top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

FENTY BEAUTY | PRO FILT'R SOFT MATTE POWDER FOUNDATION | REVIEW

Oh man, the end of 2020 served us good and together with the whole Fenty Skin range we got a new Fenty Beauty foundation!


The Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Soft Matte Powder Foundation is a new addition to the Fenty foundation family. It's a buildable, longwear, lightweight, crease-resistant powder formula that offers light to full coverage. It's a fast soft matte base for everyone. You get 9.1g of product and it retails for 930 Crowns at Sephora.


I was never one into powder foundations because they usually just felt like powder and I don't enjoy a powdery dry finish that much. My skin is quite dry now but I was very interested in this powder foundation to see if Fenty truly did it again with their complexion product. It promises to be sweat-proof, humidity-proof , crease-proof and also not cakey. It's actually formulated to be built up. It also promises flawless poreless finish. It should be suitable for every skin type and tone.


It comes in the original 50 shades which match the shades in other foundation formulas so you should really have no problem picking up your shade if you already own a Fenty foundation. I have the shade 150 and it feels like a pretty good match. I still feel like the shades need an addition in the pale-neutral department.


The foundation comes in a compact that contains a sponge which can be used for the application. It feels quite soft and dense so I can see it being good for the product. It also has one mirror in the lid and one in the sponge storage compartment.


The formula feels very soft and buttery and not powdery at all. I love powders that don't feel like powders. The match is OK, I feel like if you like to build your powder foundation up you might want a lighter shade because it's going to intensify the pigmentation a little bit.


I have watched a couple videos on how to use this product as I am not a regular powder foundation user and you should use all your creams and concealer before. But you can also use the Fenty cream products on top. So it's a little confusing but I try my best and test out different approaches to this.







 

Wear test

It's such a weird feeling to have no foundation on my face but still face a full face of makeup on. I applied it with the sponge applicator, I actually find that it works really well with the product and it distributes the pigmentation evenly. I have a little trouble when applying it because I cannot tell where I already applied some since it's not liquid and it doesn't reflect light. But it has incredibly blurred finish.


I also wanted to try the Fenty Beauty recommendation and try the cream blush on top. It sounds a little backwards but it actually worked great. I was really surprised but it applied so blurred and evenly. I could not believe how good it worked.


I also applied my primers and then concealer. I had to set my undereyes with a different powder because a powder foundation is just too heavy to be put under eyes. I didn't use that loose powder anywhere else though.


List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional Primer

  • Dermacol Coco Splash Primer

  • Catrice True Skin Concealer, shade 002 Neutral Ivory

  • Marc Jacobs Finish Line Perfecting Coconut Powder, shade 34 Invisible

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Soft Matte Powder Foundation, shade 150

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Blush, shade Rose Latte

  • Milani Silky Matte Bronzing Powder, shade 01 Sun Light

  • Soph x Revolution Highlighter Pallete

  • Revolution Laminate Brow, shade Medium Brown

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Original

  • Catrice 5 in a Box Mini Eyeshadow Pallete, 020 Soft Rose Look

  • NYX Epic Wear Liner Stick, shade Dusty Mauve

  • L'Oreal Telescopic False Lash Mascara, shade Magnetic Black

  • I <3 Revolution Green Tea Fixing Spray

  • Flormar Silk Matte Liquid Lipstick, shade 02 Fall Rose


Wear time 10.5 hours

So today I did not go to my office as I usually like to when I do a wear test. However I did not hold back. There was a lot of work, a workout, a walk in the most awful weather and quite a long wear time. Looking at the foundation now it just doesn't look like powder foundation. It has kind of melted in with my skin and starting to look like when a liquid foundations warms up to your face and starts to look more natural and less flawless and matte. I did not touch up the whole day. I think that it would help the situation around my nose where I wiped my foundation of a few times. And overall I see it as a big plus that you can adjust the foundation any time you want.


In the picture, there's a patch of foundation missing on my chin because I had some kung-pao with soba noodles for dinner and I forgot I still have to take a pic to end this wear test. But other than that the foundation held up really well. It's not separating, it's not looking cakey, it's not overly creasing.I know that I could touch up easily around my mouth and on my chin so let me do that just so I can see how it looks over the worn out foundation.


I tried to blend it as well as I could but you can tell up close that there's a different layer of foundation on top of another. It looks more matte and dry. I would probably have to touch up as soon as possible for the new layer to be unnoticable. But it doesn't budge or look too weird, there's just a slightly different finish and it's less "oily" looking. Overall I really love how this foundation held up. I don't really wear powder foundations because I have quite dry skin and they make me look too matte but this one is just incredible. It doesn't have any of the properties I usually hate.

 

Final thoughts

Althought I was never into powder foundations I got very surprised by this one. I've never seen a powder act like this one does. It's super smoothing, not dry, warms up to your skin like a foundation, it's very thin in texture and blurs every pore. It just looks stunning.


The lasting ability of it is very nice as well and if you add the benefit of optional touch ups...it's a great one and done foundation. It's super easy to apply, really fast and the applicator in the compact works perfectly with it. It looks very natural, doesn't cake up, doesn't separate and even if you have dryer skin like me it's not going to dry you out. I am just very impressed and I was very sceptical about powder foundations for the longest time. But this one just really convinced me. It has everything the others lack. And the soft matte finish that just looks like flawless skin is just getting me every time I apply it. I always forget how much I like the look of it.


If you're looking for a powder foundation I would absolutelly recommend, however I haven't tried many so I don't really know any competition in this category. But I really, really love it and I cannot imagine any other powder on this planet looking and feeling like this. If there's one though, I will be happy to test it.


Have you tried any powder foundations? Let me know your favorites in the comments below and thanks for reading!

908 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page