway, so that was a little complication as well. However, the base lasted so well. There were a couple bit missing around my nose (as always) because of all the AC turned on in every store and the temperature differences I went through. It always gives me a stuffy nose. But other than that it really looked fine and I was really impressed. There wasn't even any separation happening around my forehead, which usually breaks appart pretty easily. Overall, I looked a little more dewy at the end of the day but the layer of coverage was still very even.

 

Final thoughts

Overall, I'm very impressed with this product. I finally found something that works for me from the drugstore and it's a tinted-cream type of a product. I fully recommend it if you're after a product like this. It's honestly a little pricey in my opinion, but I feel like the price might go down since they only started selling it recenty and also it's worth it anyway in my opinion. I will get a ton of usage out of this product and I really, really enjoy it so far.


The coverage is light, which is no surprise. It feels great on the skin, very lightweight and hydrating. It really feels like water when you put it on. You blend it out with almost anything and it will look nice and smooth. It plays well with powders and creams on top of it and it has SPF 20. SPF might irritate someone's skin but this product doesn't even smell like SPF at all so I couldn't really feel it in the formula at all. So if you're usually irritated by SPFs I would recommend trying this one because it's probably the lightest form of SPF I've ever tried.


Have you tried this product? If you enjoyed this tinted water cream as much as I did, let me know in the comments and we can fangirl together. Thanks for reading!

403 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page