top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

E.L.F. | FLAWLESS FINISH FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Updated: Aug 19, 2019

Another post, another foundation wear test. I like doing these posts probably the most, because I would never get into foundation quality and wearability by myself and I like to categorize them according to it.


I was in Vienna last two days, to see the P!nk show, which was absolutelly incredible and amazing, and also to just hang out in the city, do some sightseeing and have fun. I had a lot of fun in many drugstores. We saw the whole city, walked so much, me feet still hurt 3 days after I came home, but it was a great short tip. Vienna is amazing and beautiful city and I really recommend visiting it. Also, it has some pretty good gems in the stores.


This foundation was actually my last buy and the train station before I went home, because I noticed, that there was a pharmacy / drugstore there which had apparently a lot of makeup. So I stormed in, picked up what I wanted and couldn't buy at my country and took off to catch a train. This foundation is such a staple and it was all over the internet at one point and people seemed to really like it and gave it such nice reviews. Foundations are my weakness. They had 3 shades in stock at the moment and the lightest one was literally white on me, so I picked up the shade Alabaster. It currently comes in 40 shades! That's so cool. They didn't have all 40 in the store, but you can check them out online even with shade descriptions, that's really neat. So according to E.L.F. website I picked up fair shade with peach undertone. Looking at the shades now, I would probably go with Light Ivory, but they didn't have it, so whatever. When I swatched it in the store, it looked like a decent match, they had a little weird lights there, so it looked more yellow, but it's still feasible for me. It's also quite thick in consistency and looks pretty full coverage.


The packaging is frosted glass which is not my favourite, because I broke one just like that a couple months ago. However, it does have a pump and also a lid, so it shouldn't make a mess when travelling with it. You get 20ml of product, which is not standard at all, in fact it's almost as much as you get in travel-sized foundation bottles. Give us more ELF! It retails for $6 in the US and I got it for 8 Euro which is about 200 Crowns. Not a bad price for drugstore foundation, but quite a lot of money for 20ml of product.


It is supposed to be oil-free, lightweight formula, long-lasting with a semi-matte finish. All of that sounds pretty good. It's also cruelty-free and vegan, which makes me happy to hear. The only downside for me so far is that it's quite heavilly fragranced. The smell of it does fade after a little while, but it's quite annoying and I don't like foundations with frangances because they irritate my skin. But other than that, I like a lot about this foundation and I hope it's gonna be a good one. Some websites say it has SPF 15, but I cannot find that on E.L.F. website at all. So I am pretty unsure about that statement.

 

Day 1

I have a bunch of new products that I was trying today for the first time. I was on a trip to Vienna and I couldn't help myself and I had to pick up some new stuff. I love everything that I used today, including the eyeshadow pallete, which is soooo nice and also the primer and highlighter, all really cool. But we're here because of the foundation. I applied it with a sponge today, it took some time to get it from the pump, it was full of air. But eventually, I managed to put it on my face and I really like the finish of it. Maybe it's the hydrating primer, but it looked a lot more dewy than I expected but it feels really nice and light on the skin. I was a little affraid it will look cakey when set with a powder, but it actually looks totally fine and nice. So far I really like this foundation on my face. The smell of it faded before I applied my concealer, which it a good sign and my face doesn't itch or feel irritated from the fragrance, so far.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • Catrice Fresh It Up Primer

  • E.L.F. Flawless Finish Foundation, shade Alabaster

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade Peach

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 Light Neutral

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Setting Powder, shade Fair

  • 183days Loose Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow, shade 2

  • Trend It Up Brow Filler Gel Waterproof, shade 020

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Catrice Exotic Traveller, shade Wanderlust

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Black Bean

  • Essence Melted Chrome Eyeliner, shade 04 zinc my way

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Maybelline Snapscara, shade 01 Pitch Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade Nude Silk

  • Sleek Highlighting Pallete, shade Solstice

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray

  • Lottie London Slay All Day Liquid Lipstick, shade Werk It


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 14 hours

It was a very sunny day, pretty hot, I spent majority of my day at work and then at my sister's appartment, which was hot as hell. They have some issues with windows and there was pretty much sauna environment all afternoon and evening. Ideal for testing foundation. To my surprise, it wasn't looking bad when I came home at all. I even got a few compliments about my skin during the day and it wasn't a good skin day at all. My face was giving me a hard time because of the Vienna trip.


The foundation stayed put all day, it looked pretty much flawless and didn't even budge between my brows as foudations usually do. I am very surprised, I didn't expect too much from it, because people online usually give it just a couple of hours and I just had it on for a full day. But I am very pleasantly surprised with it and I cannot wait to see if I can repeat this success.

 

Day 2

I have been lately incorporating cream base products into my everyday routine, and it has been working so well! I really enjoy Tantour from Huda Beauty, even though I was skeptical about it first because it's so pigmented. I also really enjoy the Dermacol blush I was sent to test out. The color looks very scary in the tube but really pretty on the face. I think we can consider this a cream base day.


