top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

E.L.F. 16H CAMO CONCEALER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

We can finally buy E.L.F. stuff here!!

I went to Douglas the other week and I noticed a whole E.L.F. display in there. One employee told me it's brand new and that they're going to be in almost every single store, which got me really excited. There wasn't everything they have on their e-shop, but fair amount of products I wanted to try were there for me to pick up and take home.


The thing I was most excited about was the 16HR Camo Concealer, which caused a great discussion last year and was very well reviewed by many people. I wanted to get it when I was in Austria, but it was completely sold out. You can imagine how excited I was to take it home this time.


Douglas currently has 12 shades, the shade range isn't the greatest, but there's a good selection of undertones. I would say that the colours go light enough but lack a lot on the other side of the spectrum. Looking at the swatches online, the case here is just not including the last 6 deepest shades in Czech Republic, which I believe is just plain stupid decision. However, the WHOLE shade range is pretty good.


I like the component, it's a very standard concealer packaging with a very big doefoot, which I do like a lot. You get 6ml of product, which is actually pretty good amount looking at my other concealers and it's 169 Crowns, which is actually amazing price. E.L.F. is not an expensive brand in the US, but here, things tend to be a lot more expensive than in the US. So I am very happy, Douglas was able to keep a very reasonable price for the brand as a whole.


The formula is supposed to be very longlasting, not settling into fine lines, oil controlling with a matte finish and also full coverage. I like what I hear, but lately I've been having a struggle with matte concealers because my under-eye area tend to get very textured and dry during the day. So it will be interesting to see how this concealer reacts to my skin at the end of the day.


I picked up the shade Light Sand, because I like more warm toned concealers and I no longer go for super light ones, because I am simply not that pale and it does bring up the blue hue under my eyes more than concealing it. I could've gone for darker shade, but I think this one is a good match overall.


Here are swatches in comparison to other concealers that I own. It's one of the more full coverage ones I own, for sure. It also has a very nice yellow tone to it. So far I think this concealer looks and feels very promising.





 

The application

I usually apply my concealer with the doefoot and blend it out with my sponge. I am not a big fan of using my fingers or brushes for concealers, because I like to get right up to my eye and it's a little dangerous with a brush. You really don't need much of this one, the application is very similar as it's with Tarte Shape Tape. You need just a small amount and it can blend all over your face with great coverage. I really like that.


I don't realy bake, but I do set my concealer with loose powder using a sponge. I feel like I can never properly set it with a powder brush. Sometimes I also go for a powder puff, but not too often these days. I went in with the Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Setting Powder in Fair. I really like this powder, because it's not too matte and drying, so I use it to set my concealer really often. After setting it with loose powder, it didn't look too dry or crusty yet. But that usually happens to me after several hours, so we'll see how it goes.

 

The Wear Test

I applied the concealer around 10am, before I went to work. Don't judge me, I am a programmer and there was literally nobody in the whole office today. So yeah, I did that and went to work with a pretty flawless feeling to be honest.










After 4 hours

I feel like from normal distance everything looks very nice and smooth and covered. The coverage hasn't faded, it didn't budge or dissolve, which is good. Only up close I can see a little bit of grainy texture, which is just something my under-eyes do and I cannot stop it, no matter how many good eye creams I use. But it's certainly not as bad as with other matte concealers that I use.








After 13 hours

I had the makeup on for so long pretty much because I couldn't be bothered to remove it, because I was too busy playing games on my computer. Still, I wanted to test the concealer out, so I just left it on. After 13 hours it's not looking the greatest. My whole face isn't looking too good, but I didn't really try too hard to not touch my face and to not mess it up, so it doesn't look the greatest. I didn't touch the under-eye area at all though, so that part is just how it looks after 13 hours of wearing and living my best Friday stay-at-home life.


It doesn't look the worts, but in bad moody lighting, the lines on my face (which just live there) seem deep set a little more than they are and my under-eyes are also quite deep. Saying that, it's not very visible that much in the picture. You can see a bit of my blue under-eye bags peeking through and the texture or the lines just being there, but we all know that concealer always adapts to your face, no matter how crease-proof it is. This one is no different.


To the texture itself, it's looking quite dry, a little in your face, but any matte concealer I have would make it look 10 times worse for SURE. Considering how light the shade is, the blue hue is barely visible and the coverage is still there, as you can hopefully see from the glamorous picture from my bathroom.

 

The Final Thoughts

So what am I thinking? I've been wearing this concealer for over a month almost and I couldn't get around to reviewing it. It's a very good one and it's in my daily rotation for sure. Would I recommend it for everyone? Probably yes.


Since I have very dry and textured under-eye area and you see how they looked after 13 hours, I think that this could be a very good concealer even with people with very dry skin. I am not too sure about it, better get yourself a review from someone else as well, but I think this one is actually good enough to be at least liked by everyone.


The coverage is great, if you pick the right shade, the lasting ability and coverage sustainability will be very impressive and it's also very cheap, so you're not buying something very expensive that will break your bank. Trying out this concealer is pretty much bulletproof and if you don't like it that much, I bet there will be someone in your life you can give it to, and they could love it!


I really enjoy using it, it never really disappointed me and I think that it's a great product. I'm also really happy we finally have E.L.F. here!


Did you try and like this concealer? Let me know what you think about it in the comments below and thank you very much for reading!


106 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page