top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

CATRICE | ONE STEP SKIN PERFECTOR | WEAR TEST | REVIEW

It happens very often that I see a product that promises a lot of stuff and then...it doesn't really do anything. These days full of videocalls made me want simple, fast and working products even more and we have another candidate to take the place of my favorite Zoom complexion product!


The Catrice One Step Skin Perfector is a new multitasking product I got at the drugstore. It's a hybrid between skincare, makeup primer, tinted moisturizer and SPF. It basically does it all! It comes in a squeezy tube with 30ml of product and it retails for a price around 120 Crowns as majority of Catrice primers do.


The formula contains vitamin C and sun protection, which work together very well. It has innovative pigment technology which makes the product transform as you apply it and it gives you light coverage and healthy look. It seems to be a combination of many things but tinted moisturizing SPF is probably the most fitting. I like this idea of a product a lot. This is honestly all I need for every day, light coverage, quick appication, healthy glow, SPF. I am super excited about this product to be honest because I've been looking for a product like this for years.


The instructions say to shake well. I assume that you need to get the pigments flowing in the formula a bit. The product goes on pretty much white and you can see the little pigment "capsules" in it. It goes on a bit thick but as you blend it in and you break down the pigment it starts to become more glidey and it blends a lot easier and it also starts to get the tint and the glow. It's incredible, I've never seen a product like this.


Now, I'm not sure how this product works from the perspective of different skintones. When I applied it the first time, maybe I went a little too heavy because it looked suitable for medium skintones. Next time I applied it, it looked a lot better and more my shade. I have no idea how it adjusts or how it could look on deeper skintones. If this is universal then it's incredible. If not, I think with light coverage we could've gotten at least 4-6 shades. Sadly, it's not addressed on the website how this should work.

 

The application

The application of this product is quite the rollercoaster so I had to make a separate section about it. I applied it many different ways. This product is very similar to many primers I have so using your hands is perfectly fine. One drawback of that is the tint because it will leave your hands dirty and I really hate that with passion.


So to avoid dirty hands I decided to give it a shot with a brush. Funny thing is that you don't even really need a foundation brush because the coverage doesn't come from the usual foundation placement, how it's blended, how it's layered. Here you just smear it on and go. The coverage is very even no matter how you apply it, so I just took a random brush and went in. I am happy to report that it worked absolutelly incredible. No streaks anywhere, everything was smooth and even. Just like when you apply a face cream. There usually aren't streaks in creams because they absorb really well and this is very similar case.


The finish of this primer/tinted SPF is just flawless. It gives you light coverage and the most beautiful skin-like glow. It doesn't even feel sticky, I didn't feel like I needed powder all over my face which is something RARE for me to say. I always powder anything but this didn't feel like there's anything worth powdering on my skin. And also the glow is just divine. I ended up powdering my face for the wear test mostly because I was wearing a mask and I didn't want my mask to get dirty and gross.


But overall, this applied really fool-proof which I love and it gives you really pretty and natural finish. You wouldn't really think I'm wearing anything tinted on my skin at all. It also doesn't feel sticky or wet on the skin because it soaks in just like a primer and leaves the glow. The glow is truly like a glowy skin, it's not because of glitter or oil or anything like that. I have no idea what causes this magical finish to exist. But I love it.

 

Wear test

It's so hard to wear test products now that I have to wear a mask all the damn time. But I did my best. I applied the tinted SPF with my sloppy random brush I found, it's not even a buffing brush, it's less dense and more suitable for blush/bronzer I think. It's just a brush I don't really use for anything. I then applied my concealer and cream blush and used powder all over my face because I didn't want the mask to rub it all off.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick

  • Catrice One Step Skin Perfector

  • Catrice True Skin High Cover Concealer, shade 002 Neutral Ivory

  • Catrice True Skin Mineral Loose Powder, shade 001 Transparent Matte

  • Honest Beauty Creme Cheek Blush, shade Peony Pink

  • Milani Silky Matte Bronzing Powder, shade 01 Sun Light

  • Fenty Beauty Killawatt Foil Freestyle Highlighter, shade Sand Castle

  • Colourpop Pressed Powder Blush, shade Lunar Has It

  • Benefit Precisely, My Brow Pencil, shade 1

  • Catrice Volume & Lift Brow Mascara, shade 020

  • Milani Weekend Brow Eyebrow Tint, shade 120 Soft Brown

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Raw Beauty Kristy x Colourpop At Forest Sight

  • Catrice 5 in a Box Mini Eyeshadow Palette, shade 020 Soft Rose Look

  • Fenty Beauty Vivid Liquid Eyeliner, shade Banana Blaze

  • Maybelline Hyper Easy Brush Tip Liner, shade 800 Pitch Black

  • Essence Lash Princess Powerful #pinkandproud Curl & Volume Mascara

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner Gel Pencil, shade 910 Bold Brown

  • Hourglass Diffused Light Finishing Powder

  • I Heart Revolution Green Tea Fixing Spray


Wear time 12 hours

One great advantage of this product is the natural finish and light coverage. I was wearing a mask for majority of the day and there's not a visible missing patch of product on my face anywhere. The consistency of this product really does it because it's so lighweight that it doesn't budge or separate like a foundation might under a mask. But it still looks very perfected and even after hours of wear it's very natural and looks very similar to what it did when I applied it. Of course, less matte because the powder warmed up to my skin and sinked in nicely. Overall, I am very impressed because there's not much on my skin that would give away how long I had this makeup on my face.

 

Final thoughts

After wearing this tinted SPF/primer for a couple days I must say that this is a major hit for me. It's very affordable and it works so well in so many ways. I am truly impressed that Catrice came out with a product like this that actually works.


The application is very easy and you cannot go wrong with your hands or any brush you have. I'm not sure about versatility of the tint but for me it's pretty decent match, I usually wear it with concealer so I lighten it up where needed. The finish of it is just beautiful and it's possible to just wear it on its own without any powder on top. It also plays really well with cream products and I didn't experience any problems with blending my products (both powder, cream).


It's just the perfect product for a quick, glowy, natural look with the added benefit of SPF and moiturizing properties. It looks very nice and even and I didn't experience any problems with it at all. It also looks great on video calls which is honestly all I need from it these days. It's just flawless and I really enjoy using it these days. If you're looking for a very affordable tinted SPF, this is IT!


Do you have any holly grail video call products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

2,458 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page