top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

BY BEAUTYBAY | BRONZER | BLUSH | HIGHLIGHTER | REVIEW

BeautyBay is just trying to make everyone ashamed of their prices at this point. After killing it with skincare they decided to go back to the makeup category and release all the products your cheeks might need. And I'm here to test them out.


The By BeautyBay Powder Bronzers, Powder Highlighters and Powder Blushers are a relativelly new addition to the Beauty Bay's product range. They all come in a nice sleek white/transparent compact that's super thin and very travel friendly. You get 6.5g in the bronzer and blush and 4.1g in the highlighter. That also reflects in the price and the bronzers and blushers retail for 7 Euros and the highlighters are 5.75 Euros. They are vegan and cruelty-free as well. Let's look at them by category.


The Powder Bronzer comes in 8 shades across the skintone spectrum where they really tried to involve everyone and the shades seem to be well developed. I have the shade Fawn which is described as matte light caramel with neutral undertone. I think it's pretty fitting and it's hard to find neutral-toned bronzers on the market. The formula is supposed to be super-blendable, buildable and silky soft. It gives light wash of color and can be built up.


The Powder Blusher comes in 8 shades, some are matte and some have a sheen. I went for the shade Peachy with is a matte soft peach/pink. The blushers go very deep and I would say the shade selection is great for everyone. They did a great job with how inclusive this range is. This shade has a perfect ratio of pink and peach, you can wear it with any look because it has quite a neutral undertone. They blushers have an ultra-buildable formula that lets you customize the pigmentation.


The Powder Highlighter comes in 4 shades. I am not sure about how the shades will perform on a deep skintone. There are swatches but they don't seem very informative to me. I went for the shade Beam which is a champagne gold. According to the description the highlighters are lightweight, ultra-soft and blendable and can give you anything from glow from within to a beaming glowing highlight. They shouldn't give you glittery finish but honestly they seem pretty glittery to me. I don't mind that at all and the formula is indeed very smooth but I can see glitter on the skin that makes it look glowy and wet. So it's glittery but in the best way possible if I make any sense now.

On the swatches there are two layers of the bronzer and blusher so you get an idea of how pigmented they are. The bronzer does look more subtle in person and the highlighter looks a lot more blinding. My ringlight seems to be washing the highlighter out a little. You can see the structure of it though. It's a little glittery, it doesn't have a fully pigmented base and I think that it might actually work on deeper skintones as I see more of a sparse pigmentation. It's really hard to tell. But it's beautiful and I just cannot make it any justice. It's looks more true to the pan color now that I look at the top picture. It's also that much glowy.


 

Wear test

I decided to wear all three products on one day to test how they perform. There's sometimes issue with pigmentation on bronzers where they appear more pigments after you wear them for a couple hours. Same thing with blushes but these tend to fade. And well, highlighters which are this glowy and glittery sometimes kind of fall of. So we'll see how these products perform.


I didn't apply any cream products under these, today is just a powder base products day. I applied all of them with a designated brush and they all applied really well and smooth. The bronzer looked a little scary in the pan but overall it's just the right amount of pigmentation where you don't really need to build it up but it doesn't look crazy pigmented. It also blends really well and I like the tone of it a lot.


The blush is very subtle but really pretty and even though it's sheer it builds really well. It's one of my favorite blushes at the moment, I've owned this one for the longest time compared to the other two products.


The highlighter is INSANE. It's kind of glittery so I believe that the formula it not going to be for everyone but it's really beautiful, blinding, beaming...everything you want from a super glowy highlight. It doesn't emphasise texture at all though so I'm a big fan of it so far. You need just the tiniest amount and you get glow for days.


List of used products

  • e.l.f. Poreless Putty Primer

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Hydrating Hyaluronic Acid Primer

  • Catrice True Skin Foundation, shade 004 Neutral Porcelain

  • Catrice True Skin Concealer, shade 002 Neutral Ivory

  • e.l.f. Smooth & Set Eye Powder

  • Coty Airspun Loose Face Powder, shade Translucent

  • Nudestix Eyebrow Stylus Pencil & Gel, shade Dirty Blonde

  • Benefit High Brow

  • H&M Eye Fidelity Primer

  • ABH Norvina Mini Pro Pigment Palette Vol. 2

  • ABH Norvina Electric Cake Liner, shade Electric Yellow

  • Essence Easy Brush Liner

  • L'Oreal Air Volume Mega Mascara, shade Black

  • Colourpop BFF Creme Gel Liner, shade Extra Frosting

  • By BeautyBay Powder Bronzer, shade Fawn

  • By BeautyBay Powder Blusher, shade Peachy

  • By BeautyBay Powder Highlighter, shade Beam

  • Colourpop Pretty Fresh Hyaluronic Acid Setting Mist

  • Huda Beauty Lip Contour, shade Venus

  • Fenty Beauty Gloss Bomb Cream, shade Fenty Glow


Wear time 9 hours

My foundation doesn't look the greatest but that's a story for another blog post (check out the Colourpop Pretty Fresh primer and setting mist!). The bronzer looks very smooth and the pigmentation didn't go up too high. It's not patchy and it looks pretty nice to be honest.


Same thing goes for the blush, it's quite a subtle color but you can still tell it's there (at least in person) and even though it's hard to photograph you see like a hint of color there.


The highlighter probably faded the most. As it's quite a glittery formula the glitters kind of fell of and even though I still have a glow, it's not the major beaming glow I had in the morning. It was expected because highlighters with this formula usually do it but I had high hopes. Well, at least it didn't fade completely.

 

Final thoughts

Overall I feel like BeautyBay did some really good things with these products. They all have very nice range of shades, the packaging is consistent and nice and sleek, the formulas are on point and it's very affordable. Also they make discounts on their own products all the time so it's not that rare to snatch these for like 3 Euros each.


The bronzers go pretty deep and also pretty light so there's a big plus. I really like the formula, it's quite pigmented but very smooth and easy to blend. You can go little by little if you're too scared of the pigmentation but it's a beautiful matte bronzer. I almost want to try other shades to see if they might be even better for me since I'm pretty pale. But I still like Fawn.


The blush is amazing, one of my top blushes at the moment. It's sheer but there when you put it on and you can build it up like a dream. It's super smooth and creamy, it looks matte but juicy and the tone of this Peachy shade it just to beautiful. It's just the perfect peach blush for pale people like me.


The highlighter is really beautiful but not something I reach for every day. It's glittery and it's nice with that full glam look but just with a bit of concealer and mascara it doesn't really fit the vibe. I still really like it and even though it's staying power isn't that great it leaves you with a beautiful glow once the glitters quit the party. Overall I would say that it's worth it if you really want something blinding and beautiful, don't mind glitters and don't really care that it won't wear for 9 hours.


I really like all these products (especially the blush) and I cannot wait what else By BeautyBay brings into their product like. So far I feel like they're killing it with the skincare and the makeup as well.


Have you tried any makeup from By BeautyBay? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

507 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page