top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

DERMACOL | LONGWEAR COVER FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSION | WEAR TEST

I think, that almost everyone knows Demacol because of their "most full-coverage foundation", which has been a star of many Youtube reviews and Instagram posts. But now, they launched a new foundation, which sounds very interesting and I just got my hands on it.


You know, I love me a new foundation. This one has been out for a couple weeks and everytime Dermacol launches something new, I am interested. Mostly, because it's a Czech brand and they have expanded around the world in an incredible manner. And also because their store is about 10 minutes of walking from my office, so I like to have my hands on the new hotness as soon as possible.


Dermacol has many foundations to offer, I have tried a couple of them but never really felt wowed by any. This may change as well now. The Dermacol Longwear Cover foundation has been launched together with a primer, the White Magic Blurring Active Primer, which I got as well, because when any brand launches a new foundation together with a primer, I believe that they should work together really well. Now, I'll be doing a full post on the primer itself, because this post would be milion words long, but I will be doing a wear test of this foundation with the primer as well, to see how they work together. Now let's get to the foundation.


It's a hypoallergenic, touchproof, waterproof foundation with matte finish and SPF 15. There are no mineral oils or pefrume in the formula. I love what I see. There are only 4 shades. Shame on you Dermacol. I got the lightest shade, which is called Porcelain. And as porcelain shades tend to be, it's a little too pink for me. It's funny, because in the store it swatched very nice and neutral. Well, beauty lights lie, no surprise. The other shades had very similar undertones, so if you're more on the pink side, you could possibly pick your shade, but if you're paler than me or deeper than light-medium, you probably will run into some problems. They should totally expand the shade range if this foundation is any good.


Anyway, on the website, it says that they're using a brand new technology, which makes the foundation very longwearing, it's supposed to be full coverage and it has jojoba wax in it. Which I've never heard of, which is supposed to melt after contact with your skin, creating protective layer. It also has vitamin E. They also advise to put on just a very thin layer, which should unify the skin and make it even and smooth. I am very curious about this foundation.


The packaging is tube with a pump, I don't like those, because they tend to spit out air and make a mess. I like that the cap sits on the pump very tightly, so it probably won't slip and make a mess in your make up bag. But I would still prefer a different packaging. What is up with these tubes nowadays? You get 30ml of product, which is standard amount and it retails for 399 Crowns. That's not exactly drugstore cheap price, but it's more up the NYX alley, which means that it's not expensive like high-end, it kinda hurts my wallet, but if it's good I can put the money in it.


I haven't read or seen literally any reviews or just comments or experiences of other people. So well, I just had to buy it to create a review on this. It did catch my attention because of the claims for sure. And I like to believe in Dermacol and like supporting czech brands, so let's get to testing.

 

Wear test

As usual, I will be doing a three day wear test. One day I like to use cream base products, just like cream contour, bronzer and blush to see, if the foundation works well with these products and if it wears well thoughtout the day.


Day 1

Today I went for a fully powder base, to test everything out. I feel like I might have overapplied the foundation a little bit, because it was looking a little heavier than I'd like. Also I went in with a sponge and maybe this will be the kind of foundation which need a little lighter hand and a fluffier brush, to really work. Even on the website it said to apply thin layer.

It does have a matte finish, which does take a minute to settle in. I still powdered because it was a little tacky and I don't like that, even though it's supposed to be touch-proof, I don't need to test that on my clothes.

The primer went on fine, it's a little on the dry side but it spreads quite well and does feel nice and smooth on the skin. The smell does fade quickly so it didn't really irritate my skin.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • Dermacol White Magic Primer

  • Dermacol Longwear Cover Foundation, shade Porcelain

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 light neutral

  • Lottie London Ready Set! Go Setting Powder, shade True Translucent

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel Filler Waterproof, shade 020

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • e.l.f. Mad about Matte Eyeshadow Pallete, shade Holly Smokes

  • H&M Peach Life

  • H&M Supernova

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Milk Makeup Kush Mascara, shade Black

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner, shade 900 Deep Onyx

  • Essence Contouring Duo Pallete, shade 10 lighter skin tone

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Essence Daily Diaries Baked Blush

  • Essence Santa Highlighter

  • NYX Slip Tease Full Color Lip Oil, shade 02 Entice

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 14 hours

I'm not looking the best. The face still feels like being heavily coated with foundation, but it's not quite the best looking. I am a little sick, so the area around my nose is just not looking great and overall it has separated a little bit all over my face. I feel like it looks quite dry and maybe with a different primer, it would look a little better.

Also, I think that the layer has to be even thinner, so next time I will probably try to make the application a little lighter with a brush and I won't cake it on with a sponge like I did today. I liked how it looked when I applied it quite a lot, but the lasting ability is questionable so far.




