top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

COLOURPOP | PRETTY FRESH PRIMER + SETTING MIST | REVIEW


You may or may not know that the Pretty Fresh range from Colourpop is probably my favorite complexion range ever created. Their tinted moisturizer is in my top 3 base products as well as the concealer. And I finally bought the rest of the range!


Since the first launch the Pretty Fresh Hydrating Hyaluronic Acid Primer and the Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Acid Setting Mist have been around but always sold out! I finally managed to get both on sale before Christmas and I am so stoked about it. My skin is now dryer than ever and I am hyped up to try these.



Now, the Pretty Fresh Hydrating Primer is a silicone-free primer for all skintypes that contains hyaluronic acid and coconut water. It's a lightweight formula that hydrates, refreshes the skin and preps it for makeup application. It comes in a plastic bottle with a pump and you get 30ml for $12.


The Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Acid Setting Mist is a micro-fine refreshing mist that hydrates the skin. It's oil-free and for all skintypes as well. It contains the same ingredients, hyaluronic acid and coconut water. You get 110ml of product for $12 and it comes in a plastic bottle with a spray. It does smell of coconuts quite a lot. The mist is very fine, I really like it.


Both products have a peachy tint to them and claim to be for every skin type, however I feel like dry skin will benefit from this range the most. They are both vegan and cruelty-free. If you're scared of the coconut in the products, it's not oil but coconut water so it shouldn't cause clogged pores or the same effects as coconut oil might do to your skin.




 

First impressions

I first used the primer just under a bit of concealer for a super quick grocery shopping look. I was surprised how dewy the primer made my skin look. I was looking proper wet like I literally just stopped diving into the pool. Not greasy but very, very dewy. I used powder all over my face so it got a little more subtle but still very glowy and dewy.


The setting spray had a very similar effect. I drenched my face in it after applying the primer and rest of my face and I looked like my skin has never seen a grain of powder in its lifetime. Honestly, incredibly dewy and hydrated and skin-like look.


I cannot decide if I actually really like the effect these give or if it's a little much for me and I'll need to figure out how to use these and what should I use with them.

 

Wear test

It's hard to wear test a primer but I thought I might give it a shot. The setting spray is not really something I wear test at all so I'm not sure about that one either. But here we go, I'm gonna do it anyway. I picked a foundation that usually separates on me and gets too dry and matte through the day so we can see how it works with the primer and setting spray. What I mostly want from this primer and setting mist is to provide hydration when I wear matte products so they last better and my skin doesn't become as dry as usual. I use hydrating primers all the time so I am curious to see how the foundation works with these products.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Hydrating Hyaluronic Acid Primer

  • Catrice True Skin Foundation, shade 004 Neutral Porcelain

  • Catrice True Skin Concealer, shade 002 Neutral Ivory

  • e.l.f. Smooth & Set Eye Powder

  • Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder, shade Translucent

  • Nudestix Eyebrow Stylus Pencil & Gel, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Benefit High Brow

  • H&M Eye Fidelity Primer

  • ABH Norvina Mini Pro Pigment Palette Vol. 2

  • ABH Norvina Electric Cake Liner, shade Electric Yellow

  • Essence Easy Brush Liner

  • L'Oreal Air Volume Mega Mascara, shade Black

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Extra Frosting

  • By BeautyBay Powder Bronzer, shade Fawn

  • By BeautyBay Powder Blusher, shade Peachy

  • By BeautyBay Powder Highlighter, shade Beam

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Acid Setting Mist

  • Huda Beauty Lip Contour, shade Venus

  • Fenty Beauty Gloss Bomb Cream, shade Fenty Glow


Wear time 9 hours

I would say that my foundation doesn't look great but I picked this one because it's not my favorite in terms of dryness and separation after longer weartime. I would say that my skin looks less dehydrated compared to other times I've used this foundation. I usually use hydrating primers with it but this one really gives you that wet and moisturized look and feel which is not really what every primer does. It looks like a little too much but everything applies really well on top.


Another thing is the powder. Forget the foundation, which is matte but can kinda work for me, the powder is the worst evil here! The Coty Airspun powder is really, REALLY matte on my skin and it just dries me out instantly. Considering that and how I looked once I got home from work it's almost a miracle that my skin didn't look lika a Sahara. It still had that skin-like sheen to it like when the makeup kind of warms up to you body. That literally never happened to me with this powder on top of a matte foundation.


The setting spray properly drenched my face in hydration in the morning and I was a little worried that my makeup is going to be a little weird under all that hydration. But I guess it could've helped with the powder being less drying as well. I struggle a lot with my loose powders being too dry so I cannot wait to spray them all down with this setting mist to get that skin-like finish back.

 

Final thoughts

I honestly didn't expect this much of an effect on my skin when wearing these. But they really impressed me with how they kept my super-matte look together for 9 hours without making me look like I just smeared random foundation patches on my face.


I really like the texture of the primer and the smell. It makes you feel hydrated and dewy and makeup goes very nice on top. The setting mist is amazing, one of the best mists texture-wise that I've ever used. It's really fine and smells nice but quite strong of coconut. I really like both of these products and I am impressed with the level of hydration they gave my skin. I would absolutelly recommend if you have dry to normal skin or if you're just looking for more hydrating products to add to your routine. It's currently winter here and products like these really help me battle with the dry air and heating everywhere.

Have you tried any Colourpop complexion products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


482 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page