top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

BECCA | ULTIMATE COVERAGE 24 HOUR FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSION | WEAR TEST

The Sephora sales are killing me..I mean my wallet.


I'm such a sucker for a good foundation and the hunt for the best of the best still continues. Last time I went to Sephora, I picked up a few things including the Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Foundation. I was looking at this Becca one, which I knew from a few reviews online, but they only had two shades and both were too dark for my skintone.


I went to a different Sephora and I saw the whole Becca display of this foundation on sale. I just started digging in. This Sephora store (at Palladium, Prague) had such a bad lighting, that I couldn't match myself for the life of me. I kinda winged it, looked up the swatches and shade descriptions online and just took whatever felt right.


When I was swatching the foundation, it felt really creamy and almost moussy and also pretty thick. It was hard to take off even with a makeup remover. That's when you know, it's probably going to last well. I went with the shade Shell because it just looked the best on my jawline and I like a good neutral/warm undertone. After years of buying foundation, it kinda looks right when you see a shade that could match you. Also Cashmere was in the game, but it felt a little too dark for me and I don't tan too much, so there's no point in buying a darker foundation shade.


I purchased the foundation for 699 Crowns (1100 Crowns regularly) and not all the shades were on sale, and I don't really understand why to be honest. The shade range is one of the better ones. There are six shades in each category, which looks well distributed. There's room on both sides of the spectrum and it's harder with full coverage foundations to find a good match, so I can imagine the shade range being expanded in the future. For now, we have 24 shades to choose from. I feel like the shades with neutral undertone lean more to the yellow side and aren't very neutral. I personaly don't mind that, but be aware of it when you purchase this foundation.


Here are some swatches with comparison to my other foundations. Maybe they will be helpful to someone with a similar skintone to mine.


I really like the packaging, the glass bottle feels nice and heavy and I like how the cap sits on. It does have a pump which should be a standard by now. The pump is great, in my opinion, because you can controll it very well and get as much foundation as you want from the bottle, not just a whole pump. The amount of product is 30ml, which is very standard and fair amount. The foundation is pretty thick and full coverage, so it should last you for quite a long time.


 

The claims

According to Sephora website, it's a full coverage foundation with natural finish. There's a high amount of pigments and water to provide hydration to the skin. And it's supposed to be very breathable and lightweight on the skin. They also have instructions for application, which recommend to hydrate the skin a lot before applying and then blending it in with a brush for a natural finish.


The Becca website has slightly more information. It says that it's a longwearing formula, without parabens, sulfates and phthalates. It's transfer-resistant, water-resistant, sweat-resistant and humidity-resistant. It lasts for 24 hours without looking cakey or clogging pores.


It sounds like a dreamy skin in a bottle that lasts forever, sounds good to me. Let's see how it actually works.

 

The wear test

It all sounds very nice, but first, you have to try it to see anyway. Again, I will be doing a three day testing with this foundation, just as I do with all the other foundation reviews. I like doing it that way, because I get to see how it performs and which products it pair the best with. Let's get to it.


Day 1

For the first day, I don't do my usual "day at work" test, because I arrived home super late yesterday and my appartment is a mess. So, I'm going to stay at home, put on makeup, go grocery shopping, clean the flat a bit and go for a quick workout outside to the sun and see how it holds up. I kinda regret I didn't use a sunscreen today...dammit. I applied the foundation with my makeup sponge as I usually do. I may actually try a brush with this one, because it's really thick and I feel like it could be suitable for a good brush action. First of all, it doesn't feel very heavy but also it doesn't feel hydrating too much. More like, not at all. I did my usual skincare, which is very hydrating and nourishing and I also used a hydrating vitamin-infused primer. Maybe I should go for something a bit more slippery the next time. Also, the foundation was sinking into my pores in a weird way, so maybe a brush will do it a bit more justice. I used only one and a half pumps, which is not usual for me, I usually need 2-3 pumps because I have a big face. But this really goes a long way and I don't recommend caking on too much.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Gabriella Salvete Skin Primer Pore Minimizer