Day 2

Today I applied the foundation with a sponge again but I worked in smaller portions really working in the product to not overapply it. I think it's really easy to go overboard with this one. I did go for a cream contour, which I've been using all the time recently and that blended well. I did use two hydrating primers and my face still looks dry after everything. It doesn't sit well on the sides of my nose but other than that it looks very full coverage and very flawless. I also really like the Joker vibe of this whole look.


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products


  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick, shade Sheer

  • NYX Honey, Dew Me Up Primer

  • Catrice Hydrating Primer & Care Spray

  • Dermacol Longwear Cover Foundation, shade Porcelain

  • Catrice Camouflage High Coverage Concealer, shade 010 Porcelain

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sculpting Wand Contour, shade Light Medium

  • Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder, shade Translucent

  • NYX Sculpt & Highlight Brow Contour, shade Soft Brown / Rosé

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Colourpop Just My Luck Pallete

  • Lottie London AM to PM Kohl Eyeliner Pencil, shade Velvet

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • NYX #NOFILTER Finishing Powder, shade Golden

  • Fenty Beauty Killawatt Freestyle Highlighter, shade Hu$tla Baby

  • Maybelline Lasting Fix Make-Up Setting Spray

  • NYX Suede Matte Lip Liner, shade Acai You

  • NYX Liquid Suede Cream Lipstick, shade Acai You


Wear time 8 hours

I am quite surprised by how the foundation looks after 8 hours. I did a pretty intense workout and didn't stop the whole day. I was sweating, touching my face quite a bit and overall was just quite busy. It looks a little dry and a little too much in my pores, more than I would like. It doesn't look terrible but I feel like my face looks a lot more textured than normal and I can feel it being a little bumpy.








Day 3

Today I decided to apply the foundation with a brush and I tried going a little more heavy on the pore filling and the hydration. Priming takes a lot of thought with this foundation, at least for me. I went in with a cream blush and a cream bronzer to test the application once again. Everything blended beautifully and the foundation applied very even and streakless with the brush. I use the Corazona 124 Foundation Brush, which is probably my favorite foundation brush ever made. Also, the cream base products blended like a dream. Overall, I look very smooth, the pore correction helped a bunch and the whole look it very flawless and glam.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • Bell Cosmetics Pore Correcting Primer

  • NYX Bare with Me Hydrating Jelly Primer

  • Dermacol Longwear Cover Foundation, shade Porcelain

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Magic Star Concealer, shade C3

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer, shade Baked

  • Maybelline dream Matte Blush, shade Coy Coral

  • H&M Superfine Browliner, shade Dark Walnut Brown

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel Filler Waterproof, shade 020

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Colourpop Just My Luck Pallete

  • Bell Cosmetics Long Wear Eye Liner, shade 03

  • Catrice Brush Ink Tattoo Liner, shade 010 Black Waterproof

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 medium cool

  • Lottie London Strobe Stix Cream Highlighter, shade Starstruck

  • Maybelline Lasting Fix Make-up Setting Spray

  • Catrice Dewy-ful Lips Conditioning Lip Butter, shade 040 DEW you care?


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 11 hours

I think that it doesn't look bad. It's presentable but it's a little oily and disrupted around my while face. I still don't know how I feel about this foundation. I feel like for a limited amount of time it looks really flawless and beautiful and then, you turn into a literal cake. I don't know, this just doesn't seem to be the best foundation formula match for me.

Also, don't worry about these gigantic lashes, I was trying out new magnetic lashes from Amazon.





 

Final thoughts

I have very mixed feelings about this foundation and overall, I think it's not for me. I also believe, that there are many people out there who would enjoy it a appreciate it. Let's start with the positives. It blends very well, the coverage is really insanely good, the price is so-so, the longevity of it is pretty great if you don't touch your face at all. If you have oily skin, this is a great foundation for you. It's also very smooth and flawless. A little bit goes a very long way and the application is nice no matter what tool you use.


Now the negatives, it looks like makeup, it looks heavy. If you touch your face a lot it might survive but it might also move and when it moves it cannot be undone. It's not easy to touch up. It also looks really dry, gets into pores after couple hours if you have large pores. If you use lipbalm too far out of the lines, it will mess the foundation for sure.


I am very on the fence. It's not a bad foundation at all, just for me personally it's a little too heavy and the priming is essential for my skin type so that's a little too much work for me to be honest. However, if I was to go to a event and I wanted to look really flawless and smooth, I feel like this foundation would be an option to stay flawless for some time. I love the coverage, I'm not too stoked about the finish, I don't like how heavy it looks, but I like how smooth and flawless it makes me look. So overall, I like it as a product, I would recommend it if you like what you're reading and you think this would be good for you. But I wouldn't recommend if you're into lighter coverage and lightweight formulas. I also feel like there are much lighter formulas that last even longer, so I'm really not that excited about this product.


Have you tried this foundation? Let me know your thoughts about it in the comments, I'd love to hear them and thanks for reading!

299 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page