top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

CATRICE | CLEAN ID HYDRO BB CREAM | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

Everyday light hydrating coverage with minimum chemicals and a good pricetag? Catrice is trying to get my money, I can tell.


Recently, I've been browsing eshops where I received a birthday discount code and notino.cz had me looking at some drugstore items. Eshops over here tend to have very different items than drugstores, so I did a little digging and discovered the Catrice Clean ID line. The whole line is focused on natural ingredients and its 100% vegan and cruelty-free, also it's free of parabens, silicones, microplastics, mineral oil, pure palm oil, exotic and animal ingredients. All the packaging is paper or recyclable. There are many products in this line including mascara, eyeshadow, highlighters, bronzer and some more, but my heart was drawn to the BB cream.


The Catrice Clean ID Hydro BB Cream is a vegan, non-comedogenic product with 99% natural ingredients. Accodring to the description it's supposed to be an ultra hydrating tinted beauty balm with shea butter for radiant natural complexion. Its skin-loving texture diffuses imperfections for myself-but-better appearance.


It comes in a plastic tube, which is probably fully recyclable and you get 30ml of product. The price of this BB cream was 159 Crowns, which is a very reasonable price. It's expected to be cheaper because Catrice is a very affordable drugstore brand. It comes in two shades, which is just terrible even if it has a very light coverage. However, Catrice usually has a very limited shade range. I have the shade 010 Light.


I didn't find any tips regarding the application of this product. I assume the coverage is going to be very light, so I will probably try applying it with my hands or with a brush. I don't like applying products with my hands just because I have to wash them afterwards and it takes up time. I much prefer staying clean and using a brush. Or a sponge if it works well. Sponges tend to soak up too much of the already low coverage. We will see how this goes.


I've been a very big fan of my Colourpop Tinted Moisturizer, so I hope this products is going to be similar to that. I really like a product like this for everyday wear, because I can go as natural as I want or I can amp it up with different products to have a more glam look. I have quite clear skin, so I don't need a tun of coverage to go more glamorous with my look.

 

Wear test


BB cream applied on the left side of my face
BB cream applied on the left side of my face

I first tried the brush to apply this product, but it's very light in coverage and texture and it ended up very streaky. On the side by side comparison photo, you can't really tell because it looks like I've got nothing on my skin. I went over it with a sponge and tried to build it a little bit. It's buildable in terms of texture, it won't budge or slide around, but the coverage is so light it doesn't even want to build the pigment. I don't really mind though, we still can conceal.


The coverage is very light and the finish it nice and skinlike with added hydration. It does remind me of my Pretty Fresh Tinted Moisturizer from Colourpop quite a lot to be honest. It feels like nothing on the skin, I was able to use cream bronzer without any issues and I did powder my face which doesn't look cakey or heavy now. I'm very happy with how this looks. I went in with more glowy complexion products so let's see how they all wear.


Start of the wear test
Start of the wear test

List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • RL de Young Dewy and Fresh Primer

  • Catrice Clean ID Hydro BB Cream, shade 010 Light

  • Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer, shade Baked

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Concealer, shade Light 45W

  • Laura Mercier Translucent Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Nudestix Eyebrow Stylus Pencil & Gel, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Revolution Cut-crease Canvas, shade Halo

  • Maybelline Tattoo Liner Gel Pencil, shade 910 Bold Brown

  • Revolution x Soph Extra Spice Pallete

  • Haus Laboratories Glam Attack Metallic Creme, shade Retro

  • Bell Cosmetics Long Wear Eye Pencil, shade 03

  • Maybelline Falsies Lash Lift Mascara, shade Black

  • Essence Hey Cheeks Pallete

  • Essence Blushlighter Gradient Powder Blush, shade 04 Peachy Dawn

  • Physician's Formula Mineral Glow Pearls, shade Translucent

  • Maybelline Lasting Fix Make-up Setting Spray

  • NYX Suede Matte Lip Liner, shade Dessert First

  • Revolution Lip Topper, shade Exquisite

5 hour check: From what I can tell, I have the good old pigmentation problem again, where things look a little too intense on a more natural base. I don't know how it's happening, I assume powders cannot just oxidize on you, but it's happening. My bronzer is a little crazy looking. Other than that, I love how healthy and glowy I look. It still doesn't feel like anything on the skin and it's not separating at all so far.

7 hour check: This is a post-workout checkin. Here you can usually tell if a foundation is going to go downhill. When I start to sweat, many products just can't handle it and start breaking appart, sliding away or just looking gross. Here we're looking at a perfectly fine complexion with a couple places around my nose, which are missing a bit of foundation. You can blame my permanently runny nose. The best part about this light coverage BB cream is you can't even see it. I still look like there's nothing on my skin, everything is nice and smooth.


Wear time 12 hours

I am very impressed with this product. I didn't think I would wear it for so long but I my face didn't feel gross at all, so I didn't feel the need to take off the makeup. Therefore, I lasted all 12 hours with it on and I could probably go even more. It looked incredible. Maybe it's just the fault of the light coverage which seems to last well on me in any case, but nothing looked worn out or patchy at all. No product even budged around my nose or on my forehead. I am very happy with how it lasted and I honestly wasn't expecting it.



 

Final thoughts

Honestly I wasn't too optimistic when I purchased this product but now I'm really glad that I did. It's extremely light in coverage, it's very sheer and doesn't build too much, but it has a very natural and skin-like finish that lasts very well when powdered. I powder my face no matter what, so I cannot say how it lasts by itself. However for me, this is one of the best BB creams I've ever tried.


The price is great, I hope they will carry the Clean ID collection in the drugstores and I kind of want to pick up more products from that line as well. This BB cream is just really impressive to me, it lasts really well, it looks great and doesn't look heavy. It also made my skin feel very hydrated the whole day which I really appreciate. I usually get very dry through the day and with this BB cream I felt like I've been wearing ton of skincare the whole day instead of makeup. If you have dry skin, I think you will love this BB cream for sure. And if you want something very light in coverage and texture that will hydrate you and perfect your skin, this is a great option.


Have you tried anything from the Clean ID line? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


165 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page