top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

IS VISEART REALLY WORTH YOUR MONEY? | PETIT PRO CHOU CHOU PALLETE | REVIEW | 5 LOOKS

Updated: May 26, 2020

Viseart is a professional, very pricey, makeup brand that makes some iconic eyeshadow. I've heard about them and now, they're sold at Sephora in Czech Republic! I wasn't really planning on buying anything, because honestly I wasn't drawn to any of their palletes...until I saw this one.


If I was gonna spend a ton of money on a tiny pro pallete, it was gonna me a bomb and something that I'll actually use. And then I saw the Viseart Petit Pro Chou Chou Pallete. This tiny 8-pan pallete is sold for...sit down for this... 790 Crowns. Looking back at it, I still think I lost my mind for a minute when I was purchasing it. Anyway, on Viseart website isn't much information about the formula, there's just a nice backstory of how this pallete should remind you of south France and beach and summer. I am getting hard summer vibes from this pallete and I think it's gorgeous for summer and spring. The colorstory is speaking to me personally and the swatches just got me, because those are the colors I love to use all the time.


There's 4 mattes and 4 shimmers in the pallete, so it's well balanced. The mattes are more light-medium in the shade depth, there are no dark mattes in this pallete. It's more joyfull and playfull and not really for a smokey glam. The shimmers are also varying in depth and there are some light, which I could use as a lid shade. And there are also some deeper ones, which are more medium toned.


Shade descriptions from the website (with my additional opinions):

Sand Castle: Sandy beige with a matte finish

Creamsicle: Warm brown with a matte finish (leaning towards that light orange)

Sangria: Orange with a shimmer finish (this is magic in a pan, I wouldn't be so flat about it)

Popsicle: Bubblegum pink with a matte finish

Icy: Silver with a metallic finish (SILVER, you've never seen a silver as silver as this)

Melon: Pink-red with a matte finish (coral, very coral)

Cotton Candy: Hot pink with a shimmer finish

Sorbet: Shimmering peach with a duochrome finish (yes, peach with a green shift to be exact)


The packaging feels very lux. Even though the pallete is very small, it feels nice and expensive. you get that fancy folding opening, the outside is soft-touch matte. It's all very nice. There's a small mirror in the pallete, I don't think I'll get much use out of it. And there's a plastic protector which goes over all the pans. I'm keeping it in so far so I don't make a mess on the beautiful pink inside. I also hope it's going to protect the shadows a little bit. The pans are very tiny, the whole pallete is 8g of eyeshadow. That makes is 1g per pan. I also love the desing on the outside of the packaging, it's to pretty. It comes in a little box and on the back you have the shade names. For the money, I feel like you could've squished the names below the pans to be honest.


Overall, it's very cute and small and travel friendly. I can see myself using this on a vacation for sure. We'll have to test the variety of looks you can create with this pallete. I also read on the website, that it's possible to use these on cheeks. That's great, if only there was a facebrush small enough to fit into these tiny pans.


The swatches are nice and pigmented, but the shimmers look way better in real life. That's just usually a fact, because the camera just won't pick up the sparkle. Especially Sorbet, which is the duochrome shade, is really stunning when you see it in person. Sangria is also way more exciting shade than it looks in the photo.

 

Look 1

So for the first look I wasn't really sure what to do in the first place. I like the pallete but there's not really a variety of mattes to structure a classical look with. So I got a litte creative.


I started with Creamsicle first, blending it into the crease and up to the brow. Then I took Sorbet and applied it on the inner 2/3 of the lid. Interesting thing is, that it applied the same with a finger and with a brush. That's actually surprising to me. But it applied nice and smooth and beautiful. This is a very interesting duochrome shade with a green shift. After placing that shimmer, I applied Creamsicle onto the last base outer 1/3 of my lid. Then I took concealer and stamped it on with a eyeliner brush creating a base for a colorful liner. And I used the shade Melon to create the liner. To add more depth into the look, I took brown eye pencil and applied it to the waterline and a little bit to the top. At the end I smoked out the lower lashline with Melon and added mascara.


Look 2

Today I realized that each one of these looks is just going to be pretty simple, because I don't have many colors to work with. To be honest I don't really mind and I'll do my best to keep the looks at least a bit different from each other.


