top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

JOUER | ESSENTIAL HIGH COVERAGE LIQUID CONCEALER | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

I've been hearing so much good about this concealer that a point in time came where I just had to get it. I had some spare money, ordered a huge haul from Beauty Bay and included the most beloved concealer I've ever heard about.


The Jouer Essential High Coverage Liquid Concealer is one of those products that just don't really have haters. I've been looking for a new concealer to try and this one really just hit me right in the face when I was browsing Beauty Bay collecting products for my next haul. This legend it supposed to be a crease-less, soft matte concealer with hyaluronic acid and, of course, full coverage. It's vegan, gluten-free and paraben-free.


It comes in 25 shades, which are well distributed across the skin tone spectrum. I got the shade Creme Cafe and it was a journey trying to shade match my face. I didn't want to go too light but I didn't want to go too dark either, so I just had to kind of wing it and hope for the best. This shade is for light skin with yellow neutral undertone. I expected it to be a little lighter than this. It's fine by itself on my skin and compared to some of my other concealers it looks very similar. However, when I wear a really pale foundation, it looks a little too yellow and dark for it. I'll have to work around that and maybe use a different concealer with it to mix it up.


It retails for 20.50 Euros and you get 4.14ml of product. The packaging feels very nice and lux and that's to be expected because Jouer is more high-end brand. It comes in a nice frosted bottle and it has a large doefoot. It's not as weirdly large as Shape Tape has, but it's more narrow so I think it'll be better for the application.


Compared to the other concealers in the swatch photo, you can clearly see the yellow undertone. It's funny how deceiving can photos be, because the elf Camo concealer it waaaaay lighter than this one and you cannot even really tell.


The coverage on this concealer is full for sure, I wouldn't doubt that. The finish seems a little more matte to me than expected. I assumed that because of the hyaluronic acid the finish is going to be more natural or hydrating, but it's very matte. At least in my opinion it is.


I like that a little goes a very long way and the concealer formula blends really well into the skin. If I had a better match than this shade, it would really look seamless.

 

Wear test

I decided to wear this concealer with the rest of my makeup to really test it out. I workout every day and I usually am quite active even though I'm still working from home. I applied the concealer with a sponge and it blended very well. It's not highlighting much, becasue of its depth, but it covers really well. Especially in the undereye area it looks very smooth and it covered all the blue hue. For more highlighted look I would need a lighter shade but this one works just fine if I use foundation that I can barely get away with. It doesn't look too dry, even though I set it with a quite matte powder. Overall, it looks very flawless.



List of used products

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • Physician's Formula Healthy Foundation, shade LN3

  • Jouer Essential High Coverage Concealer, shade Creme Cafe

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • NYX Build 'em Up Brow Powder, shade Taupe

  • Rival Loves Me Brow Mascara, shade 01 ash blond

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Nabla Soul Blooming Pallete

  • Revolution Mascara Revolution

  • Fenty Beauty Flypencil, shade Spaghetti Straps

  • Hourglass Luminous Bronze Light

  • Hourglass Euphoric Fusion

  • Hourglass Diffused Light

  • Maybelline Lasting Fix Makeup Setting Spray

  • NYX Suede Matte Lip Liner, shade Hooked On Love

  • Flormar Kiss Me More Lip Tattoo, shade 02 Cream

Wear time 11 hours

The concealer looks a little more dry that I expected and even though it's a hyaluronic acid infused formula it's not slippery and doesn't move at all. I would go in with a more hydrating lightweight powder next time. It didn't crease, it doesn't emphasise my texture too much and it's still covering my undereyes very well. They are very dark these days and the coverage wears down on any concealer, but it looks pretty good still.


Where I applied it on my face, you can still see it and I don't think it's too disrupted. There are places which are a little rubbed off but that's mostly because of me and my constant face-touching. I would say that this concealer might even work well by itself because it doesn't look cakey and it really covers everything well. Even the disrupted places aren't as visible because it's not too thick and cakey.

 

Final thoughts

I'm not gonna lie, this concealer is not really what I expected. I've been using it for quite a while now and I cannot really figure out if I love it or not.


The price is quite high, but it's Jouer and it's in a similar price range to Tarte Shape Tape and other more expensive concealers. So that doesn't really bother me. I am a little bummed about the shades, I didn't expect mine to be this dark, however, it's workable. I just cannot use it with my palest foundations. It's pretty thick but not cakey. It's way more matte than I expected even though it contains hyaluronic acid. But it is very full coverage and it lasts very long on my skin. You can see the wear test yourself, it's still covering my undereyes very well even after 11 hours, which is very impressive.


All that sounds like a very nice couple points why to love it, but if you have dry undereyes (like often me) it's going to feel a little too heavy and it's tricky to find a good powder to set it. I wouldn't recommend going in with a super matte powder, because it's just going to make your undereyes very dry at the end of the day. So it comes with a little 'but' because I don't like scavenging all my powders for a more hydrating one everyday...but it works well.


Overall, I think I would recommend but because it's such a heavy glam concealer for me, I probably won't use it every single day. But if you like a heavy duty concealer and you don't mind a more matte finish, it's going to be great for you.


Have you tried this concealer? Let me know your thoughts in the comments and thanks for reading!


91 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page