top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

e.l.f. | HYDRATING CAMO CONCEALER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

I've been browsing the depths of Amazon looking for things to throw into my basket that I cannot buy on this continent...and I found out that my not-so-favorite e.l.f. super dry matte concealer has a hydrating friend!


The e.l.f. Hydrating Camo Concealer with satin finish is a more hydrating version of their very hyped up Camo Concealer which I liked a lot but it's a little too dry for my undereyes right now. I just use a lot of powder and my eyes are quite dry naturally and I cannot cope with a super matte concealer. This babe here is 6$ and comes in 25 shades with a pretty nice range. I got the shade Light Sand because that's the shade I have in the matte version. But it's slightly different than the original Light Sand so check out the swatches if you want to buy it. On the website it's marketed as a light with neutral undertones but I feel like it's a little more peachy-warm. It's still a good shade for me though.


The packaging looks the same but it has a white cap and white lettering on the bottle. I also assume you get the same amount of product which is 6ml of product. It's supposed to be full coverage as well as the original and it comes with the same large doefoot. It has a satin finish, should be more hydrating and gives you more time to work with it because it has longer drying time. The original Camo Concealer claims to be longwearing up to 16 hours and this one should actually beat it. It says "all day" on their website so I assume 24 hours? That's a bold claim. It's suited for normal/dry skin.


As you can see the doefoot is the same and it's very big. You have to be careful not to apply too much product because the applicator does pick up a whole lot.


Texture-wise it's a little thicker than some other hydrating concealers I use but that's not neccessarily a bad thing. It blends out seamlessly with both brush and a sponge and I really like the amount of coverage it has. I would say it's a high medium but it doesn't cover as much as the Colourpop Pretty Fresh Concealer which is one of my favorites.





 

Wear test

Concealer by itself on the left side

I wore this concealer by itself multiple times and it's a little bit too visible for me in the sense that the shade doesn't fully blend into my skintone. That's the reason I don't really wear it by itself however the formula is incredible.


I love that it's not as matte as the original formula but it's still very high coverage. It works well with powder but doesn't turn into a flakey mess after a couple hours. It also doesn't separete on me. Just to show you how it holds up I actually included it in a full face look to see how it performs.


I applied it over my foundation with a fuzzy sponge as I usually do but I know that it performs well with brushes too. It has quite a peachy undertone so it works well to cancel any darkness under the eyes but I would appreciate if the shade was a little lighter.

List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Catrice Prime and Fine No More Red Primer

  • Wet n Wild Photofocus Foundation, shade Soft Ivory

  • e.l.f. Hydrating Camo Concealer Satin Finish, shade Light Sand

  • Laura Mercier Translucent Loose Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Made By Mitchell Blursh, shade Peach Sugar

  • Lottie London Arch Rival Volumising Eyebrow Powder, shade Medium

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • XX Revolution Eye FiXX, shade Basic

  • Made By Mitchell Feet On The Ground Pressed Pigment Pallete

  • NYX Epic Wear Liner Stick, shade Dusty Mauve

  • Essence Easy Brush Liner

  • L'Oreal Lash Paradise Mascara, shade Intense Black

  • Essence Hello, Good Stuff Matte & Glow Bronzer, shade 10 Cocoa-cool

  • Lottie London Shimmer Squad Highlighter, shade The Good Girl

  • Maybelline Lasting Fix Makeup Setting Spray

  • Maybelline Lifter Gloss, shade 002 Ice


Wear time 11 hours

Honestly I really enjoy this concealer. It looks a little dry because I used a very drying powder. But my undereyes don't look as crusty as they would with less hydrating concealers. Overall, my face looks pretty intact and ready to go on. You can tell that there's a little bit of blueness peeking through the concealer under my eyes but overall it's nothing tragic and considering my sleep schedule lately...the bags are covered well. I used this concealer with many different powders and this one is the "worst" to go with it because it's so matte but I wanted to show how dry can it get. I have very dry undereye area and matte concealers aren't really an option for me these days. But I still have to powder there so I don't get creases.

 

Final thoughts

Overall I would say that this concealer has more positives than the original formula. I love how hydrating it is, I think the price is great and you get quite a lot of product. It blends really well, it sets well with pretty much any powder and my dry undereyes love it a lot.


One thing I'm not too keen on is the change of shades because my e.l.f. 16HR Camo Concealer in Light Sand fits me way better in the matte version, the hydrating formula has more peachy undertone and is slightly darker so I would appreciate shade consistency.


On the other hand it's a great concealer and if you can get your hands on it I would highly recommend if you prefer more hydrating concealer formulas. I would say that it could work for any skintype really.


Which formula fo you prefer? Tell me in the comments below and thanks for reading!

4,170 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page