  • Becca Ultimate Coverage 24 Hour Foundation, shade Shell

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics The Magic Star Concealer, shade C3

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • 183days Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain

  • Lottie London Arch Rival Volumizing Eyebrow Powder, shade Medium

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler Sculpting Gel, shade Clear

  • Benefit High Brow

  • Catrice Camouflage Cream, shade 010 Ivory

  • Essence I <3 Colour Intensifying Eyeshadow Base

  • Morphe 39S Such a Gem Pallete

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Flormar Satin Touch Stick Eyeshadow, shade Cashmere Dress

  • H&M Best Curlfriend Mascara, shade Deep Black

  • NYX Glitter Goals Liquid Eyeliner, shade Diamond Dust

  • RL de Young Chocolate Bronzer

  • H&M Pure Radiance Powder Blush, shade Pink Peach

  • Revolution x Soph Highlighter Pallete

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray

  • Essence Crystal wet look Lipgloss, shade 03 SOUL CRYSTAL

  • Essence Get Your Glitter On! Lip Topper, shade 01 silver glam


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 9.5 hours

This is not my usual weartime, if I went to work, it would've been longer than 9.5 hours. However, it's still a decent duration and I did a lot. I was cleaning around the flat, I went for a run a bit more workout after that, so I did my sweating part. I was cooking in this foundation, I went grocery shopping and dragged two super heavy bags home in burning sun. I wasn't just sitting at home, that's for sure.


There are a few things I noticed about this foundation. I don't think this is hydrating, in fact, it's looking pretty dry since I applied it. But it's somehow not getting more dry. Maybe that's what they meant by "hydrating". It doesn't come of easily and I would say it is transferproof. The only time it came off was when I blew my nose and wasn't very careful and a whole patch of foundation is now missing on my nose. I tried to touch up and it's not impossible but since it's a full coverage foundation, you can kinda still see the patch. Even with the patch though, it looks incredible on pictures. It looks much more dry and noticible in person, but I still like the way it looks.

You can feel it on your skin but considering what it provides, it's a small price to pay. It's comfortable even after 9.5 hours and if I wasn't slightly sick and a little stupid, it would look the same as when I finished my makeup. Everything on it stayed put and opaque. The worst places are my chin and my nose area. Next time, I need to hydrate even more.

 

Day 2

I was in a hurry this morning, so I didn't fuss around with contour of anything like that. I just neede to put everything on and leave the door as soon as I can. I primer with a very hydrating primer this time and mixed a little bit of Booster from NYX into the foundation, so I put in 1 big drop of booster to 1.5 pumps of foundation to add a bit of glow and make it less matte.


I have my new makeup sponge. It's from Sinsay, it was really cheap and it doesn't expand when you wet it and it's really hard and it's so difficult to blend makeup with it...I think I'm going to a drugstore to get a new sponge today. I don't want to experience that sensation of rock blending your foundation ever again. Other than that, I had no issues with the foundation, it looked a lot less dry and it seems to be sticking to my face quite well so far.


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • Revolution Hydrate and Prime Primer

  • Benefit Porefessional Primer

  • Becca Ultimate Coverage 24 Hour Foundation, shade Shell

  • NYX Away We Glow Liquid Booster, shade Glazed Donuts

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Concealer, shade 110

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • H&M Eyebrow Powder and Wax, shade Chocolate

  • Benefit BrowVo! Conditioning Primer

  • Maxfactor Natural Brow Styler, shade Clear

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Makeup Obsession Dream with a Vision Pallete

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Baby Blue

  • Fenty Beauty Vivid Liquid Eyeliner, shade Banana Blaze

  • H&M Best Curlfriend Mascara, shade Deep Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • H&M blush

  • Revolution baked highlighter

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray

  • NYX Liquid Suede Lipstick, shade Sandstorm


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 11 hours

Today the foundation wore a little better and except from a mess around my nose, which is my fault, it looked very decent the whole day. It didn't look as heavy because I used less of it and it stayed on looking pretty good for the whole day. I was also obsessed with the pastel look I did today. It was a good makeup day, overall. I did catch myself spraying on a Body Shop face mist, which is very nice and hydrating and I keep it on my desk at work when I need a little refreshment. It's makeup friendly and it was on sale so now I'm bummed that I didn't get more of these. However, I really recommend that. Even when I touch up my makeup with a powder, I spray it on to melt it into my skin a little bit and it works great.

