top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

DERMACOL | WHITE MAGIC PRIMER | FIRST IMPRESSION | WEAR TEST

I decided to dedicate a separate post to this primer, because it deserves its own spotlight, in my opinion. It's not everyday, that we get a primer that claims to work like botox.


Dermacol came out with their new Longwear Cover foundation, which has its own post here somewhere on the blog, give it a quick search, and also with a brand new primer. I need to try every primer on this planet, to find the best one, so I needed to get this one as well. Also, I like buying foundations with their dedicated primers, because I suppose they will work together very well.


The White Magic primer, which is a very weird name, is a blurring active primer, which is supposed to be lifting, smoothing, pore refining and brightening. That's a lot of work for one primer. According to the Dermacol website, it should immidiatelly reduce fine lines and wrinkles and prevent them. It works similar to botulotoxin thanks to the active ingredients.


I looked at the ingredients, and there's of course some dimethicone, since you're going for smoothing primer, that's a usual ingredient to be found. Also, there's alcohol, which might irritate the skin and also fragrance. Why on Earth, would you make hypoallergenic foundation without fragrance and all kinds of bad stuff and combine it with a primer that has perfume and alcohol in it? I'm very confused. I'm not highly educated in makeup ingredients, it's all just self-study, but still, that's a little weird to me.


Anyway, you get 30ml of product for 299 Crowns, which is not the cheapest, but again, kind on NYX price point, where it won't break the bank but you still give it a thought before buying it. The packaging is exactly the same as the foundation. It's a tube with a pump, we all know how I feel about those. I don't like when they spit air at me and the foundation bits end up on my walls or clothes. That's my biggest problem.


Overall it sounds like a primer, that will give you pretty much plastic surgery without any pain. Applying it on the back of my hand, it has a little bit of the silicone slip to it, but not as much as Maybelline Baby Skin or Dermacol Satin Touch primers. It feels very smooth and not heavy. It smells nice and fresh, like a light lotion or some kind of skincare. I don't mind the smell, but it's not as subtle as I would like it to be. My hand feels very, very smooth and nice. If you like primers with a grip, not sure how this one will do, but we will see, if there's any magic in it, that makes it work really well.

 

Wear test

I decided to go for 2 wear test days. On one day, I want to try it with the Dermacol Longwear Cover foundation, because it's supposed to be a perfect match to it, since they both came out at the same time as a "bundle". Next, I want to try it with one of the foundation I wear on daily basis, to test out if it performs any different to usual.


Day 1

I went for the Dermacol Longwear Cover foundation first to test this combo together. Honestly, it feels very dry when you have both of these on your skin, so I think that the combination might be better for people with oily skin. It's a little tricky to get the right amount of the product because it's quite thick, so it feels like you're not applying too much, but you don't want to overapply, because silicone packed primer tend to ball up on the skin.


Day 2

I went in with this primer, when I did a wear test for the Rimmel 25h Breathable foundation. I just had it on hand and I thought it may be good because the foundation felt a little slippery the first time I wore it. Turned out, that it was actualy a great idea. The primer is not really hydrating by itself, so wearing it with less longlasting and matte products looks like a way to go, at least for me. It think that the foundation lasted really well and I even think that the coverage was a little better, maybe because the surface of my skin was a little smoother? Who knows, but I really like this combo.

 

Final thoughts

First, I wasn't too sure about this primer, because of the texture. However, I feel like with more slippery and hydrating foundations it really makes a difference in the wear time. It's not exactly hydrating, so I don't really enjoy using it with my matte foundations, because my face just dries out throughout the day.


I think the pricepoint is a little high, but it's in Dermacol's standard price range. However, if you really like this primer and you think it could be great for you, I say go get it. Especially people with oily skin may enjoy this primer in my opinion. Maybe with a really heavy moisturizer, this could work for dry skin as well.


My skin looked smoother when using it, it's a little tricky to get the right amount of it, but once you do it looks nice. It didn't ball up or act weird and I could see a difference in my makeup wear, which is a goal with every primer in my opinion.


Have you tried the new Dermacol products? How did you like them? Let me know in the comments bellow and thanks for reading!

245 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page