top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

CATRICE | CLEAN ID HIGH COVER LUMINOUS MATTE FOUNDATION | REVIEW | WEAR TEST

Here we go again. We all know that Catrice has a great name when it comes to foundations and here we have the newest foundation addition.


The Catrice Clean ID High Cover Luminous Matte Foundation has a very long and also very interesting name. It's from their Clean ID range, which contains products with natural "clean" ingredients. This product in particular has 98% of natural ingredients in it. It's a matte foundation with light to medium coverage and a luminous finish. What an interesting combo! It comes in 10 shades and I have the 004 Light Almond. It has a neutral/warm undertone and it's somewhere between fair and light, I would say.


It comes in a plastic squeezy tube which is very nice and sleek. It's the type of packaging that is perfect for travelling. You get 30ml of product and it retails on notino.cz for 207 Crowns which is close to their usual foundation price.


It has the same scent as the BB cream from the Clean ID range. It almost smells like honey to me. It's kinda sweet and weird and I cannot identify it. If you're very sensitive to products with quite a strong scent, this one might not be for you. It kinda irritates my nose to be honest.


It's supposed to be quite longwearing according to the website's description and it's also suitable for sensitive skin. Besides that it's non-comedogenic , gluten-free and it doesn't contain any silicones, parabens or mineral oils. The texture seems to be quite lightweight and the coverage is leaning more towards medium than light in my opinion.

I've been wearing this foundation for quite some time now and I actually really enjoy it. It doesn't really matter if I apply it with a sponge or a brush because it goes on really smooth either way. It's easy to go overboard with it because it's so lightweight but I really like the natural sheeny finish it gives me. You can check it out in action in the video below where I test full face of Catrice products. The finish of it is pretty obvious on camera as well as the coverage.




 

Wear test

I decided to wear it on my office day so there was mask wearing involved for the majority of the day. As always, I used a porefilling primer and a hydrating primer underneath and I decided to apply it with my fuzzy sponge. It went on really well and the finish is a very interesting combination of matte soft-focus and luminous glowy. I cannot decide if I like it or not so let's see how it lasts. I also went for some cream products to see how it works with them. I didn't experience any problems with blending my creams or powders on top of this base.


List of used products

  • Catrice Clean ID Pore Minimizer Primer

  • Catrice Clean ID High Cover Luminous Matte Foundation, shade 004 Light Almond

  • Catrice Clean ID High Cover Concealer, shade 004 Light Almond

  • Fenty Beauty Cheeks Out Freestyle Cream Bronzer, shade 03 Macchiatto

  • Catrice True Skin Mineral Loose Powder, shade Transparent Matte

  • Made by Mitchell BLURSH, shade Peach Sugar

  • Lime Crime Bushy Brow Precision Pen, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Benefit 24-HR Brow Setter

  • Essence I Love Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Made by Mitchell Head in the Clouds Palette

  • Fenty Beauty Vivid Liquid Eyeliner, shade Wet Tshirt

  • Maybelline Sky High Mascara, shade 01 Very Black

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Exit

  • Revolution Bronzer Reloaded, shade Holiday Romance

  • Sleek Highlighter Palette, shade Solstice

  • NYX Suede Matte Lip Liner, shade Malice

  • Zoeva Melody Lipgloss, shade Spread Your Wings

Wear time 14 hours

I have to say that I am really enjoying this foundation. It looks very natural and luminous and ever after spending majority of my day in a mask it looks very nice. There are bits that rubbed off (because of the mask) but the foundation doesn't create a mask effect so you cannot really tell. The luminosity of the finish is still visible and it looks very glowy and healthy. I would say that the longevity of this foundation is truly extraordinary. I looks very nice. Once it set on the skin a bit it really just melted with it and created the most beautiful natural finish. I am very impressed.


I am also sorry for the "after" photo, my camera was dying on me, I was deleting some pictures and this was the only one I kept for this wear test...looks like garbage, I know.

 

Final thoughts

This foundation slowly became one of my favorite everyday foundations that can pull of a nice full glam look. It's very lightweight in texture, the color match is very decent and it's very easy to blend with any tool. I would say it's my new favorite foundation from Catrice.


I always powder my face to it's safe to say that it works really well with all the powders I've tried it with and there was no caking, budging or pilling happening at all. I wou recommend it especially if you have dry-normal skin because I am not sure if the luminosity has any impact on its longevity on oily skin. I can imagine that the luminous finish doesn't matter and when it wears well on my normal skin, it's going to wear well on oily skin but I cannot vouch for that.


It lasts really well on me and it's the foundation I reach for most days when I wear any makeup. I would recommend it if you're looking for a lightweight everyday foundation with medium-high coverage and a beautiful not matte finish. It looks very skin-like and natural with that sheen but it doesn't have any glitter. The finish is really nice and Catrice did a great job with this foundation.


Have you tried any of the new Clean ID products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

871 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page