top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

DERMACOL | COCO SPLASH MAKE-UP BASE | REVIEW

Dermacol doesn't launch new stuff very frequently but when they do, I am usually tempted to try it. This time, it was a primer and we all know, I am tempted to try all primers in the whole world.


Dermacol makes a satin primer, which is an OG for everyone in Czechia and is very silicone-packed sliding type of primer. Everybody used that stuff and to be honest, I hate such primers now. This one though is something totally new.


The Dermacol Coco Splash Make-Up Base is a new primer formula which is supposed to be refreshing and hydrating. It's also vegan and it contains coconut water. Looking at the ingredients, they did a good job and it doesn't contain any silicones and contains some very nice skin loving ingredients. It also contains vitamin B3 and BIOPHYTEX.


I know that coconut oil clogs pores, but hopefully coconut water doesn't. I haven't heard anybody say that their skin is irritated by coconut water, so let's hope this primer is going to be great. You get 20ml for 299 Crowns. It's in a similar price range to their other primers but still a little up there considering the amount of product you get. It comes in a glass bottle with a pump and a lid, so it's not too messy.

I really enjoy the bright pink color of it to be honest. The consistency is almost like a jelly. It glides on nicely and it smells quite strong. A little like a coconut and a little like some sweets. It's not scentless for sure and there is fragrance in the ingredients as well. It does make your face feel a little tacky and it reminds me a little bit on Milk Hydro Grip, even though this one certainly doesn't grip as hard. I would say that my face feels quite hydrated after using it for sure. But since it's a thick jelly, you have to use a couple pumps to really cover the whole face.

 

Wear test

Start of the wear test
Start of the wear test

To test this primer, I decided to apply it on just one half of my face and go in with a more matte foundation to see if it really hydrates the skin. I usually get very dry throughout the day when I wear matte foundations, so let's see if this primer keeps my face looking healthy and not dry like a cracker. To comparison, I won't use anything other than my skincare products finished of by a moisturizer, that will be applied to both sides.


I decided to use my Flormar Mattifying BB Cream, because I know for a fact, that this does dry me out if I don't prime well. I applied the primer on the left side of my face and to be honest, right after the application I don't see a difference. My skin feels a little more hydrated but still looks the same. I applied about a pump and a half on the one half of my face. And the primer feels a little sticky on the hand, but on the face, it turns into a really gripping glue-y texture. It still feels hydrating but it also feels quite tacky in a good way. I decided to use powder products for the look to really make my face as dry as possible.


End of the wear test
End of the wear test

Wear time 9.5 hours

Let's compare the sides. I don't think there's enough difference to translate to the pictures, but there is a slight difference in the sides. The primed side looks a little less textured and the foundation on that side is separating in a different way. I wiped my nose a couple times today and on the non-primed side, the line between the foundation and my skin is a lot more harsh and looks drier. Also my pores look a little more sunk in. And overall, the primer side looks a little bit better and smoother, even the bronzer looks more natural and less patchy.


The difference isn't drastic, I really have to pay close attention to find any differences at all. If you saw me in person, you probably wouldn't notice much. But in a close-up mirror, I can see a tiny difference but mostly, the feeling on the face is a little different for each side. Like I had a thin veil on the primed side which doesn't make me as aware of the makeup. I would say the primed side looks slightly better and feels better too.

Did it save me from total drying out? No, but the primer side looks and feels less dry to me, so I would say it does work.

 

Final thoughts

I am still on the edge with this primer, because I do like it. I enjoy the gripping texture and the smell and the overall feeling of it on the skin. I'm also not sure it's hydrating enough if you have very dry skin. It's not like a moisturizer, it's more like a thick jelly which doesn't moisturize but keeps your skin locked with the moisture it already has, or at least that's how it feels to me.


For me personally, it feels like a great everyday primer, it feels nice on the skin, I love that it's so tacky, the smell is pleasant and it feels like quite a thick gel so my skin really feels well primed with this product. The price is a little up there in my opinion, at least for a drugstore brand. But on the other hand I feel like this primer is a good quality primer and if you want something more hydrating and will get sticky and grip that foundation, I would recommend it.


Have you tried any of Dermacol primers? Let me know your favorites and thanks for reading!

292 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page