top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

HONEST BEAUTY | CREME CHEEK BLUSH | REVIEW

Honest Beauty is Jessica Alba's beauty brand that does both skincare and makeup. One of the first products from them I knew was the Creme Cheek Blush in Peony Pink but it was impossible to get in Europe. However! Cult Beauty started selling Honest Beauty recently...so guess what I got from them.


The Honest Beauty Creme Cheek Blush is a cream blush with soft dewy finish that is skin friendly. It contains buildable pigments that suit every skintone. It comes in three universal shades, I have the shade Peony Pink and it retails for 16 Pounds. I got mine at Cult Beauty.


The blush comes in a slim white compact with a mirror inside. You get 3g of product but since it's a cream the chances are you will need very little to make it work and it will last you a long time. The blush can be applied with a sponge, fingers, brushes, anything you want pretty much. The formula is said to be mistake-proof having almost watercolor finish to it which can be amped up. It seems to be a very versatile product in terms of pigmentation.


The texture is very smooth and as you can see on the swatch the pigmentation is very decent and also very even. This was just a little dip into the pan with my finger, no blending after swatching. It can be blended out as much as you want it, it's a very blendable formula and it doesn't seem to be separating or creating patches while blended. The formula reminds me of the Fenty Beauty cream blushes but it seems more pigmented to me.

 

Wear test

For the wear test I wanted to wear a foundation I am familiar with and I made sure to powder my face as I usually do to see the performance of the blush. I applied the blush with my Zoeva Petit Stippling Brush which is my favorite for cream blushes. It applied really well, it didn't move the foundation underneath and everything looked very smooth and quite dewy.


I powdered my whole face with a loose powder that had a bit of pigment to it but the blush was still visible. As usual, I struggle with blushes in photos because of my lighting but it was still perfectly fine and quite vibrant. I did apply a little extra over the top to see if the blush disrupts the powder because I heard people say that it works well on top of powder and they were right. Nothing moved, nothing budged, the tiniest bit of the blush went absolutelly fine on top of powder. I am very impressed with that.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Bell Cosmetics Anti Smog Primer

  • Physicians Formula Healthy Foundation, shade LN3

  • Maybelline Instant Anti-age Eraser Multi-use Concealer, shade 00 Ivory

  • Maybelline Fit Me! Loose Finishing Powder, shade 05 Fair

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Honest Beauty Creme Cheek Blush, shade Peony Pink

  • Lime Crime Bushy Brow Precision Pen, shade Dirty Blonde

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • XX Revolution Eye FiXX, shade Basic

  • ABH Norvina Mini Pro Pigment Palette Vol. 1

  • Essence Easy Brush Liner

  • L'Oreal air Volume Mega Mascara, shade Black

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner Gel Pencil, shade 942 Rich Berry

  • Fenty Beauty Vivid Liquid Eyeliner, shade Wet Tshirt

  • Essence Bloom Baby, Bloom Baked Highlighter, shade 02 Rose & Shine!

  • Rival Loves Me Pastel Breeze Cucumber Setting Spray

  • Sephora Cream Lip Stain, shade 13 Marvelous Mauve

Wear time 11.5 hours

I must say that the blush has faded a tiny bit but that can also be caused by the fact that I touch my face a lot. Overall though, there's no patchiness happening and there are no weirdly pigmented places on my cheeks, everything is uniformly faded into a lighter peach/pink shade. I don't mind how it looks at all, I think that it's better then when a blush suddenly takes a turn and starts to look way more vibrant, it has happened to me and it's not easy to deal with.


I think that 11.5 hours are quite a long time for any blush to stick around, especially a creamy dewy type, so I am honestly surprised that it's still visible after such a long day. Since it's fine over powder, I could've reapplied it through the day but I didn't thing of it at all so I didn't test that. But you can possibly keep the color very vibrant if you need or want to.

 

Final thoughts

This blush truly exceeded my expectations and it's becoming one of my favorites really fast. It's not the cheapest but I think it's a great quality product and it really performs amazing both on its own, on cream base, on powder...it's just very versatile and works well in every scenario.


It's more pigmented than many blushes I own (for example Fenty Beauty Cream Blush) but it's quite easy to work with if you don't pick up too much. It's just not that sheer so you have to keep that in mind. But it blends really well so if you go little by little you can build it up as much as you want without any foundation separating or moving. It applied well with fingers, brushes, sponges and I really enjoy using it. If you're looking for a very fool-proof but not quite sheer blush I would absolutelly recommend.


Have you tried any great cream blushes recently? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

311 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page