top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

ISANA | HYDRO CUSHION | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Sometimes there are hidden gems in the drugstores we just walk past and never pay attention to...so I paid attention last time I was at Rossmann and here's what I found. AMAZING cushion foundation.


The Isana Hyaluron Compact-Pflege is a cushion foundation with SPF 15. It's a skincare makeup hybrid which contains hyaluronic acid and promises natural glowy coverage. It should hydrate the skin and help it retain moisture. It retails for 6 Euros and it's from Rossmann's (drugstore) own brand Isana. It comes in 3 shades, I have the shade 01 Hell (light) which is the lightest. The shade range is pretty garbage but this really isn't a brand that would be coming out with large makeup ranges.


It comes in a cushion compact just as you would expect. There is a sponge applicator you can use with it and it works perfectly fine. The packaging is a little chunky and also fully plastic. You get 15 grams of product which is fair for such low price.


The coverage is light and it is very glowy and healthy looking. The website mentiones light-reflecting pigments in the formula but it doesn't seem to be glittery on the skin at all which I really like. It also feels incredibly lightweight and hydrating on the first touch. It looks like they were trying to make more of a skincare item than a makeup item and ended up with this compact version of a tinted moisturizer.


Shade matching was pretty easy because the shades 02 and 03 were waaay too dark for me. But it's nice that at least the range is a little wider than 3 light shades. Still, I feel like there could've been at least 8-10 shades. But again, Isana is not really a makeup brand. I just think that this product is very good and might have very large potential group of buyers because it's not the easiest thing ever to get a good cushion foundation in Europe. That being said the SPF 15 is not that impressive compared to Korean or other cushions but it's still better than no protection at all for sure.

 

Wear test

I applied the foundation over my regular combination of primers to give it a fair shot. I used the included applicator as I usually do with cushion foundations. It has a nice cooling effect when applied and it gives a very subtle light coverage with nice hydrating glowy effect. It's a little sticky once you apply it but I powder my face anyway so I don't mind that. I used cream bronzer and cream blush and both applied really well on top.


List of used products

  • Essence Prime+ Studio Poreless + skin blurring Putty Primer

  • Trend It Up Hydro Vitamin Primer

  • Isana Hyaluron Compact-Pflege Cushion, shade 01 Hell (Light)

  • Rimmel The Multi-Tasker Concealer, shade 03 Light

  • Marc Jacobs Perfecting Coconut Setting Powder

  • Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Made By Mitchell BLURSH Bronze, shade Shady Business

  • Made By Mitchell BLURSH, shade Peach Sugar

  • Urban Decay Brow Blade, shade Taupe Trap

  • Benefit 24HR Brow Setter

  • Essence by Merve Super Coverage Eyeshadow Base

  • Made By Mitchell Head in the Clouds Palette

  • Rare Beauty Perfect Strokes Matte Liquid Liner

  • Pat McGrath Dark Star Mascara

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner Gel Pencil, shade 942 Rich Berry

  • Revolution Bronzer Reloaded, shade Holiday Romance

  • Sephora Colorful Blush, shade So euphoric!

  • Pat McGrath Divine Glow, shade Golden Nectar

  • Morphe Continuous Setting Mist

  • NYX Slide On Glide On Stay On and Definitely a Turn On Waterproof Extreme Color Lip Liner, shade Sugar Glass

  • Morphe x Maddie Ziegler Lip Gloss, shade Peach Pucker

Wear time 16 hours

I didn't expect to come home this late but at least the foundation had a long wear test. Honestly I am very impressed by its wear. Of course, it is slightly rubbed off where I wear my mask because I still wore it a fair amount of time today and it is also faded and patchy where I wear my glasses. All that is to be expected after 16 hours of wear for sure.


Looking at the finish in the less disrupted parts of my face it certainly god more dewy through the day and the coverage seems to stay the same, it doesn't look much faded. I appreciate that the patches that are faded or missing are not as harsh as they could be. Many foundation I have make those little missing spots almost highlighted. This foundation has a seamless transition when it rubs off and keeps a nice hydrated finish through the day. It's not cakey or overly greasy, just almost as dewy as it was right after the application. My face didn't start being super dry which is very rare in the winter so I think it keeps the face well hydrated too.

 

Demo

If you want to see the foundation in action, check out my video where I try out new drugstore makeup and I share my first impressions on this foundation alongside many other affordable products.


 

Final thoughts

I've been wearing this foundation on and off for a couple weeks and I must say that I am very impressed. This is a MUST HAVE from the drugstore in my opinion. The price is unbeatable, the coverage and finish are beautiful and it wear really well. I would say it fades with grace.


It's the perfect "everyday" makeup for me and the fact that it keeps my skin hydrated through the day is just a great bonus. I love that it was formulated slightly more as a skincare item than makeup item and I my skin really seems to love it because of its hydrating properties. Makeup-wise it works well with all products such as creams or powders and even with primers I didn't find any problems at all.


If you're looking for something light coverage, glowy, healthy looking, hydrating which is not going to break the bank...this is probably the best I can recommend right now. I am a big fan of cushion foundations but this one is even more special because it doesn't have to travel half the world to get to my drawer. Love it!


Have you tried any new affordable foundations? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

885 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page