top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

CATRICE | TRUE SKIN CONCEALER | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Do we trust Catrice with all base products now? I know I kind of want to because they've been killing it with foundations and concealers for so long now. And guess what? True Skin collection has a new addition!


The Catrice True Skin High Cover Concealer is a matching concealer to the True Skin foundation I reviewed quite recently. It contains hyaluronic acid, it's waterproof and it promises 18h hydration. According to the description on its packaging it's supposed to be comfortable, high coverage and longlasting. It shouldn't settle into fine lines and it provides a soft matte fresh complexion. It retails for 109 Crowns and I bought it on xobeauty.cz because it's not in the drugstores yet. It's also a vegan product.


There are 4 shades on Catrice website so I assume that the shade range is as bad as usual. It's such a shame that Catrice usually launches such good products with such bad shade range. I have the shade 005 Warm Macadamia which has a warm undertone and I would say it's for light skin. If you're very pale, this will be too dakr for you. It's not really a highlighting shade for me either but I can just about make it work. Sadly the lightest shade was sold out.


It comes in a plastic seethrough tube and a white lid. I really like the wand because it's drop shaped which makes it really easy to get everywhere you need. It's also very VERY flexible so it's easy to spread the product out. The wand also seems to carry quite a lot of product.


The concealer has a little bit of a scent to it and it's similar to the foundation as well. But I think that every Catrice base product I ever had was scented. It's not too strong or unpleasant just if your skin is sensitive to fragrance this might be an issue.


The concealer feels lightweight and looks like a medium-high coverage. It doesn't seem thick or heavy at all and it has a similar formula to the Magic Star Concealer a little bit with just a little less coverage and little more matte finish. As you can see on the comparison photo is does cover pretty well. The darkness under my eyes is pretty much gone and it's a nice shade to just wear on its own.

 

Wear test 30.11.

I wanted to try the concealer with the foundation it's supposed to be friends with. So here's a little showdown of the Catrice True Skin line. I applied both the foundation and the concealer with a domed Gabriella Salvete Make-up Brush which I really liked recently.


Everything blended in so smoothly and I really like the finish of both when I don't powder but I'm not really confident enought to go out with my face not powdered as it would just slip around and I touch my face a lot.


The shade is pretty nice but I could've gone with a little lighter one although I know that shade 002 was sold out. So I assume that was the perfect highlighting shade for me. But this one works too, it's just a little too close to the foundation shade.


I also used it with my Maxfactor gel bronzer and everything worked so well. The coverage didn't get blended away and overall it was quite a flawless base day at the start.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick

  • NYX Bare with Me Hemp Daily Moisturizing Primer

  • Catrice True Skin Hydrating Foundation, shade 004 Neutral Porcelain

  • Catrice True Skin High Cover Concealer, shade 005 Warm Macadamia

  • KVD Vegan Beauty Lock It Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • Maxfactor Miracle Sheer Gel Bronzer, shade 005 Light Bronze

  • Rude Cosmetics Teeny Weeny Micro Brow Pencil, shade Taupe

  • H&M Brow Shaping Gel, shade Clear

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Made By Mitchell Feet On The Ground Pallete

  • Maybelline Color Strike Cream to Powder Eye Shadow Pen, shade 30 Spark

  • Trend It Up Pure Nude Baked Eye Shadow, shade 020

  • L'Oreal Lash Paradise Mascara, shade Intense Black

  • Bell Cosmetics Long Wear Eye Pencil, shade 06

  • Pretty Vulgar Shimmering Swan Highlighter, shade Glow Up

  • Essence Blushlighter Gradient Powder Blush, shade 04 Peachy Dawn

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • H&M Lip Shine, shade Candied Petals

Wear time 12.5 hours

If you check out my review of the Catrice True Skin Foundation you will see that I had a problem with it being a little too dry. It is a matte foundation and through the day it just gets more and more dry on me. Especially now when my skin is a little more normal-dry than usual. The concealer has very similar properties. That makes me think that they are formulated to work together well and I love the concealer's formula. It blends lovely especially into the foundation and it looked really nice once I applied the makeup. However after couple hours it started getting drier and drier.


To be fair I did use the KVD Vegan Beauty powder under my eyes and it's pretty matte one as well as the Fenty one I've used on the rest of my face. But I did moisturize quite heavily today and I also used setting spray and I sprayed my face with my spritzer at work a couple times... so I honestly don't know. I think the formula might be a little matte for me but it's not the most matte concealer I own for sure. And I quite like how it looks because it looks very smooth and covers really well.

 

Final thoughts

There are many things to like about this concealer. It has amazing pricepoint, it blends really well, the texture is really nice, it's very lightweight. It's not overly matte but it has that soft satin finish but I plays well with powder. I really like the applicator and the coverage is medium-full and it actually lasts through hours of wear. Nothing bugs me more then when I come home and the concealer just looks like it isn't there anymore.


There are also a few downsides to this product, the biggest one being the shade range. Even my pale self can probably get away with two shades and the one I have is a little too dark to really be a good highlighting shade. The shade range is really bad just as bad as the foundation's. So probability of you getting a good match is high if you're light to medium skintone. If you're too pale, the lightest shade might work for you but I'm not sure because I haven't seen it. If you deeper skintone this range is just not going to work for you.


I really feel like drugstore brands started to be more inclusive and even Essence, one of the cheapest brands, comes out with a decent shade range these days. So it's really a shame that a brand like Catrice known for their foundations and concealers just doesn't care enough to put out more shades so everyone can enjoy some good affordable makeup.


Overall though I would recommend this product as I feel that its quality is very high. If you have very dry skin you probably won't have to powder it at all as it kind of sets itself to some extend. And it you have oily skin you will appreciate that it's a semi-matte formula that doesn't slide around and can be set with powder.


Have you tried the new True Skin collection? Let me know in the comments how do you like the products and thanks for reading!

2,616 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page