top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

ESTEE LAUDER | DOUBLE WEAR STAY-IN PLACE MAKEUP | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Have you ever ordered the most random thing ever and just threw a makeup piece in the shopping cart with it? That was me buying this product. I ordered a hanged table for my balcony...and Estee Lauder Double Wear.


The thing with this foundation is that it varies in price a lot online. You can get it in stores but for a lot more money, so I wanted to buy it online. I actually purchased it as alza.cz which is super random thing. But here we are with one of the most iconic foundations ever made.


Everybody used to rave about this foundation, so there was a point where I had to get it to really see if it's worth it. Estee Lauder is a more luxury high-end brand, so not something I gravitate towards. On this website, I got it for 899 Crowns, which is decent price for this makeup but it's not very cheap. You get 30ml of product, which is nice. But what really bothers me is that it doesn't have a pump and you have to buy the pump separately. Like...really? You're such an expensive brand and you don't even give me a pump?! I am offended.


Except for the pump issue, the packaging is nice. It comes in a glass bottle, the glass is frosted, so don't rely on the shade in the bottle when matching yourself in the store. We all know how deceiving the frosted glass is. It has a golden lid and over all it feels expensive. Which is good, because it is.


Estee Lauder has been expanding the shade range on this product for quite a while now and I'm pretty sure the shade I got is one of the newer ones. Right now it comes in 56 shades according to Estee Lauder website. Which is a decent shade range. I know they've been adding paler and deeper shades as well, which is great. I got the shade 1W0 Warm Porcelain.


The shade matching has been a nightmare. I've heard from many people that this foundation oxidizes like crazy. So I didn't want to go a pick up the shade I think I need, because the chances are, I would end up looking like a walking orange. So, I went for the lightest warm undertone they had. I was a little torn between neutral and warm, but warm was cheaper quite a lot at the moment and also the neutral one looked too pink in online swatches I saw. So I went for 1W0 and hopefully it will be a good match.


That's another thing with these newer shades, they are rarely ever anywhere online. You cannot really find any swatches or swatch comparisons. Usually because people already wrote blog posts about this foundation and they're obviously not doing a separate post because a couple shades went up. So hopefully my swatches will help someone one day with this struggle.


This foundation has SPF 10 and it supposedly has 24 hour staying power, stays color true, feels lightweight and comfortable and is transfer resistant. You shouldn't be even able to feel it on your skin. It's medium to full coverage, lasts through heat and humidity, has a matte finish and controls oils. It doesn't clog pores and it's oil-free, fragrance-free, dermatologist and ophthamologist tested.

 

Wear test

So here we are today, testing this little hyped up miracle. I applied the foundation with a sponge, because I feel like that's just my ultimate go-to with a full coverage foundations. The first thing I'm noticing is that it's quite heavy feeling. I was expecting something a little more weightless. However, the coverage is really nice. I would say it's a full coverage foundation for sure. It doesn't seem to emphasise texture too much and it worked well with a cream contour on top as well. I had to powder it down fully because it was just too sticky to handle for me. I've used my most flawless powder but I still believe that I'll be able to see if the foundation really has the amazing lasting power or not at the end of the day.


List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-place Makeup, shade 1W0 warm porcelain

  • Jouer Essential High Coverage Concealer, shade Creme Cafe

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • H&M Superfine Browliner, shade Dark Walnut Brown

  • Rival Loves Me Brow Mascara, shade 01 ash blond

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Viseart Petit Pro Chou Chou Pallete

  • Catrice Brush Ink Tattoo Liner

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Essence Wanted: sunset dreams fading bronzer

  • Zoeva Oppulence Blush Pallete, shade Impossible to Move

  • Fenty Beauty Killawatt Freestyle Highlighter, shade Hu$tla Baby

  • I Heart Revolution Fixing Spray Green Tea

  • Rival Loves Me Lipliner, shade 04 apricute

  • Wet n Wild Megalast Lip Color Lipstick, shade Mocha-licious


Wear time 14 hours

I was going to go a little crazy timewise with this foundation because I just need to see how it performs. I put it through a lot. I spend couple hours in a mask because I went shopping, it was raining the whole time, I didn't have an umbrella, it was dripping down my forehead...I kind of thoughts the wear test is over once I stepped outside. But I just didn't even have enough time to check how it looks until it was after my workout and after my mandatory CS:GO gaming time. Then I looked into the mirror and I was heavily surprised.


So you may now that I have a runny nose literally all the time, so there's always a little foundation missing on my nose. On this foundation, you couldn't really tell the "line" at all. I was surprised by that because I got the impression that the formula is quite heavy. It stopped feeling as much as a cake by a couple hours after I put it on. I didn't feel bad even after the 14 hours and that's rare. It was just in place, looking just as it did in the morning pretty much, minus some patches. For those I blame the mask and my hands because I was touching my face a lot today. So yeah, I'm very impressed honestly, everything looked amazing at the end of the day. If I was to be super picky, I would say that there were slightly dry patches on my forehead and on parts of my cheeks but honestly I think that was either dry separation, which happens to me with matte foundations. Or it was the raindrops disrupting the foundation. Either way, it's barely visible when you look at your face really close.

 

Final thoughts

I was a little sceptical to be honest, because there's so much hype around this foundation it's making me not wanna use it. I bought it though just because of the good price and because I just had to see myself. Immidiatelly, I hate that there's not a pump and I will probably buy it separately just because the pouring is making me mad. That's the biggest drawback for me together with the price.


However, if you don't mind a more matte foundation, this one is the ultimate keeper. I always have about 1-2 foundations that I know I can count on. These foundations last all day, look fab AF and my skin can handle them. This one just litereally catapulted on the top of that list. I was so impressed by the wear of this. If you need something that's gonna last for en eternity? This is your guy. It feels a little heavy upon application but it sits down and settles in no time and just looks flawless all day.


I didn't oxidize on me personally but I've seen people use wrong shades that just got darker and darker through the day. I have no idea if the match has anything to do with it and I might investigate this later on but for me, it wasn't oxidizing bad enough for me to notice. It's pretty hard to color match, because the swatches are so bad online it hurts but I would probably go a little lighter than you'd like.


Also if you have very dry skin this might be too matte for you. I would recommend mixing in a more hydrating medium and/or using a very hydrating primer that's going to nourish the skin. The foundation will stick to anything and last well I think, so don't worry about that too much.


Overall, I am happy to report that this foundation is not hyped up for no reason and it's actually a fire formula that lasts through a lot. Have you tried this foundation? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

2,314 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page