top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

JEFFREE STAR COSMETICS | MAGIC STAR CONCEALER AND SETTING POWDER

I never thought that I will be the person, who buys new launches online. I hate online shopping. Or at least I just to hate it because I really enjoy shopping as is in its pure walking and hunting form.

Anyway, I've been really enjoying everything that I own from Jeffree Star Cosmetics (JSC), I saw the announcement video and I thought that I may as well try it, because I've enjoyed everything from JSC so far.

I took my hard earned money, went on Beauty Bay website, and found out, that the price of the powder is different from the concealer price. I mean...that's not nice at all. I reached out to them, because the price HAS BEEN CHANGED a few weeks back but it looks like they just don't really care so I am pretty upset about it.

Anyway, the price I ordered for was 24 Euro for the concealer and 29 Euro for the powder. The powder costs 24 Euro now as well, but what can you do.


JSC Magic Star Concealer and Powder
JSC Magic Star Concealer and Powder

I went for the shade C3 in the concealer and shade Fair in the powder. Matching the concealer was really hard. I wanted to go for C5 but Beauty Bay didn't sell it (obviously...) and according to swatches and videos that were online at the time, I had literally no clue which shade to pick. At the last minute I just picked C3 because the beige/vanilla undertone seemed fitting for my neutral skin undertone and I just went with it.

I picked up the powder in Fair because I just wanted to try something else. I have translucent setting powder stacked up because my favourite one was on sale, so I thought that I could go for something different.

Two weeks later...I finally received my package!

 

Magic Star Concealer
Magic Star Concealer

Magic Star Concealer

The carton box for the concealer is HUGE. As expected, because we all know, how does the packaging look. The packaging is beautiful, sturdy, very well-made and just looks very Jeffree. I really like it so far, it looks nice in my concealer collection.

The amount of product you get is 3.4ml, which to be honest, is not a lot. I suppose that the "special doefoot" is going to be the hero of the day to make the product worth the money. It is the same type of doefoot which can be found at Maybelline's Superstay Matte Lip Inks. It deposits the product in the middle, so you can pretty much go for ages with one dip. I saw it in a few videos and the number of swipes is indeed impressive.

The color is very much as described, here are some swatches of the Magic Star Concealer with some other concealers that I use, so you can get a little more context.


Concealer swatches for comparison
Concealer swatches for comparison

More about how it wears will be in my wear test post, but the consistency as is between my fingers seems very unique. It feels a little powdery but not dry, a little sticky and a little less creamy but also looks very full coverage. It's hard to describe the texture of a concealer.















 

Magic Star Setting Powder
Magic Star Setting Powder

Magic Star Setting Powder

Of course, I bought the setting powder as well, because I really wanted to see if there's anything special about it and also how it works with the concealer.

The shade fair looks like a good match to my skin, it is very finely mild and the smell is great. It's way stronger than I thought it was gonna be, but the burnt cotton candy scent is something I very much enjoy. I heard that the smell doesn't stay and fades quite quickly, so if you're not into that, I suppose it shouldn't be much of a problem.

I really like the pink chrome component and I appreciate the twisting inside which prevents the powder from going everywhere. I don't know if it works yet, but I'll let you know for sure.

I don't feel like swatching it would be very helpful, but at the first sight it seems similar in color to the NYX Can't Stop Won't Stop Setting Powder in 01-Light.


I've been doing a wear test of both of these the whole week and further thoughts on how they apply and wear are in my wear test post, so go check that out if you're interested!

Thanks for reading!


346 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

ESSENCE | MULTI-TASKER CONCEALER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

I love a good affordable concealer and Essence usually delivers when it comes to new concealers. Is their newest one a hit? We will see. The Essence Multi-tasker Concealer is newest concealer from Ess

bottom of page