top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

FOREO | UFO MINI | REVIEW

There is a whole thread on Reddit about "who needs an overpriced vibrating puck?". Yes, we are talking about the smart masking device from Foreo. Mine is now a little outdated because UFO 2 has come out. But who has the budget to review that? I know I don't.


The Foreo UFO Mini is a smart masking device from Foreo which just keeps coming with newer and better skincare gadgets you need in your life. Or maybe you don't. I got this bad boy for 1650 Crowns on lookfantastic by using an old discount code that worked for some reason. On regular it costs around 3000 Crowns which is quite a difference.


There are small sheet masks you should use with the Foreo UFO devices, all with different ingredients and properties but also with different routines and effects performed by the device. There are the T-sonic pulsations, LED light therapy and warming. The regular UFO also has the cooling ability so there are more masks for it than for the mini. However the price of the regular UFO just wasn't justifiable for me so I'll have to live without cryotherapy. There's still plenty of masks that work with the mini.


The device is small and sleek, I have the mint version. It does look like a little puck and on the "sides" it has the charging port and a power button. On the top there's just the logo and on the bottom there's a metal plate that does the warming and a plastic ring that goes around the plate. You take the plastic ring of, put the little sheetmask on the plate and secure it back with the ring.


In the packaging I also got the charging USB cable, the manual, little stand and one mask to try out. It was the Make My Day mask and it was actually very nice. You only get one though and I knew that so I purchased a pack of the Call It a Night masks and the Acai Berry masks. I also got the Green Tea ones but these don't work with the Foreo mini so I'll have to decide what to do with these. Some of the packs come with 6 masks, some with 7 and their prices vary depending on the mask. The cheapest ones are around 269 Crowns.


Now, I know that many people don't like that you have to buy additional masks to use the UFO and I understand that. However, it still seems less wasteful to me than using traditional sheet masks. Of course if you don't like buying more product to use the device I understand and honestly this device is not for everyone and it's not a must-have for a regular skincare user. Out of all the Foreo products I've seen, this one probably gets the most "hate" in terms of being useless.

 

First impressions

About everyone on Instagram already did a demo on this device so I feel like you can easily just look up someone using the Foreo UFO on Youtube. I just want to share my first impressions using the device here.


First you have to pair the device with the Foreo app which is fairly simple and works just like with their other devices. You first fill in information about the purchase and then you just turn the device on and connect via Bluetooth. You can then look at all sorts of information about the device and in tab Treatments you can select your mask. I used the Make My Day mask.


You can read all abour the treatment and its individual parts in the app and when you're ready you press start. Then you get the instructions how to secure the mask in the device with the plastic ring and there's another start button. Then the treatment starts. If you have sound on there's a lady talking you through the treatment, I find it very relaxing...almost like an end of a yoga class! You basically just glide the UFO across your face in circular motions while the device does its thing and after a certain period of time the treatment ends.


This particular treatment was 90 seconds, the Acai mask is 2 minutes so they have different lengths. You can also run the treatment again if you want with the same mask. Once it's over you are told to remove and dispose the mask.


It's very easy to use and there's plenty of serum in the bag left. I saved some of it up and used it the next day in the morning. The masks are absolutelly soaking with serum once you take them out of the little bag they come in.


I really like the voiceover of the treatments and that you get to know which function does what and what exactly is happening to the skin at the moment.

 

Alternative use

Since there are the additional masks to be used with the Foreo UFO line people have been creative with other ways to use the device.


One thing you can do in the app is setting the LED light to whatever you want so it can be used for additional LED light therapy with no mask at all. There's a Smart Control tab in the app that lets you control the LED light and also the vibrations. You can even turn the heating on but I read somewhere that it's not recommended to use that on its own as it can burn your skin. It heats up to 45 degrees Celsius so it's quite a lot. You can always just let it heat up a little and then turn it off.


I also heard that people just use it with cotton pads. I haven't been lucky enough to find a cotton pad that fits into the UFO. So I ordered some of the little wiping rectangles they use in cosmetic salons which are a lot thinner and the texture actually reminds me of a sheet mask. Getting these under the ring is also slighty tricky because mine are not the exact right size so I have to cut them a little bit. I soak mine with serums or toners, the Fenty Beauty Fat Water works really nice for example. You can just pick any routine your UFO offers and you're good to go. I was actually surprised how well that works.


If you decide to use it with your own product, beware that the temperature might change some ingredients and it could harm your skin so just be careful. I believe that a simple serum should be absolutelly fine but always do your research when you go into the DIY territory.

I also tried taking one of the used sheets and washing them gently under water. I had some leftover serum so I put the washed sheet mask back and used it again and it worked perfectly fine. I didn't use it right away, it was soaking up the serum in a closed box for a couple days. But it worked ok. Again, this is not recommended by the Foreo manual but well...you can do it. I kinda wish there were reusable UFO sheets. But this worked really well and the sheet was just as soaking wet with serum as it was before.

 

Five weeks in

So I think that it doesn't make much sense to wait for a month or so to see the effects of the device. There's not really a before and after pic I could show you but I can tell you how I feel about the device after using it 10+ times.


I mask quite a lot, it's a big part of my skincare and it's a very relaxing activity to do. I don't have much spare time so exercise, skincare and makeup are the most relaxing things I get to do these days. And this device gives you some proper relaxation.


I liked all the masks I've tried so far, the Acai one probably the most because my skin feels just amazing afterwards. I like that it's not dripping everywhere like regular sheet masks and you get the benefits of the LED light, pulsations and warmth. Now that my skin is more dry I really appreciate a good hydrating and nourishing mask and that's exactly what these are. They make your skin feel very nourished and there's also no residue on the skin after you're done with the treatment.


Just to be clear, I still use my regular masks mostly because I paid my hard earned money for them and I like to use them. I didn't start using exclusivelly UFO. I usually use the UFO treatments when I don't have much time because they are very quick. I also like to use them when I can't really use a regular mask like when my hair is drying and I cannot just wash my face mask of. Or when I'm doing my nighttime routine and I want something a little extra after a hard day. There's always a usecase for it and I enjoy it a lot.

 

Final thoughts

I do feel like this device is kind of groundbreaking in its own way because it gives you quite great facial treatments in a really short period of time. It makes LED therapy and heat therapy more accessible and there's a wide variety of masks you can use even with the Mini version.


It's a very pricey device and I feel like if you have the money for it and really want it then get it because you probably won'tbe disappointed. However it's not something that's a must-have and you cannot live without. You will be just fine using your regular masks and serums even without this smart device. It's a nice treat and I really love it and enjoy using it but I wouldn't say it's something you absolutelly need to enjoy your skincare routine.


That being said if you really want it, I would recommend it because I enjoy every session with it and as I described above I use it in more different ways and incorporate it into my routine quite often.

2,948 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page