top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

FENTY BEAUTY | CHEEKS OUT FREESTYLE CREAM BRONZER AND BLUSH | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Yeah, you probably already know everything about this product. The Gods of makeup have sat down with Rihanna and gave us what everybody wanted...cream cheek products.


I don't know about you, but I loooooove a cream bronzer. I use almost exclusively cream bronzers nowadays and cream blush is something I try a lot and fail a lot at. However, I'm so ready to try the Fenty Beauty formula, you don't even know. The Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer and Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Blush are two new product, which both launched recently and I just had to.


The cream bronzer comes in 7 shades, the range is well distributed. The lightest is their iconic pale cool toned shade Amber, which I use as a contour stick a lot and I love. But for a bronzer I wanted to go more warm. It was selling out super fast on Sephora website, so I picked up the shade Macchiato. I would go for Butta Biscuit but it was gone too soon. The bronzer is 850 Crowns, which is pretty pricey, but Fenty is not a drugstore brand, and you get 5.23g of product. According to the Fenty website, this bronzer is supposed to be super blendable, lightweight, non-greasy, sweat resistant, sheer and buildable. That sounds like a foolproof bronzer to me.

The cream blush comes in 10 shades, every single one of them felt like I need it but I wanted Fuego Flush the most...however that sold out in like a second so I went for Rose Latte. And I'm pretty sure I'll pick up more if I like the formula. The blush is 590 Crowns, which is again, pretty whooping price, and you get 3g of product. It sounds similar in formulation to the bronzer, it's supposed to be very sheer and buildable, lightweight, sweat-resistant and non-greasy. Apparently, it's impossible to overdo. That gives me hope, because I felt like Rose Latte will be too dark for me.

 

The actual first impressions


I was a bit surprised when I opened the box of the blush. It was sooooo dark. Like burgundy red dark, way darker than the bronzer. Online it looked more like a brown-peach, I don't think that's a very good representation. It's a very interesting color though. The bronzer looked a little too deep on the first glance as well, but it is very sheer. I'm happy I didn't go for lighter one, because I might have to build it too much to be honest.


Both products feel very nice and they glide on well when you swatch them. They are not oily at all and they are both very sheer but buildable and blendable. It's a very interesting formula. I don't think I've ever seen cream products like this.

 

Application and wear test

So, I want to do a wear test and also describe the application a little more, because online you can't really tell from the Fenty videos how the product acts. I know that there's a special brush for these, but I don't really buy that expensive brushes and I have many that look similar. So I decided to work with what I've got. For the bronzer I tried using a narrow flat brush I use with my Huda Beauty Tantour but that one is a lot more pigmented so it makes a lot more sense to use such brush. Here it didn't work too well. Because the bronzer is so sheer, you don't really need to place it first and then blend it, you can just go right in. So, I took the brush I use to blend my cream bronzers and just went right into the pan and onto my face. And it worked like a charm. It went on quite sheer but enough pigmented to be clearly visible and it blended itself pretty much. This is such a foolproof bronzer, I love it so far just because of the application. You just slap it on and go.


I was a little scared of the blush, because it looked so dark. I went for a dual-fiber brush which I apply majority of my cream blushes with and is actually applied well. I tried my finger off camera, but my fingers just weren't meant for blending. It's not a color I would go for to be honest, but it's not too pink, it's a little more deep and sophisticated but not looking like a burgundy bronzer. I like the color overall but it wil probably take me a minute to learn how to use it properly. Now, I felt like I've put on a lot but I actually cannot see it now looking in the mirror.


I tried building up the blush on top of the powder and it worked very well, it's not acting weird or budging. But, it's still not too visible. I can see it looking in the mirror but it really melts into the skin, maybe a bit too much. I like that it's possible to apply it in many different ways but it's really not translating that much on the skin so I wonder how would the lighter shades look on me.


List of used products

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Matifying Primer, shade True Matte

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Hydrating Longwear Foundation, shade 150

  • Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, shade 22N Light Neutral

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiato

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Blush, shade 10 Rose Latte

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil, shade 2

  • Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Gel, shade Soft Brown

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Fenty Beauty Morrocan Spice Pallete

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner Gel Pencil, shade 910 Bold Brown

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Fenty Beauty Killawatt Foil Freestyle Highlighter, shade Sand Castle

  • Fenty Beauty Makeup Refreshing Spray, shade What It Dew

  • Fenty Beauty Gloss Bomb Universal Lip Luminiser, shade Fu$$y


Wear time 8 hours

I wasn't gonna do a 12 hour wear test anyway and I wanted to work on a face chart recreation, so I cut this short after 8 hours. I had a killer workout today though, so I was really sweating my butt off. I feel like everytime I sweat, the blush looks more vibrant for some reason, but neither the blush of the bronzer were starting to disrupt or budge. Both products were sitting there on my cheeks, like nothing was happening, all nice and blended. I can imagine the staying power on these must be great even after more hours than this. They are not oily at all, so they don't tend to slide around, which is great. They also don't get crazy pigmented through the day. Some creams do that for me and I hate it.

 

Final thoughts

Let's take these one by one. The bronzer is a win in my book for sure. If you want a foolproof bronzer and you're ready to invest a little more money into it. I would go for it. It would be better to really look at the shades and pick the right one, because they are very sheer and building them up might be frustrating. I am glad I bought the third lightest shade because I feel like the Butta Biscuit would be too much work for me to build and I like my creams to apply fast. So for me, this one is a recommendation for sure, if you're fine with the price point. I really like it.


The feels a little too tiny for the price to be honest, but I can imagine it will last a long time, because you don't really apply too much of it. If you're pale, like me, consider the shades well. They are very sheer so you can go for any of the pinks of reds and it won't look too harsh. I wasn't really considering that too much and I'm a little sad I picked up just Rose Latte because the other shades would be probably even better for my complexion. I still really like the blush, I really enjoy the texture and it really applies super easily. I would say it's true that you can't really overdo it. If you're a fan of cream blushes or not a fan at all and keep trying to find the right one (just like me) this one I would say is the best bet from what I've ever tried. It's very easy to apply, I just think it fades a little bit when you set your face, but that's probably just my fault. I also applied it on powder and it worked just fine. It's a magical formula.


So, both of these get a stamp of approval from me, if you consider all the pros and cons, the price is really what bothers me the most. But that's just because I'm a saver myself and I don't like spending a lot of money on one product. But I'm kinda happy I spent it on these.


Have you tried these? Let me know your thoughts in the comments and thanks for eading!

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page