 

Day 3

It's the cream day! I don't think I have to tell you, why I like doing a cream base at this point. But I'm really excited because recently I re-discovered my cream contour pallete from Revolution and I cannot wait to try it again. I will do a cream contour, bronzer, blush and also highlighter. Last time I did my base with creams, it looked so good I didn't even go back with powder products on top. Mainly the bronzer shocked me, because I really liked it a lot. Let's see how it works with this foundation.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • Gabriella Salvete Pore Minimizer Skin Primer

  • NYX Honey Dew Me Up Primer

  • Revolution Hydrate and Prime Primer

  • Becca Ultimate Coverge 24 Hour Foundation, shade Shell

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 light neutral

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • 183days Powder Shaker, shade Porcelain

  • Revolution Ultra Cream Contour Pallete

  • Fenty Beauty Match Stix Matte Skinstick, shade Amber

  • NYX Build 'em up Brow Powder, shade Taupe

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel Filler, shade 020

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Jeffree Star Cosmetics Mini Breaker Pallete

  • Fenty Beauty Moroccan Spice Pallete

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Slate

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • Eisenberg Le Noir Mascara, shade 01 Ultra Black

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Physician's Formula Butter Blush, shade Nude Silk

  • Revolution x Soph Highlighter Pallete

  • Lottie London Slay All Day Longlasting Lip Liner, shade Werk It

  • Fenty Beauty Poutsicle Juicy Satin Lipstick, shade Go Deep

I am a new person, I actually applied my foundation with a brush today! I bought the NYX multi-purpose buffing brush and it applies foundation like a dream. I really like the finish of it. Cream products went on fine, I forgot the cream blush and cream highlighter from the Revolution pallete was a disaster, but I managed to save it with a powder one. Still, you can see a little bold patches in my highlight area, because the Revolution one was maybe a bit too dry. I am really enjoying the blue lip, it's a very nice shade that I feel like looks flattering.


The foundation doesn't look cakey yet, but I didn't mix in my booster today, so there's a possibility, it will. It looks like the brush made it stick better to my nose than a sponge.


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 13 hours

A loooong day behind me. It doesn't looks the best in the pictures, I feel like it oxidized a little bit and I look patchy in a weird way. The foundation still looked pretty intacked but it wasn't very flattering at that point. I feel like I look very old in the picture because the foundation was wearing me down a bit. And also because I had it on my face for eternity.








 

Final thoughts

I've had this foundation on several more times than just three and still I am not sure how to approach it. It's a very heavy and full coverage foundation so you just need a little amount, but even after you use a little bit it still gets quite dry. If you have normal or dry skin, I would recommend mixing oil or a liquid highlighter in it to loosen up the texture. If you have oily skin, this may not be your problem at all.


I really liked that the foundation really stayed in place but it's absolutelly not hydrating and I had to work with it quite a bit through the day to make it look OK. If you're looking for a flawless foundation that will erase your face and look the same all day, this is it. Just make sure that you're using is correctly and that you give it a fair shot.


I did enjoy how longlasting it was and how it looked majority of the days. But I still have some work to do to actually see how it works the best for my skin. I am keeping this foundation and not passing it on my friends because I truly like it and I want to make it work as well as it can work. Overall, I would recommend trying it, if after reading this post, you feel like doing it.


Have you tried this foundation? Let me know what you think about it in the comments below and thanks for reading!

571 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page