top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

FENTY BEAUTY PRO FILT'R HYDRATING LONGWEAR FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSION | WEAR TEST

Hello there. If you don't live under a rock, you probably noticed, that Rihanna blew everyone's brains again, by her new launch. Two primers and a hydrating foundation. Mind. Blown. Already.


Some people weren't too big of a fan of the Pro Filt'r Soft Matte Longwear Foundation. I was a very big fan of it, in fact, I recently finished the bottle I bought when it launched. But my skin was a lot dryer lately than usual, maybe it's because of the summer and I am still getting oily in some areas, so I have to find a good boundary between hydrating look and longlasting look. That's where Riri came to help.


I was very curious about the foundation since they announced it. It claims to be medium to full coverage, comfortable, natural finish, lightweight and very longlasting. The shade range has 50 shades, which all correspond to the original shades, so finding your match is really a piece of cake.


You get 32ml in a plastic, partially seethrough bottle, which looks a bit like a toothpaste but still has a pump. This packaging just gets me going, exactly what I want from my frickin' foundation is a pump and a plastic sleek packaging that fits everywhere. It retails for 890 Crowns, which is not cheap but in terms of Sephora prices, it's one of the cheapest foundations in there.


I got a really good deal because as they were setting up the displays, they had an offer for 20% off when buying at least 1700 value, which is exactly what the foundation + primer cost. So I was happy to save some coin as well.


Comparison swatches
Comparison swatches

There are also two primers, one hydrating and one mattifying. I was going between the two and reading about them and deciding which one I want. I decided for the hydrating one, but they didn't have it at the Sephora I went to and it was the last day of the offer, so I just analyzed the mattifying for a bit and took that one. It's very lightweight and doesn't have that silicone-like feeling to it at all. It felt a little lighter than the hydrating one, but the finish is very similar, at least on the back of my hand. I feel like Fenty Beauty just has a standard when it comes to how your skin should feel before you put on foundation and they just slightly modify the primer so it suits more skintypes but still creates the same canvas. That's how the primers felt. Do you get me? I hope you do. The primers are also 32ml and they come in the same frosted glass bottle as the original primer and foundation. Which I don't mind to be honest. It has a pump, smells pretty much the same as the original ones. I like that smell, it smells exactly like that red Dior parfume. It's a very random thing, but my aunt used to use it all the time and when I got the Fenty foundation for the first time I was stunned, because it smells like my aunt. Funny story.


I am the shade 150, but everytime I go buy something related to face, I get unsure. It's not a perfect match, it's a little too dark in the winter, but the neutral undertone is the most neutral undertone I've even seen and it looks bomb. The hydrating foundation is not more runny or slippery to the touch, it seemed a little more sheer and less matte. Otherwise, I feel like it's very similar to the soft matte one in many aspects.

 

Day 1

The foundation went on really well. I don't really use matte primers anymore, because my skin likes to act funny with them. So far it doesn't make me feel dry or anything, it blurred my pores well and the foundation went on really nice. It looks pretty flawless. I am a little worried about it slipping around, because it is quite a hydrating and dewy formula, but I've been loving hydrating foundations lately, so we shall see how it goes. Longwearing foundation in a hydrating finish is really a rare thing.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Mattifying Primer, shade True Matte

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Hydrating Longwear Foundation, shade 150

  • Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, shade 22N Light Neutral

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Fenty Beauty Matchstix Matte Skinstick, shade Amber

  • H&M Superfine Browliner, shade Chocolate

  • Catrice Brow Colorist Mascara, shade 030

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler Gel, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Morphe 25L Pallete

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Baby Blue

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • H&M Best Curlfriend Mascara, shade Deep Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • H&M Pure Radiance Powder Blusher, shade Brown Sugar

  • Fenty Beauty Killawatt Freestyle Highlighter, shade Hu$tla Baby

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray

  • NYX Lip Lingerie, shade Corset

Let's take a classical checkpoint at work. I happened to go to Novy Smichov and spend my day till lunch running around stores and checking out all the new in the world. I got some nice clothes pieces, some nice makeup pieces and got some great deals. In the morning, it seemed like it's going to be pretty cold all day, but it's actually quite hot and me in jeans and a thick jumper is quite a sweaty combination. I was pretty sure the foundation is dripping down my chin around 10am. I got to my office around 13:30 (shame on me) and I was very surprised as I looked in to a mirror. I don't look bad at all. In fact I look pretty much the same at I did when I left the house. Let's see if we keep this up all day.


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 13 hours

You can probably tell from the picture, I was dewy as hell when I got back home. There was a lot of sweating involved today and I've been running around the city and doing all kinds of stuff, so it wasn't an easy day for a wear test. Although I looked incredibly dewy, the foundation stayed in place. There was no major separation or patching up, like many foundations do when you sweat too much. This one was sitting in place looking glowy. I don't really mind that, I think for the time I spent with it, it's pretty damn impressive. And also, my skin wasn't dry at all. Even though I used the matte Fenty primer. I am impressed.




