top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

COLOURPOP | PRETTY FRESH TINTED MOISTURIZER AND HYALURONIC CREAMY CONCEALER | REVIEW

Am I a little late to the party over here? Maybe, but I just need to share how I feel about these products with you.


Colourpop launched their Pretty Fresh collection including all to good stuff with hyaluronic acid last year and I just couldn't resist. There's a tinted moisturizer and a full coverage hydrating concealer in the collection, those I have, and also a primer and a setting spray, which I didn't purchase, because my card was already fuller than my bank account.


The whole collection is tied to showing more skin, lighter coverage and more natural finish. I'm all about that these days and for everyday look, it's a lot less work for a lot more natural finish.




Pretty Fresh Tinted Moisturizer

The tinted moisturizer comes in 24 shades, which is very decent for a sheer coverage product. On the website it says, that it's supposed to have skin-perfecting lightweight coverage for fresh and healthy looking skin.


It comes in a plastic tube with a pump and there's 43ml of product, which is a very decent amount. However, I assume you probably use a bit more of the product when it's light coverage, because you want to build it sometimes.


The price is 14 dollars, which is a low pricepoint typical to Colourpop, which I love and support with all my heart. For the amount you get it's a really nice price. I got mine in the shade Light 6W, which has warm undertone. However, the shade matching is a nightmare. Find yourself someone online who has similar skintone to yours if you want to try this, because the matching is just impossible. I somehow after long disscussions ended up getting the shade Light 6W, which looked fine, and I can make it work. But I already ordered a lighter backup, because it's not exactly my winter shade.


Here it's swatched with some of my other foundations, it's pretty dark in comparison. It's very dewy and healthy looking product but it's also lightweight and doesn't feel sticky or balmy on the face. I have used it for a couple months now because I ordered it to speed up my makeup routine when I was finishing my master's thesis. And it was a great step to do.


It goes on fast, flawless and the coverage is beautiful. If you have skin similar to mine, it will just make you look more even and healthy. It's just really a beautiful product. It works well with powder as well and I really enjoy the finish of it.


Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Creamy Concealer

This concealer is also a hydrating formula, which promises full coverage. It comes in 30 shades. The shade range looks very nice and balanced. You get 6.5g for 9 dollars, which feels like a good price for a good concealer. According to the website it should be creamy, cushiony concealer with full coverage and a fresh, natural finish that lasts all day. Super blendable and loaded with skin-loving hyaluronic acid (aka HA) and coconut water. Oil free, dermatologist tested, and ideal for all skin types. That sounds like a dream.


The shade matching is again a little tricky. The undertones were a little confusing, I don't really see a truly neutral shade that would work for me, so I went into the more warm tones, which are great at canceling blue hue under the eyes. I ended up picking up the shade Light 45W, because I felt like it might work well and it matched nicely with the tinted moisturizer I picked up.


It's very creamy and opaque and it blends like a dream. I do set my concealer with powder and it works very well with this one, even though it's a hydrating formula. It's very full coverage and it works together with the tinted moisturizer very well compensating the neccessary coverage that you need to add sometimes.


It is slightly darker than my other concealer I use on the regular basis. However, I can still make it work as long as I blend it correctly.





 

Wear test

For the wear test, I tested both products at the same time. As I said, I've had these products for quite a while, so I know how they perform and I tried them with different products as well.


Also, this wear test is a little different to the other ones I did on this platform. I usually do a three days worth of wear with every product. Now I have to be sitting at home because it's not safe to wander outside and I'm working from home. Therefore, I did this one a little differently.

Tinted moisturizer and concealer applied on the left side
Tinted moisturizer and concealer applied on the left side

I decided to apply the products on top of a simple moisturizing primer, that I know and love to use. I used sponge for the application, but I've used brushes as well for both of these products and they work great as well. The sponge is just the quickest for me personally. Boh the concealer and the tinted moisturizer apply nicely and blend very well.


Here's a side by side comparison with the tinted moisturizer and the concealer applied on the left half of my face. You can tell it's looking more glowy, healthy and even. I applied just a little bit of the concealer to my undereyes and a bit on my nose, chin and forehead. Both of these products are very hydrating and dewy but don't feel slippery.


I tend to set my whole face and this tinted moisturizer can get a little tacky when not set. I set my undereyes with a loose powder and the rest of my face with a pressed powder using a big fluffy brush. I don't like to overapply powder with this base product, since I like the glowy healthy look.


Tinted moisturizer and concealer powdered
Tinted moisturizer and concealer powdered

I also tried some creams on top of the tinted moisturizer. The cream contour wand I went for is very nice and blend easily, and it worked very well on top of my base makeup. I applied it before the powder. I also went for a cream highlighter, which I applied over powder, because I know this one performs very well on any base and it dries down.


The overall look is very simple, as I said, I'm just working at home for a bit and maybe doing some cleaning and some excersise. Classical emergency state activities in this country. Let's see how it wears.




The finished look
The finished look

List of used products

  • RL de Young Fresh & Dewy Primer

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Tinted Moisturizer, shade Light 6W

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Creamy Hyaluronic Concealer, shade Light 45W

  • Lottie London Ready. Set. GO! Setting Powder, shade True Translucent

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sculpting Wand Contour, shade Light Medium

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sculpting Wand Highlight, shade Universal

  • Catrice 5 in one Setting Powder, shade 010 Transparent

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil, shade 2

  • NYX Control Freak Brow Gel, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Revolution Newtrals II Pallete

  • e.l.f. No Budge Shadow Stick, shade Bronze Metal

  • RL de Young Korean Trends Gel Eyeliner, shade 01 Black

  • Maybelline Falsies Lashlift Mascara, shade 01 Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • 183days Finish Touch Blush, shade 010

  • Catrice Sheer Beautifying Lip Balm, shade 040 Water-melonade

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


Wear time 6 hours

I'm having some bad allergic reactions, since the spring is comming, so I didn't last as long as I wanted. The tinted moisturizer is rubbed off my chin and part of my face, because I was constantly getting runny nose today. So annoying. A good thing about light coverage products is that even when you rub of a patch, it's not as visible as it would be on a full coverage foundation. I touch my face a lot and I have allergies and I'm sick all the time, so this is a property that I value a lot.


Other than that, the undereye doesn't look dry or patchy, the rest of the face looks like I just applied it. All the cream products stayed in place and look as flawless as before. Overall, I think this is a somewhat good representation of how these products wear. I wore both of these in much more extreme conditions and for a much longer periods of time. But I really felt like doing a post, so you'll have to take my word for it.

 

Final thoughts

I absolutelly love these products. I just couldn't stop wearing them when I got them in the mail and I already ordered colours that will match me a little better. There's something about the skin-like hydrating formula that absolutelly won my heart over. Both of these work so well with any powder and look beautiful built up or just in a light layer. They work well with any cream or liquid on top, it's just universally great couple of products, which I love to use every single day.


The Pretty Fresh Concealer is probably the best concealer I've ever tried. Hands down, it's just incredible and the coverage is unreal. Even on no-makeup makeup day, this concealer will do you justice if you just apply it on problem areas, it will save you time and make you look flawless all day.


I truly fell in love with both of these and with my normal skintype I can only recommend these to anyone with skin similar to mine or dryer, I think you'll love these. I'm not sure about oily skin, however, I think these products are formulated well and last very well on me. Therefore, I think they could work for oily skin as well.


Did you try anything from the Pretty Fresh collection? If you liked it, let me know in the comments bellow and thank you for reading!

399 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page