top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

ANASTASIA BEVERLY HILLS | MINI NORVINA PRO PIGMENT PALETTE VAULT | REVIEW


Anastasia Beverly Hills is a big name in the eyeshadow game for sure. A couple years back they launched the Norvina pigment palletes which looked pretty stunning but I never got to ordering any of them because they are quite pricey. Well, this Christmas I had some happy haul-idays.



The Anastasia Beverly Hills Mini Norvina Pro Pigment Palette Vault is a set of all three mini Norvina pigment palettes. I got it from beautybay.com and usually it retails for 66.75 Euros. During the holidays there was a huge sale going on on the website and I got the vault for 46.70 Euros. For such a price I couldn't resist so let's look at these pigment palettes.


They come in a violet gift box where you get the vol. 1, vol. 2 and vol. 3 palette. All the palettes are cruelty-free and all of them also contain just pressed pigments. They don't really have shade names, the shades are named pretty much by their "position" in the palette but I don't really mind that. Each of the palettes comes in its individual box and all the boxes are recyclable which I was pretty happy about. I really like that packaging of these palettes, they feel nice and sturdy. The packaging is plastic but it feels really good quality. In the box, each palette was also protected with an additional carton.


Each pallete has 9 shades in it and a nice big mirror. They close with magnets which is neat and they are quite small and travel friendly. Majority of the shades across the palettes are matte but there seems to be a few shimmers as well. There are two or three shimmer formulas, I cannot really tell because they all look quite different. But you can clearly see that there's a very glittery foiled formula and then a more metallic and sheeny one.

On the swatches they all look quite OK, the mattes are pretty dry because they are pigments. But as we all know swatches don't really mean anything and they don't really predict how the pigment applies on the eyes. The metallic shimmers are nice and buttery and the glittery shimmers crumbled a little bit, especially the green one from the vol. 2 palette. But it's still stunning.

 

The looks

I usually do 5 looks with each pallete I review but here it would mean 15 looks which is quite a lot and it would take a lot of time I don't currently have. So I decided to make a section for each pallete and create three different looks for each of them. There is going to be some variability and you'll see majority of the shades and it won't take me months to get it done.


Vol. 1

For the first look I wanted to go for the purples really badly. I used the shade C2 to smoke out and wing out my lashline and I outlined my black winged liner with it and I think it looks bomb. In my inner crease I used A3 and in the outer crease C1 but at the end they look quite similar. The shimmer on the lid is a Colourpop SuperShock Shadow in the shade Frog because I didn't really see a fitting shimmer in this pallete. I used the white By BeautyBay Eye Base.

The second look deserved a little bit of that red burgundy goodness. I started with packing C3 on my outer corners and I decided to go for a rounded look. After I placed it down I blended it out with B1 and also blended B1 further into my crease. On the lid I packed B2 with a flat brush and I also added a half-wing. On the bottom I just took a berry gel pencil to my waterline, buffed it out with C3 and then further down with B1. At the end I added a little white inner corner.

The third look could be called "My signature holiday look" because it's exactly what I wear all the time when I'm on a vacation and I just cannot be bothered to do much. I just packed B1 onto the outer and inner lid and blended A1 into my crease. That blended out the packed B1 as well. Then I took A2 on a fluffy flat brush and dusted it on the middle of the lid with no other shadow on. I adjusted the A1 and B1 depth a little bit around the outer edges and I buffed A1 to my lower lashline with a little help from a bright neon orange liner.


Vol. 2

The first look was fairly simple, it's an all matte look where I started with A1 in the inner part of the eye, A2 on the middle and B3 on the outer portion. I winged it out a little bit and then applied neon yellow liner in the crease and black wing on the lashline. I added a paster yellow gel liner to my waterline and repeated the colors on the bottom the same way I applied them to the top.

The second look is more on the orange side of the spectrum as this palette contains some beautiful orange shades. I started with B1 in the crease, slightly extending it beyond and then I blended it out with A3. I packed B2 all over the lid and finished the top lid by using C3 as a powder liner. I did a little baby wing with the deep brown and moved onto the lower lashline. On the bottom, I just put a little brown pencil into my waterline and slightly blended around it with A3. I added brown mascara because I was really digging that brown liner.

For the last look I decided to use the magenta shade with some pale green. I started with the C1 placed on the inner and outer portion of the lid to create base for a halo eye look. Then I took A2 and blended out the edges of C1. I placed a green liner into my waterline and buffed it out with A2 as well. At the end I just took C2 on my finger and placed in on the middle of the lid.


Vol. 3

The first look just had to contain that stunning blue shimmer. I started with blending B2 all over the crease into a v-shape and then packed A3 all over the lid and blended out its edges. I buffed B2 along my lower lashline and highlighterd my inner corners with a bit of A1. I added a black baby wing and that's the look.

The second look is built around the beautiful burgundies in the palette. I started with the C1 on the outer corner and built the structure of the look. I wanted it winged out so I packed it on in the proper shade and slightly buffed the edges with B1. I also used B1 in my inner crease. Then I took B3 on a very tiny blending brush and buffed the very outer edges. Then I packed A2 all over the lid. I was surprised that it stuck to the bare lid just fine and there was barely any fallout. Then I liner my lower lashline with a berry liner and buffed it out with C1 and B3. I added a black wing and that's the look.

 

Final thoughts

I was a little sceptical at first because I heard very mixed reviews on these ABH Norvina pigment palettes. I must say though that I had a great time with them. I think they're great quality, look amazing and blend really well too. They are pressed pigments so the work is slightly different than with regular eyeshadows but the payoff is amazing and they are very easy to work with.


I am a little unhappy with the shimmer selection. There is the amazing blue shimmer in vol. 3 but overall I was more into the mattes than the provided shimmers. They are a great addition to the creative part of my eyeshadow collection and I often reach for them when I need a good pop of pigment.


If you can get your hands on the bundle for some good price, I wouldn't hesitate. They are quite expensive separatelly and I don't think I would purchase them at all if I had to buy them for the original price. But now I am very glad I have these three palettes.


Have you tried any Norvina palettes? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!



69 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page