Everything went on very smooth and played with the foundation well. My skin is still not the best, but it looks pretty fine under this foundation. It's very light in consistency so you can't really feel it on your face and I really like that. I just wonder about the SPF in it because I cannot find any solid proofs that it actually has SPF 15. Maybe just the one sold in the USA? Who knows...


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • Maybelline Face Studio Protecting Primer SFP30

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Revlon Prime and Anti-shine Balm

  • E.L.F. Flawless Finish Foundation, shade Alabaster

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade Peach

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 light neutral

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Setting Powder, shade Fair

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Dermacol Brush and Glow Cream Blush Stick, shade 02

  • Physician's Formula Browlast, shade Medium Brown

  • Catrice Brow Colorist Mascara, shade 030

  • Catrice Camouflage Cream, shade 010 Ivory

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Revolution Pretty Strong Pallete

  • Focallure Liquid Eyeshadow, shade Sand

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • NXY Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Black Bean

  • Benefit Roller Lash Mascara

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Sleek Highlighting Pallete, shade Solstice

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray

  • NYX Liquid Suede Lipstick, shade Brooklyn Thorne

After several hours at work, I am noticing, that it doesn't look as great around my smilelines. I have a feeling, that the Magic Star Powder just doesn't hold up in this heat. It sinks into my skin so fast and leaves it pretty much tacky and not as set as I want it to be. I don't know, last time I wore it with the 183days powder all over, it looked a lot better, in my opinion. Other than that, it looks pretty fine from a normal distance and flawless indeed.


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 12.5 hours

I feel like this foundation is kinda magical. It starts looking not the best after a few hours and then suddenly revives and looks a little oilier but still pretty flawless for the rest of the day. My blemishes are a little visible, but there's no redness peeking through. And the cream products are BOMB. The blush and cream bronzer still look like brand new. After a little re-powdering, I would be good as new. Again, no budgin between my eyebrows and I did a lot of facial expressions at meetings today, so I'm a fan of that. My pores are not looking the finest, but again, powder could fix that quite a bit.




 

Day 3

Today I got a little carried away with the eyelook, but I really like how it turned out. I am late to work as always, but I hope to make the day quite long. Today I tried a couple new products I got recently and all of them seemed to perform well with the foundation. I also tried a new foundation brush from the Tools by Gabriella Salvete collection. It's very small, so perfect for travelling and it didn't seem to leave strokes on my face, which is always nice. I went over everything with a sponge anyway, because I prefer the finish of it and it soaks up leftover product. And so far it looks flawless as always.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • Maybelline Studio Prime Illuminating Primer

  • E.L.F. Flawless Finish Foundation, shade Alabaster

  • Revolution Conceal and Correct, shade Peach

  • Catrice Liquid Camouflage High Coverage Concealer, shade 005 Light Neutral

  • H&M Hi-Definition Loose Powder

  • Revolution Ultra Cream Contour Pallete

  • H&M Superfine Browliner, shade Chocolate

  • Catrice Brow Colorist Mascara, shade 030

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Mini Breaker Pallete, shades Double Scoop, Orange Crush, Purple Punch, Bite Me

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Slate

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Benefit Roller Lash Mascara

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • 183days Finish Touch Blush, shade 010

  • Sleek Highlighting Pallete, shade Solstice

  • NYX Butter Gloss, shade Peach Crisp

  • L'Oreal Infallible Setting Spray

Looking at myself at work, about 5 hours in, I really look damn flawless. Today I went in with a more illuminating primer and my skin doesn't feel dry yet. Everything looks very nice and smooth. I tried a new setting powder from H&M and so far, I think it's a really nice powder. It's not dragging my undereyes down, it doesn't cake up and doesn't sink into my skin too much, so I still feel secure about my oils going to the surface.


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 10 hours

This foundation just doesn't know how to disappoint me. Except for the nose area, which is a problem for me, the face looks pretty much like in the morning, after 10 hours which is impressive. Without touchups, and without even really checking on myself because I've been really busy and really had a lot of work. I came home, looked into the mirror and I looked like I was ready to hit the town again.






 

Final thoughts...

I've tested many foundation throughout this year and this one has to be one of my top of all time. It's a little tricky to get your match, but if you have a chance to grab it, don't hesitate and do so, because this is a really impressive foundation. It full coverage, doesn't dry you out too bad, and with a hydrating primer, there's nothing to complain about. It blends like a dream, looks flawless all day, works great with everything you put on top. I am just in love with this foundation. The price is great, I still wish there was more products, but still, if you have a chance, go and get it and the chances are, you won't regret it at all.


Have you liked this foundation as much as I have? Let me know in the comments below and thanks for reading.


Update:

You can now actually purchase this foundation in Czech Republic, at Douglas! I've been there today and they have a whole E.L.F. display put up and it looks bomb. Go check it out if you happend to stumble upon one.


231 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page