top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

FOREO | LUNA FOFO | REVIEW

I am a little late to the Foreo game but I started my research on these products some time ago when I decided to buy the Foreo Bear Mini. Now I'm just all about their products because they usually awake the skincare tech that is in me.

The Foreo Luna Fofo is one of Foreo's cleansing devices. There are so many of them that it took me a several weeks of research to figure out which one I want. This one had some very good properties. It's relatively cheap and it has smart moisture level diagnostics and personalized routines. And it's small and I prefer a small face cleansing device over a big one to really get everywhere. It retails for around 2500 Crowns but I got it on sale at lookfantastic.cz for 1700 Crowns.


Just like the other products from the Luna collection it's fully waterproof and made out of medical-grade silicone. It has small silicone bristles that cleanse the face and slightly thicker bristles at the very top for more targeted cleansing like around the nose. It has two gold plates on the back that are used for the diagnostics and a power button on the back as well. This one is one of the "older" models so it doesn't have a charger but it uses AAA bateries. One pair of bateries should last you for 400 uses so I'm not too worried about that. The device provides T-sonic pulsations just like their other devices which helps to remove the dirt and oils from the pores and cleanses more effectivelly than nylon brushes or your hands.


Now, I'm not usually one to use brushes to cleanse my face at all. But lately my skin has been acting up and my pores are looking a bit clogged. I also don't wear makeup as often as I used to since I'm working from home a lot. It sounds weird but wearing makeup on the daily actually helps my skin a lot. It doesn't get as dirty and oily and I remove everything with my double cleanse. At one point I just decided that my hands aren't good enough for cleansing and I ordered the Foreo Luna Fofo.





 

First impressions


I am all about smart stuff and skin diagnostic just sounds amazing. First thing you have to do is sync the device with the Foreo app and add it there with date of purchase and other data. Then you're pretty much ready to go.


I was very excited about the skin moisture measuring so I jumped right into that. It's fairly easy, you just hold the gold plates against your skin for 10 seconds and it tells you you moisture level and suggests a cleansing routine. I don't do this before every cleansing but I still do it quite often. Sometimes just to see which products should I use before bed or in the morning. You can save the suggested routine so it's loaded up when you use the device without the app.

One thing I was bummed about was the new app version. In all the reviews online you see this cool diagnostics with skin age and different measurement. But they removed it from the app because they wanted to simplify the process. I get it but I really wanted to see how old my skin is. Well, maybe some other day.


The cleansing itself is quite fast. The first day it suggested a 2 minute routine and I believe that's the longest one there is. There are also multiple levels of T-sonic pulses but I usually don't mess with these and just roll with the loaded routine.


The first time I used the Fenty Skin Total Cleans'r and I used a little too much. But my face felt cleaner than ever. Not stripped, but very VERY clean. I felt like I've cleansed my face for the first time ever properly. And maybe that's true.

 

Month of using

So, I've been using this little handy device for about a month now and here are my thoughts on it.


Am I regreting spending the money on it? Absolutelly not. I've been cleansing once to twice a day. I used to hate washing my face in the morning because I just don't enjoy using water as it just gets everywhere. I am a clumsy person and I usually just wet my face in the shower. But the Fofo made it a little more bearable as there's not water dripping everywhere and tend to cleanse more in the morning for sure.


The cleanse it gives me is just great. I love it. My face feels reborn, clean, dirt-less. A lot better than with my hands. It's a little hard to believe but it's true. I understand that people are a little sceptical and I was too but you can really feel a great difference. Especially when you use the Luna and then try to wash your face with your hands...it's just not it.


The skin measuring is like a fun bonus. I actually use it quite a lot and I usually measure right before I cleanse to get the customized routine. It's interesting that even with the same measured moisture level the routines differ so I assume there's more measuring happening in the background.


I like that it's quick and easy to use. It's easy to travel with and it works well with any cleanser. I tried foaming ones, cream ones, gels...everything. I would say that the cream cleansers (like the CeraVe Hydrating Cleanser) work a lot better with it. They never really feel like they're doing much but in combination with the pulsations they seem to work really well and cleanse better.


Has my skin improved? I don't have your typical "bad skin" or any skin concerns really but I can tell sometimes that the skin is acting up. And now I at least know that the skin care I put into it after cleansing really helps because the skin is properly clean.

 

Final thoughts

If you're thinking about getting one of these Luna cleansing devices and you've been deciding for a while I would say go for it. I didn't think it was going to make a huge difference on my skin which is relativelly clear and normal but it makes a great difference in quality of your cleansing.


We all know cleansing is important and I really feel like it cleanses better, my skin care soaks in better afterwards and I really like the moisture level measuring in the app and the custom routines. I didn't think I was going to like this device as much as I do. I was a little against this one because it's very small and doesn't have a charger but honestly it doesn't matter. The size is probably better for me because I can get a really good cleanse around my nose and it fits perfectly in my hand. And the charging doesn't really bother me at the end because it's still waterproof and changing batteries once a year isn't going to kill me either.


Overall, I think any skin type would benefit from this device, because cleansing just is important for everyone. However it's quite pricey and there are also many other alternatives on the market right now so if you don't feel like splurging, there are other places to look for a more affordable alternative.


Have you tried any Foreo devices? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

304 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page