I started with Melon in my crease and on the outer corner. It's a very vibrant shade and doesn't need too much building but if you really want a neon pop of color, you'll be able to get it in like 2-3 layers. I then took Sangria on a flat brush and applied it all over the lid as a pop of shimmer. Of course, I went a little higher than my lid so you can actually see it. It performed just as good with a finger, so the application doesn't really matter, it still shows up beautifully. I then applied Sorbet as my inner corner highlight, added a green-gold liner to my waterline and ran under it with a little bit of Creamsicle to tie things together with the orange tones on the lid. I added a black wing and that's it. I really like this looks, it's simple and very summery and just poppin'.


Look 3

For this look I ventured into the pink shades in this pallete. I always have issues with combining medium toned pink shimmer with anything. So I played it a little too safe maybe and did a halo eye.


I started with Sand Castle Everywhere in the crease and to be honest this shade could've been replaced by like a blue or something, it barely shows up on me. Then I went in with Popsicle and applied it everywhere in the crease and partially on the lid as well. I blended it more into a rounded shape than usual. Then I took Cotton Candy on a flat brush and started packing it on the inner and outer part of the lid. I tried leaving a little gap in the middle to emphasise the halo. The base of this pink shimmer is slightly darker than the base of the pink matte, so the difference is not great and the halo is less prominent than if I did it with multiple shades that can create the multilayered gradient. However, it's simple and it does the job well enough for me. After placing the edges, I took Icy and focused it on the middle part, going slowly and strategically placing the shade. I went all the way up to the brow with it. Then I blended the edges of Icy with Cotton Candy and after small adjustments, the top part of the eyelook is done. I took a gunmetal metallic pencil to emphasise the lower lashline a little bit and smoked it out with Popsicle. I took a liner brush and a bit of that gunmetal pencil and stamped it along the outer half of my upper lashline to give the look a bit more depth. I tried to not cover up any of the shadow really. And that's the look done.


Look 4

This looks wasn't even gonna make it over here but since I really liked it I decided to add it as well. I usually try to stay just within the pallete and not use any other products with it, but I reached for a liquid glitter shadow from Pixi this time.


This is a very simple look, I started with Creamsicle on the inner half of my eye, going from the crease to the lid, covering the whole space. Then I did the same thing with the shade Melon on the outer half and blended it out a little more winged and further. The shades took a little building time especially on the lid, but I manages to get the full opacity on both. Then I took the glitter and tapped it on the edge between both shades. This glitter is very dense and covers well so I didn't have to blend the transition. If you're using more sparse formula, be sure to blend the edge between the two colors. I mirrored the top shades on the bottom lashline and added a thick black wing and that's the look done. It looks very fresh, ready for summer but takes about 5 minutes to make.


Look 5

For this one I went for a little mixture of colors. There's not an infinite number of looks you can do with this pallete for sure. But almost every shade is a look by itself, so you can play with it a lot. I decided to connect the coral tones with the pink tones in this one.


I started with Creamsicle in the crease, blending it well and out a bit. Then I took Melon on a blending brush and went in all over the crease as well and on the lid. I then blended the edge again with Creamsicle. Then I patted Sangria on with my finger all over the lid and that's the top. I then took Cotton Candy and put it into my inner corner, quite a generous amount. And then I took Popsicle and blended it all over the lower lashline, winging it out, hugging the edge of Melon which was placed there before. I added a pink metallic eyepencil into the waterline and a black wing on top and that's the look.

 

Final thoughts

The main question is: Should I spend my money on Viseart? I would say yes, if you feel comfortable with spending this much on such tiny palletes. The quality of these eyeshadows is great, honestly the pigmentation is beautiful and even and the shadows are so creamy and such great quality. If you're not into this pallete in particular, they have more versatile palletes with more variation in shades and maybe better usability for you.


The price is high but I wasn't disappointed with a single of these shades. Just beware that they are really, really small and the pallete is very petit and you might be disappointed because of the size honestly. However, I think I'll get a ton of use from these shadows and I've traveled with this pallete about 4 times already and I love it because it's so tiny and compact and you still get a lot of fun inside. I am actually considering getting another one of these in more "traditional" version with deeper shades and even more variety. If I do, I'm sure I'll be posting about it over here as usual.


Have you tried Viseart eyeshadows? Let me know if you think they're worth the price and thanks for reading!

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page