top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

KATHLEEN LIGHTS x COLOURPOP | SO JADED PALLETE | REVIEW | 5 LOOKS

If you know who Kathleen Lights is then you probably know about this pallete. And if you're a fan of hers just like me, you probably own this pallete or really heavily consider getting it. After months and months of waiting I finally gave in and here's my review.


The Kathleen Lights x Colourpop So Jaded Pallete is another colab Kathleen Lights has with Colourpop and honestly this one feels like the best one so far. It's a pressed powder pallete with 30 shades which is a change for Colourpop since they usually make way smaller palletes. The pallete contains multiple different eyeshadow formulas and it retails for $39 which is a good price by my standards. It's sold out very frequently and I'm not surprised because it's truly a unique pallete. It has a very jewel-toned colour scheme and the different shadow finishes make it look pretty cool. Overall it really speaks to me on a creative level because there are so many combinations you can make with this pallete.


The formulas are mattes, shimmers, super shock shadow and pressed glitters. Some of the shadows are pressed eyeshadows and some of them are pressed pigments. On the Colourpop website you can find great tips and tricks on how to apply the individual shadow formulas so I won't repeat those here but I will make swatches to show you how the pallete looks on my skin. The swatches were what made me fall in love with the pallete because on Colourpop's website the swatches look very cohesive so it feels like you're getting five palletes in one. I really like their whole esthetic around this campaign.


As always I decided to create 5 looks to try as many shadows as I can and to play around with the pallete to really see the quality. Overall, I love the shade Diamond which is a super shock formula. It's just to sparkly and reminds me a lot of the iconic Fenty diamond highlighter. The shimmers are great, they apply really well just like all other Colourpop shimmers I've tried in the past. Some of the mattes have a little kickup in the pan which is fine by me but it's mostly just Jasper, which really flyes up from the pan when you dip your brush into it. I was also really surprised with the glitters because these tend to be very messy. The formula of these is not really like the Tati Beauty ones where they just stay on but they also don't really fall down from my face during the day which I appreciate.


I really love the colourstory as well. There are many shades which I don't have in any other pallete and I use them a ton. Like Geo Dude and Jaded which are incredible together to make that khaki green smokey eye. Or stoned, it's the perfect deepening shade when you don't want to use black. Even Citrine which is a very unique neutral muted yellow. The shimmers are really cute too, many of them have multicoloured particles in them so they looks really magical, just like Fluorite for example. There's something to every shade that makes you want to create a look around it. I love that there are both warm and cool toned colors so you can really go in a create whatever you want. It's a very versatile pallete.


 

Look 1

Today I wanted to try something warm-toned and I haven't done a halo eye in a while. I started with You're a Gem in my crease to create a base for the gradient. Then continued with Carnelian right into the crease, below the first shade. I used Garnet and Stoned to create the edges of the halo in the inner and outer corner and didn't blend these too much to the center. Into the very center of the lid I added Tiger Eye and topped that off with a little bit of Topaz glitter on my finger. I patted that from above my crease all the way to my lashine. I then added a shimmery khaki green liner to my waterline and mirrored the matte shades and Tiger Eye on my lower lashline, I skipped the glitter there.


Look 2

So...here's another halo eye for ya. It feels a little like autumn already so I got fully into a burgundy look with a deep brown lip. And I love it with every bit of myself. I started with Garnet in the crease and above into a round shape. It takes a bit to blend onto a wet base without any transition shade, but it works fine. I deepend the inner and outer portion with Stoned. Into the middle portion I placed Smoky Quartz and blended its edges with Stoned on a very small shading brush. Then I placed a burgundy liner into my waterline, smoked it out with Stoned and Garnet and that's it from the eyeshadow perspective. After the eyeshadow was placed I added a little bit of smokey black powder liner without a wing just to add more smoke and framing into the look. I am obsessed.


Look 3

So today I didn't do a halo eye...I know, what a shocker. And I wanted to play with the blue shades a little bit. I started with Turquoise in the crease with a big fluffy blending brush to set the tone and continued with Sapphire. I took Sapphire on a smaller blending brush and winged it out covering outer 1/3 of the lid. Then I took Rose Quartz and blended it into the inner crease. Then I placed Alexandrite with a flat brush on the outer 1/3 of the lid and connected it with the crease. On the rest of the lid I placed Aquamarine and slightly went over the edges with a blending brush because I wasn't going for the cut crease look at all. At the end I took Diamond on my finger and lightly tapped it all over the lid.


On the bottom I took a deep indigo liner onto the outer 1/3 of my lower lashline and smoked it out with Sapphire and Turquoise. I added a black winged liner and a irredescent green glitter liner into the tearduct and voila, that's the look.


Look 4

I would be able to make this post without a khaki green look. I wore so many variations of this look since I got this pallete and those shades are probably my favorites in the pallete as well. I just love the green tones and the diamond sparkle so much.


I started with packing and blending Jade into my crease and then blended the top edge out with Geo Dude. Then I took a small packing brush and placed Stoned on the outer corner and blended it into the Jade shade. I kept packing and blending the two until I was happy with it. Then I took Tiger Eye on a flat brush and placed it on the middle of my lid. I continued with Smoky Quartz onto the inner 1/3 of my lid. I then pat the two shimmers back and forth to blend them in. I then took a little bit of Diamond on my finger and lightly pressed it on top of the lid. Then I added a black matte winged liner.


On the bottom I took black pencil and went about halfway in. I smoked it out with Stoned, then Jade and then Geo Dude using bigger brushes as I went. I tried connecting the shades with the top blend.


Look 5

There's always a place and a time for a food black smokey eye. There are also many cool tones in this pallete and besides the khaki greens/greys I also love a good mauve moment.


I started with Ametrine in my crease which sounds a little scary because it has glitters in it. However, once you tap off the brush it goes flying and you can use it as a matte. I blended that as well as I could into my crease and this time I went for a more rounded shape. Then I took Onyx on a flat dense brush and packed it on my whole lid up to the crease. To neaten it up I took Stoned on a small blending brush and blended the edges of Onyx with Ametrine. I went over Onyx a little bit where I blended out the pigment and I went over Ametrine in the crease once more to make the blend better and to make that mauve/pink shade stand out more. Then I took mauve matte eye pencil and put it into my waterline and I smoked out my lower lashline with Stoned and Ametrine. The round blend is a little tricky but I think I did quite a good job. Last, I took Flourite and put it in my inner corners. I added black mascara and a pair of lashes to finish the look.

 

Final thoughts

I've been using this pallete for a couple months now and I cannot get enough of it. There are so many combinations you can do and even Kathleen did many looks on her channel if you need more inspiration. It's truly a great and very versatile pallete.


I would say that the price is alright for what you get. One downside is that you have to pay customs (and possibly shipping) so it costs a little extra at the end of the day but I would still say it's worth it and I cannot recommend this pallete enough. It has almost everything you could want from a pallete and it feels nice and refreshing after months and months of rainbow pallete launches. It's still very colorful but in it's own unique way and even though it has many colors in it you wouldn't ever reach for, they all can be made wearable.


The quality of the shadows really stands out to me and I own a lot of eyeshadow. Colourpop had amazing formula and I think I've used every shade in the pallete by now and I wasn't disappointed by any of them. Colourpop just knows what they're doing and the fact that it's Kathleen's colab is also a big plus for me but I would like the pallete anyway if they just released it as is.


Have you tried this pallete? Let me know in the comments what are your thoughts on it and if you managed to snag it and thanks for reading!

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page