top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

COLOURPOP | MINT TO BE PALLETE | REVIEW | 5 LOOKS

We all know how well Colourpop does their 9-pan palletes and look at that...there's a new green one!


The Colourpop Mint To Be Pallete is the minty green dream I was born to live. I love mint, absolutelly love it so I just had to get the pallete at some point. As I said, there are 9 eyeshadows and it retails for $12 just like the other palletes. It comes in a mint plastic packaging and it has a very nice mirror.


There are 9 shades, 4 mattes, 1 matte with tiny glitters and 4 metallic shimmers. There shades are





  • Get Fresh - matte light mint

  • Mintea - metallic mint with gold reflect

  • Play It Cool - duochrome pale mint metallic

  • Seltzer - blue toned mint matte with tiny glitters

  • Mojito Mami - mint shimmer

  • De Menthe - medium muted mint matte

  • Ice Cold - teal mint matte

  • Freshman - medium mint shimmer with warm reflect

  • Chill Factor - dark mint (grey toned) matte

I really like the shade selection in this pallete to be honest. I really couldn't think of 9 shades related to mint colour because it's just a very precisely defined pastel shade. But Colourpop did a great job at creating different variations on the colour mint. It doesn't look like it in the pan but the shimmers are very similar. Especially the ones in the middle column. I feel like they could've done a little more variety when it comes to the shimmers but the mattes are great.


They are similar to other Colourpop eyeshadows I have so the quality is really good for a very nice price. The shimmers apply well with both brushes and a finger which I love about the Colourpop metallic shades. The mattes are really smooth and blend like a dream. They have a very nice and smooth matte formula but they're not overly pigmented so they're easy to work with.


I really like these 9-pan monochromatic palletes because you really get everything you need in one pallete if you're missing a specific colour or tone in your collection. I don't have many greens in my collection so I picked up this pallete and the Just My Luck pallete and my collection is set.

 

Look 1

For this look I just went with it because there are so many beautiful shimmers in the pallete that I just wanted to use them all.


I started to build the structure of the look with Chill Factor. I created somewhat a winged shape with a deep outer corner and blended it a little bit in my crease, about half way. Then I started packing on the shimmers. First I started with Freshman closer to the outer half of my lid, then continued with Mintea in the middle and Mojito Mami on the inner part of the lid. On the bottom I just used a black pencil near the outer corner and buffed it out with Chill Factor.


Look 2

I went for something quick, soft and easy because I was in a hurry but I love how the greens always pack a punch.


I started with a white eyeshadow primer and blended De Menthe all over the outer half of my lid and my crease. I really focused the color there to get maximum pigment. Then I took Get Fresh and repeated pretty much the same thing on the inner 1/3 of my lid. That left me with a little gap between which got filled with Mintea on a flat packing brush. I dragged it from lashline all the way up almost to the brows to split the two mattes. Then I adjusted the matte edges a little bit around that shimmer to the transition isn't too hard. With a thin liner brush I took Chill Factor and smoked my upper lashline a little bit. I didn't want to do a harsh black winged liner so I just smudged a little bit of this dark grey/green. On the bottom lasline I put some grey liner just on the outer corners and smoked it out with De Menthe. Then I took Play It Cool and placed it in my inner corners instead of a highlighter.


Look 3

I just felt like doing a halo eye so I actually did a proper halo eye for once. I do them very often but not always the right way and they come out kind of wrong and not as structured as I'd like. So here's a good one for the reference that I can actually do it!


I left the very center of my lid open and framed it with Chill Factor. Once I packed it on all the way from the lashline to above the crease I continued with Ice Cold. I placed it very strategically alongside the Chill Factor shade to crease a nice gradient and I slightly blended the edges. Then I took Seltzer, which it way more blue than I expect everytime I use it, and placed it in the very inner and very outer part of the look. Once there was barely anything on my brush I started to diffuse the top edge. Once I liked the blend I took Freshman on a very precise flat brush and dragged the shimmer across that whole bare stripe we left out in the beginning. I slightly patted its edges so it blends well with the mattes but doesn't cover them. On the bottom I used a gray gel liner in my waterline and buffed it out with all the matte shades used on top. I tried to mirror the structure but at the very center I just used Chill Factor instead of the shimmer shade. I added some mascara and that's the look.

Look 4

You just gotta do a smokey eye, right? Even though Chill Factor isn't really dark enough, I tried my best.


I started with Chill Factor all over my lid and slightly to my crease. I packed it on with a flat brush. Then I took larger blending brush and blended out its edges with Chill Factor and then De Menthe. To add another color to the gradient I took Get Fresh and blended it out even higher. I went for more round shape and didn't wing out the look. I put a dark grey pencil in my waterline and buffed it out with Chill Factor and then with De Menthe. I also put the same pencil along my upper lashline and buffed it out with Chill Factor to make the lashline slightly deeper. As the finishing touch I took Play It Cool and placed in my inner corners instead of a highlighter.


Look 5

Last look just had to be something a little extra and you can tell that I didn't really go anywhere with this look on. But I like it and it's bold and it's very mint.


I started with Ice Cold in my crease and also closer to my nose. I wanted this to be the darked crease color so I structured the whole look with it. I made sure that I extended the winged shape as far as I could. Then I took Seltzer and blende above the first shade very lightly just to diffuse the edges. Then I took white eyeshadow base on a small flat brush and I cut the whole crease and painted it on my lid. I set the base with Mojito Mami with which I continued the winged outside shape. Then I painted on a winged liner and added a little big of black gel pencil to my water line but just the outer 1/3. On the rest of the waterline I used pastel mint pencil and smoked it all out with Ice Cold and Seltzer.

 

Final thoughts

So did this minty goodness fulfill my expectations? Absolutelly! The price is great, the mints are minty and these eyeshadows are just a pleasure to work with. They also last all day without any problems or excessive fallout.


I could use a little more variety in the shimmer section but overall I love how much you can achieve with this pallete and I love to have it in my collection because I love me some greens. The mattes are really well distributed in tones and depths so you can really structure the look and shimmers are good quality but pretty similar to each other. Just the lightest one is very different because it's a stunning duochrome. The other three are pretty similar but still very pretty.


Have you tried any of the Colourpop 9-pan palletes? Let me know your favorites in the comments and thanks for reading!

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page