top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

COLOURPOP | PRETTY FRESH HYALURONIC HYDRATING FOUNDATION | REVIEW

The Colourpop's Pretty Fresh line has been the reason I started ordering stuff from Colourpop altogether. Their newest addition is a new foundation and I am excited to give it a shot since the tinted moisturizer is my jam and I have a backup at all times.


The Colourpop Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Hydrating Foundation is a skin-perfecting, buildable, medium coverage foundation for all skin types. It hydrates the skin as it contains hyaluronic acid and coconut water. It comes in 42 shades and it has a very good shade range. It retails for $16.


The is nice and simplepackaging , it's plastic bottle with a pump. It's the same bottle as the Pretty Fresh primer has as well. You get 30ml of product which is an expected amount and the price is also not bad. I have the shade Fair 25W and I was surprised how neutral it looks. I was expecting a lot more yellow in it but in the bottle it almost looks grey. On the skin it looked perfectly fine and it's actually a really good match.


I like that it has natural finish so it's not as dewy as the tinted moisturizer from the same range. I love that one but it's sometimes a little too dewy for me. This seems like a perfect substitute for it when I want less glow and more coverage. I also really like the concealer from the Pretty Fresh line and I have no doubts that it will work with this foundation well. I could really use a hydrating powder now that I think about it...maybe one day.


The consistency seems very thin, not too liquidy but also lightweight. Coverage seemed decent when I swatched it and it seems to be very smooth and evenly pigmented. It also spreads out like water, I really like when foundations have thin formula and even pigmentation no matter how much you spread them out. My hopes are really high.

 

Weat test

I applied the foundation over my trusty primers because I didn't want to try any new ones for the wear test. I applied it with my fuzzy sponge from Juno & co. and I used about 1.25 pumps. One was enough to cover my face, the little extra dab was for my forehead which needed a little more help today.


I used cream bronzer as I usually do when I wear test (and everyday anyway) to see how it blends on top. It worked really well and no foundation came off as I was blending it. I usually set my whole face with powder which is what I did today as well and overall I think the foundation look incredible. It's super lightweight and it has higher coverage than I expected. It's less dewy than the Pretty Fresh Tinted Moisturizer and looks more flawless and glam but also very skinlike. I really like it.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick Primer

  • Ľoréal Paris Inffalible Magic Essence Drops

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Hydrating Foundation, shade Fair 25W

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Concealer, shade Fair ???

  • Marc Jasobc Finish Line Perfecting Coconut Setting Powder, shade Invisible

  • SOL Body Face & Body Bronzing Balm, shade Fair

  • Catrice Glow Illusion Loose Powder, shade Translucent Radiance

  • Maxfactor Real Brow Fiber Pencil, shade

  • Maybelline Brow Fast Sculpt Gel, shade Clear

  • Urban Decay Primer Potion Original

  • Rude Cosmetics Roaring 20's Reckless Pallete

  • By Beauty Bay Liquid Crystal Eyeshadow, shade Pyrite

  • Rival Loves Me Never Seen Before Mascara

  • Maybelline Hyper Easy Brush Tip Liner, shade Black

  • Colourpop Pressed Powder Blush, shade Lunar Has It

  • W7 Very Vegan Highlighting Powder, shade Nature's Glow

  • Barry M All Night Long Setting Spray

  • Pat McGrath LUST Lip Gloss, shade Flesh 4


Wear time 12 hours

I did not expect to be coming home this late but it's currently 10 p.m. and I've had this makeup on my face for 12 hours. It's been a while and it's been snowing right in my face and I did a couple walks, for my lunch and for some groceries from the office and then for a little drugstore haul. It's been a busy day and I am sweating like crazy all the time in my new winter jacket. Today I amped it up and wore a turtleneck sweatshirt as well. I must say though that I look great.


If you don't bust out the zooming mirrors and ringlights you might thing I finished my makeup just a couple hours ago. That's how good it looks. I have stuffy nose all the time so some of the foundation around my nose is gone and it's my fault. Same thing under my glasses where it just cannot possibly stay. My forehead it starting to look a little shiny and between my brows we have very minor separation due to my face expressions. I've been talking to a lot of people today and did some heavy brainstorming as well.


Other than that my face looks really nice and smooth and it's not dry anywhere. There's no other separation happening anywhere and the colormatch is still pretty great so I believe the foundation didn't oxidise either. Wow I really like this. It also doesn't feel heavy or disgusting on the face after so many hours. I don't feel like there's anything on my skin really. I am very surprised how well this foundation lasted.

 

Final thoughts

I had high expectations from the start since I've been loving products from the Pretty Fresh range for so long. This foundation is a great addition to the range I really like the formula.


I was surprised that it's not as dewy as the tinted moisturizer and it gives you more of a natural skin-like radiant finish. The coverage is really nice, it's medium in a very light layer and you can build it up without making it look cakey. It feels like nothing on the skin and it hydrates well, there was barely any separation on my face when I used it and my skin really felt great. Everytime I wear it I don't have that awful dry feeling of old makeup at the end of the day. It's lasting power is also really good. I honestly feel like it's becoming a staple in my collection.


I would recommend it to pretty much anyone. I think it's possible that it's going to suit you even if you have oily skin because the hydration is very important for you as well and the foundation is not slippery or oily. I used it with a powder multiple times and it worked really well so if you're looking for some very lightweight hydrating foundation with very decent coverage...I think this is one of the best ones on the market right now.


Have you tried anything from the Pretty Fresh range? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

841 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page