top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

E.L.F. | CAMO CC CREAM | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Everyone knows the IT Cosmetics CC Cream and there have been so many brands trying to make a dupe that I kind of lost count. Here comes e.l.f. with their spin on a high coverage CC cream that should blow your mind.


The e.l.f. Camo CC Cream is a color correcting foundation with SPF 30. It provides medium to full coverage with natural finish. It's infused with many beneficial skincare ingredients to not only cover but also care. It comes in 20 shades across the whole skin tone spectrum and I have the shade Fair 120 which is a pale shade with neutral undertone.


It comes in a sqeezy tube with a pump and it has a seethrough stripe on it so you can actually see the true shade. You get 30ml of product. The consistency is quite thick and it looks very full coverage from the minute you pump it out. The great skincare ingredients it contains are niacinamide, hyaluronic acid, peptides and collagen. Basically all skincare ingredients I use on the daily. You get hydration, anti-aging boost and a nice oil-control and brightening. It seems to be a very multitasking product for sure. On the e.l.f. website it says to apply it best with a brush.

The match is not bad but I could've picked up a slightly darker shade. It's very pale so it's nice to see that the range goes both ways and covers a variety of skintones. The texture is thicker than I expected and a little goes a long way. It also has very full coverage just as promised.










 

Wear test

I ended up testing the foundation for two days in a row because I wasn't very convinced with its results.


Day 1

The CC cream is rather thick so I wasn't sure how to approach the application. I started with a foundation brush but after I applied it all over my face I decided to switch to a sponge to really smooth out the surface. And honestly it looked pretty flawless after I did.


I used a cream bronzer to see how the base works with it and there were no problems with the application and no foundation came off. Same with the powder, there were no problems with coverage or patches whatsoever.


List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • e.l.f. Mintmelt Cooling Face Primer

  • e.l.f. Camo CC Cream, shade Fair 120

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Concealer, shade Fair 15W

  • Revolution Eye Bright Powder

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiatto

  • Zoeva Finishing Powder, shade Outstanding

  • NYX Lift & Snatch! Brow Tint Pen, shade Ash Brown

  • Benefit 24-HR Brow Setter

  • By Beauty Bay Eye Base, shade Base 1

  • e.l.f. Bite-size Eyeshadow Palette, shade Mint To Be

  • Morphe x Avani Gregg Palette

  • Catrice Micro Tip Graphic Eyeliner, shade 010 Deep Black

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Ice Breaker

  • Maybelline Colossal Longwear Mascara

  • Marc Jacobs O!Mega Bronze, shade 104 Tan-tastic!

  • By Beauty Bay Powder Blusher, shade Peachy

  • Steph Toms x Ofra Cookies & Cream Highlighter

  • Nikkie Tutorials x Ofra Glazed Donut Highlighter

  • Catrice Shake Fix Glow Spray

  • Catrice Clean ID Hydra Volume Lip Plumper, shade 020 Volume Nude

Wear time 14 hours

It's kind of hard to judge a foundation after so many hours of wear and also when you wear a mask majority of the day. But I'll do my best to tell you what I've observed through the day.


The foundation/CC cream looked pretty damn flawless majority of the day. I applied it at cca 9 AM and until about 4 PM it looked pretty much flawless. I've been eating and wearing the mask and sweating too because it's getting pretty hot these days. But it looked really nice and super smooth.


I arrived at home around 5 PM which meant 1+ hours in a mask during busy public transport hours, basically a suicide. So many people, so hot and so unbreathable. When I arrived home I noticed slight separation in areas where the mask touches my face around my mouth, under my eyes and on my chin the most.


Later in the night when I took this photo around 11 PM it was super bad. My face probably got really dry through the day and the foundation just started disappearing everywhere on my cheeks, chin and even forehead. I really think it's caused by separation that happens to me when my face doesn't have enough moisture. After 14 hours of wearing makeup I am honestly not surprised that much. It was nice while it lasted though and I think I'll have to make another wear test to see how much was this really influenced by the mask and my primer choice.


Day 2

Today I went in with one of my most moisturizing primers and less foundation to see if it changes the outcome in any way. I also couldn't resist cream bronzer + blush because just...summeeer. This time, I went in with a brush again and went over the applied CC cream with a sponge, again. The application was less streaky that the first wear test day but still very streaky.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick

  • Bell Cosmetics Anti-smog Primer

  • e.l.f. Camo CC Cream, shade Fair 120

  • Fenty Beauty Bright Fix Eye Brightener, shade 04 Crepe

  • Essence Stay Natural+ Concealer, shade Ashy Nude

  • Catrice True Skin Mineral Loose Powder, shade Transparent Matte

  • MUA Blushed Liquid Cream Blush, shade Peach Puff

  • By Beauty Bay Powder Blusher, shade Peachy

  • Huda Beauty Tantour, shade Light

  • Essence Soapy Brow Styler

  • KVD Shake Primer

  • e.l.f. Bite-size Eyeshadow Palette, shade Acai You

  • Nabla Ruby Lights Glitter Palette, shade Virgo

  • Bell Cosmetics Pen Eyeliner, shade 01 Black Extreme

  • Catrice Clean ID Full Lash Mascara

  • Revolution x Soph Highlighter Palette

  • Catrice Shake Fix Glow Spray

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Lip Liner, shade Celebrity Skin

  • NYX Shimmer Down Lip Veil, shade Hypernova

Wear time 9 hours

Today I went a little more hydrating with my primer and a little less heavy on the wear time. I feel like 9 hours is plenty of time to see how a foundation wears and works. This time around it looked a lot better and less patchy. There were a couple patches where I've been touching my face a lot but that's not a great surprise. The finish is nice and quite matte but not dry. The primer worked really well and my skin doesn't even feel that dry. It still looks very smooth and all products I applied on top are still going strong and evenly pigmented.


 

Final thoughts

It took me more than 5 wear test days to really determine how I feel about this product. It's very strange in the long periods of time where it really starts to just vanish from your face. I don't know what causes that and it's been tested with many different primers and it always end up the same after 12+ hours.


If you don't go past 12 hours you're probably going to have a great makeup day with all day long flawless smooth complexion and beautiful semi-matte finish. The finish and feel of this product is great as it's very lightweight, has great coverage and looks very nice and natural on the skin. The SPF in it doesn't irritate my skin or my eyes. But once you go too long it just starts to leave in patches and it still doesn't look bad from a distance because the formula is so thin but you can see that there are patches of foundation missing.


The application is a little so-so. It comes on really streaky with a brush and I've tried 6 freshly cleaned brushes and none of them could apply it smoothly enough for me. I always go over it with a sponge and I don't mind the extra work because the finish is worth it. Just with the sponge it works really well too but I prefer the brush for even distribution of product.


I am honestly quite confused with this product and I'm not totally sure what I think about it even now. It's very nice and there's nothing bad to say about it upon application and after less than 12 hours of wear. I am very confused. Below 12 hours of wear it's one of the most beautiful foundations I've ever seen and after 12 hours...it just says bye. Maybe it's just my skin or my skincare/primer technique...I don't know what to blame. But I don't think I've seen this happen to anyone else. But would I recommend it? If it lasts on your skin better than it does on mine, I absolutelly would! It's a bomb product but what it does to me I cannot explain. Maybe I'll figure it out one day.


Have you tried this CC Cream? Let me know in the comments if you had any issues like this and thanks for reading!

2,263 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page