top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

FENTY BEAUTY | BRIGHT FIX EYE BRIGHTENER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Finally, Fenty blessed us with a hydrating concealer and my under-eyes could not be happier. I tried the original formula but honestly it just wasn't for me. So let's look at this hydrating newness and let's hope for the best.


The Fenty Beauty Bright Fix Eye Brightener is an undereye brightener that hydrates, brightens, and conceals with sheer to buildable coverage. On the back of my hand it seemed pretty light-medium in one layer. It has a liquid formula that's supposed to be longwearing and hydrating the under-eye area for the whole day. It's also sweat, humidity and crease-resistant formula. It contains jojoba oil and HydraBlend complex (no idea what that is) which is supposed to retain the moisture in the skin. It retails for $25 and you get 10ml of product. It comes in 16 versatile shades which also include some color-correcting shades.


I have the shade 04 Crepe and let me tell you, it was a struggle to pick a shade. I had to go to Sephora and get someone to pick it for me because I just couldn't decide which one could fit me well. And this one is an amazing match. It's mostly neutral with a little bit of peach so it works like a dream for brightening shade-wise.


It comes in a squeezy tube with a weird plastic knob on the tip which kinda works as an applicator but get's really dirty really fast. No big deal though, I don't mind the packaging that much and I like the idea of a no-makeup makeup concealer that's hydrating. I have very VERY dry under-eyes to the point where I pretty much stopped wearing matte concealers.


As I said, the coverage seems light-medium in one layer and it has a slighty oily feeling to it. Nothing crazy but I worry it's going to slide around to be honest. It blends out well with a brush and a finger as well. It warms up easily and then really gets pushed into the skin. The finger gives it a really nice smooth finish (to my surprise). It works well with a sponge too, but the coverage goes down quite a lot. The sponge just soaks up the oily formula like a...well, sponge and the coverage sheers out. So I would probably say I like the brush the most and if you don't mind the mess, go in with the finger.

 

Wear test

I applied the concealer with my Zoeva concealer brushes in one quite thin layer. I did powder it down as well with just a very thin dusting of setting powder with hyaluronic acid. I cannot wait to see if my under-eyes look less dry at the end of the day. I really have high hopes for this product. As you can hopefully see in the photo, my dark circles have been erased to the max and my undereyes really don't look try or textured at all. So far I am happy with this product and I really hope it wears well.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Smashbox Primerizer

  • L'Oreal Skin Paradise Tinted Water-cream, shade Fair 02

  • Fenty Beauty Bright Fix Eye Brightener, shade 04 Crepe

  • Catrice True Skin Mineral Loose Powder, shade 010 Transparent Matt

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Blush, shade Fenty Glow

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiatto

  • Fenty Beauty Diamond Bomb, shade Cognac Candy

  • Hourglass Ambient Powder, shade Luminous Bronze Light

  • Hourglass Strobe Blush, shade Vibrant Flush

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Anti-Aging

  • Avani Gregg x Morphe For The Bebs Palette

  • Raw Beauty Kristi x Colourpop Creme Gel Liner, shade Woodsy

  • Catrice Clean ID Full Lash Mascara Extra Black

  • NYX Lifn & Snatch! Brow Tint Pen, shade Ash Brown

  • Fenty Beauty Brow MVP Sculpting Brow Wax & Styler

  • Catrice Clean ID Hydra Volume Lip Plumper, shade 030 Plump Pink

  • Milani Make It Last Setting Spray

Wear time 10.5 hours

The weather is getting to the point when it's impossible to do a wear test that doesn't depend on it. I also included a pretty intense workout and honestly the foundation looks like crap now, but we're here for the concealer anyway. My undereyes look a little more blue than in the morning for sure, there's usually some blue hue peeking through with most of my concealers after this much weartime. I am happy to report that the under-eyes don't feel dry at all. And they don't even look crusty which I'm very glad to see.


Even though I powdered them slightly, there's no caking happening and no movement either. So I was wrong about the texture, it's not slidey at all if you set it. On the rest of my face is wasn't very noticable before but it's still there and I don't see any patchiness around the concealer anywhere. I am quite impressed with that to be honest. There is no creasing happening and my under-eye area doesn't seem to be dragged down which is something I get a lot with matte concealers. I think this is a way to go for me honestly. Even the low-medium coverage got me through the day really well and didn't fade that much.

 

Final thoughts

I am very impressed with the formulation of this product. I've been struggling with my dry under-eyes for years now and it took me a while to realize that hydrating products under the eyes are for the best and not for the worst and that powder there doesn't really has the same task as on the rest of the face.


This concealer is a great example of skincare meets makeup where it works really well as a partial color-corrector and concealer that covers and brightens at the same time. But you also get the hydrating benefit as well and it doesn't compromise the wear time. It is a little bit on the pricey side so it's understandable if you think that it's not worth the money but I really think that for me it is because it's quite a unique formulation which works really well for me. Waaaaaay better than the previous Fenty concealer formula.


I think it's perfect for that no-makeup makeup look and it's also going to work in full glam. It covers really well and it can be built up too. If you don't think the hydrating finish is something you want as the top most layer, maybe look into the color-correcting shades that might help your other concealers by covering and correcting the darkness first. It's pretty lightweight so I imagine it's going to layer well with other products too. I think Fenty Beauty really did it well with this product.


Have you tried the new Fenty brightening concealer? Let me know your thoughts in the comments and thanks for reading!

550 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page