 

Day 2

Today I went in with a different mattifying primer to see, if it can keep my oils in place and if the foundation performs well with a different primer as well. I went in with my Essence primer with charcoal, which used to be my favorite and it's actually a second tube I've purchased. So let's see how it goes for this day. The weather is still humid and rainy and gloomy and just not nice at all and it's the kind of weather when you just sweat your existence off.


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • Essence Prime+ Studio Mattifying + Pore Minimizing Primer

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • Catrice Liquid Camouflage Under Eye Primer

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Hydrating Longwear Foundation, shade 150

  • E.L.F. 16h Camo Concealer, shade Light Sand

  • H&M Hi-Definition Setting Powder

  • H&M Brow Perfector, shade Caramel

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler, shade Clear

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Fenty Beauty Moroccan Spice Eyeshadow Pallete

  • Revolution Basic Mattes Pallete

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Lottie London AM to PM Eyeliner, shade Mocha

  • H&M Best Curlfriend Mascara, shade Deep Black

  • RL de Young Chocolate Lovers Bronzer

  • NYX Sweet Cheeks Creamy Powder Blush Matte, shade Summer Breeze

  • Gabriella Salvete Highlighter Pallete

  • NYX Liquid Suede Lipstick, shade Sandstorm

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 14 hours

I've been giving this foundation a hard time! I thought I had a zit on my face, but it turned out, it's actually a bug bite. So it's very hard to cover up. I wasn't looking as shiny today, but the makeup didn't last as long as yesterday. It was mostly gone from my chin and around my nose because I was resting my head a lot and blowing my nose a lot today. Other than that, it looked a bit dry, so maybe the primer I used was a little too matte and not hydrating at all. Overall, yesterday it looked way more dewy and also way more in place.

I also tried a new concealer today and to be honest, I really liked that too.




 

Day 3

I thought I might try the foundation again with the matte primer, because it just seemed to last a lot better last time. I am a big fan of the primer and I've used it with different foundations as well and liked it a lot. I also don't have the best mood these days, but I thought I might as well get this review out, since the foundation is really still new and requested.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Mattifying Primer, shade True Matte

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Longwear Hydrating Foundation, shade 150

  • Maybelline SuperStay Full Coverage Under-Eye Concealer, shade Light 15

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Trend It Up Waterproof Brow Gel Filler, shade 020

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Morphe 25L Pallete

  • Sephora Fingertip Eyeliner, shade 03 Sparkling Grey

  • Lottie London AM to PM Eyepencil, shade Velvet

  • Fenty Beauty Vivid Liquid Eyeliner, shade Skinny Dip

  • Benefit Roller Lash Masara

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 medium cool

  • Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade Nude Silk

  • H&M Illumination Lustre Powder, shade Delicate Pearl

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Velour Liquid Lipstick, shade Deceased

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray


Wear time 13 hours

I'm still not sure what to think about this foundation. It's the end of the summer so the temperatures are going crazy, but today I wasn't really in a good mood and it wasn't a very good skin day. I can't stop thinking that this foundation breaks me out a little bit. Everytime I wear it I get a little spor or two on my left cheek. Maybe it's just a coincidence, but I notice it every single time. It lasted well, considering I've been really busy and I was out a lot and I traveled the city a lot. I can't say it's the best lasting foundation I have, but I doesn't look too bad.




 

Final thoughts...

I am not exactly sure how I feel about the foundation, but there are a few things, I'm pretty confident about. I like the way it looks and feels and blends right away. I like the price point, because for high end, it's not too expensive and you get a lot of product. The shade range is incredible, so if you struggle with finding your shade, this foundation is one of these, which will probably have your exact match. It lasts well and I believe, it's incredible for dry skin. My normal to combo skin wasn't too happy or unhappy about it. It's just kinda my daily type of foundation, when I want something natural, lightweight and hydrating. It's not for the same occasions as my soft matte Fenty foundation was, this one probably won't last through whole day with yoga class and endless meetings and a party at night. This one is totally different from that, at least for me. And I still think I'll have to figure how to boost it to last its longest, because I believe in it.


Would I recommend it? I would, if you know it's something you want. If you're not sure if you need a hydrating foundation and you tend to go for more matte ones, this probably won't be your favorite, but it's a very good quality foundation and if you're looking to buy it and count on all the pros and cons of the hydrating formula, go for it.

Overall I am impressed just because I really didn't expect it to last too long on me, especially in this heat. I am surprised and I like the look and feel of it, so I will continue to wear it as my everyday kind of foundation and maybe it will come handy in the winter as well, when I tend to have a little dryer skin.


The primer is very good in my opinion. Matte primers tend to ball up on my skin and not look well and make the foundation weird, but this one doesn't. It keeps my oils behaving well, even in the heat and the foundations on top of it always lasted well, when I used it. I would recommend this one if you struggle with your skin in terms of oiliness.


I hope you enjoyed the review and let me know below, how do you feel about the new Fenty products? Thanks for reading!

204 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page