top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

183days | BABY SKIN FOUNDATION | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | WEAR TEST

I love finding a good foundation in drugstore and especially on sale. In this case, the sale probably means that there's going to be a new collection in stores very soon, but I just cannot resist a foundation that costs 39 Crowns.


183days is DM drugstore's brand, which has a new collection every 6 months. The last collection was actually pretty good and I made a whole post about funky products, which I thought were kinda weird but most of them worked really well. Yesterday I came across their display which was slowly selling out for very ridiculous prices. I mean, the 183days Baby Skin Foundation was originally 99 Crowns, which is almost for free anyway and the fast that it was just 39 Crowns now just caught my attention. I remembered that I read a review on this foundation that was very positive and well, I'm curious about every foundation on this planet, so I bought the lightest shade and went.


There are 4 shades in total, no variability in undertones or depth of the colour. It's a really poor selection even for a smaller brand. If it's any good it's just not fair that it will barely match anyone. The shade 010 Baby Shell that I got didn't look too bad when I tried the tester before I bought it, but I am a little worried that it's just not right. The undertone is more peach-pink and it's probably not light enough to be my winter shade at all. However, there's not much I can do about that, maybe just make it lighter with my customizing white drops.


The foundation is supposed to be matte, according to the DM.cz website, it contains rice starch to absorb oils, it should look natural and be longlasting and keeping you matte. Also it's medium coverage and should make you skin look flawless and silky smooth. I like what I'm reading. I haven't been too much into matte foundations lately, because they make me look very dry, but why not give this one a shot. I enjoy lighter coverage these days and I'm pretty oily when it's too hot outside, so I have some hope at least.


My first impression was that the shade is OK for me, I can get away with it, but it's not the best for sure and I'm not sure if it looks off or not. The consistency is actually quite liquidy, it's very blendable, it looks nice and natural and little more dewy than I expected. After a few minutes it kind of sets down but I don't think it looks fully matte. It's not heavily fragranced and I cannot feel it on the skin, which I really like. The medium coverage is absolutelly correct, it doesn't look heavy and I like the overall look of it. Let's see how it goes after a long day of wearing.

 

Wear test

I was once again doing like 4 wear tests at the same few weeks, so the pictures are a little all over the place. I always try to apply the foundation with both sponge and a brush if I feel like it's going to work well and also I go in with cream products at least once, to see how they apply and blend with the wet foundation base.


Day 1

I am trying the foundation for the first time today and I like how it applies a lot, as I stated above. I applied it with a sponge today and tried not to go too ham with it, because it's medium coverage. It does build a little bit, and doesn't look cakey when I do so, which I really like. Overall, I think my face looks very nice and smooth, we'll see how it lasts.


Start of day 1
Start of day 1

List of used products

  • Catrice Hydrating Prime & Care Spray

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick, shade Sheer

  • 183days Baby Skin Foundation, shade 010 Baby Shell

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 light neutral

  • H&M Hi-Definition Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • H&M Superfine Browliner, shade Dark Walnut Brown

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel Filler Waterproof, shade 020

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Essence Epic Sunset Pallete

  • Lottie London Eye Foils, shade Too Much

  • I <3 Revolution Cranberry Chocolate Pallete

  • Flormar Satin Touch Eyeshadow Stick, shade Cashmere Dress

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • L'Oreal Bambi Eye False Lash Mascara, shade Black

  • Maybelline City Bronzer, shade 200 medium cool

  • L'Oreal Life's a Peach Blush

  • Revolution x Soph Highlighter Pallete

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray


End of day 1
End of day 1

Wear time 14 hours

After 14 hours I am very surprised. My face doesn't look dry or cakey, the foundation didn't separate and everything is still in place. The only thing bothering me was fallout on my face, which I kept scratching and disrupted the foundation a little around my nose, but that's pretty much it.

It did budge up a little in area at the side of my nose, where it usually does that, mostly because of my glasses and making facial expressions. I am very impressed with this foundation.

My skin isn't acting weird, it looks like I won't break out from it and it didn't irritate my face, that's a big plus as well.

 

Day 2

Today I went in with a little different primer combo. I tried to contour with my Essence concealer a little bit, because I really like the colour of it but the blend is a little tricky. I think I'll figure it out eventually. I applied the foundation with a sponge again and blended the contour with my buffing brush from NYX. The foundation seems to be OK, it didn't move anywhere and it looks pretty flawless once again. The coverage doesn't build too well, it kind of dissappears when you try to layer it, but I like the medium coverage look, just sometimes my face needs a bit more.


Start of day 2
Start of day 2

List of used products

  • e.l.f. Prep & Blur Stick Primer, shade Sheer

  • NYX Bare with Me Jelly Primer

  • 183days Baby Skin Foundation, shade 010 Baby Shell

  • Tarte Shape Tape Concealer, shade 20 light natural

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 020 light neutral

  • H&M Hi-Definition Setting Powder, shade Translucent

  • Essence Camouflage+ Matt Concealer, shade 070 dark caramel

  • 183days Brow Ink, shade Ash

  • Trend It Up Brow Gel Filler Waterproof, shade 020

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Base

  • e.l.f. Mad for Matte Pallete, shade Holly Smokes

  • NYX Glitter Primer

  • NYX Glitter Brillants, shade Gold

  • Physician's Formula Eye Booster, shade Ultra Black

  • L'Oreal Bambi Eye False Lash Mascara, shade Black

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Lime

  • NYX 3 Steps to Sculpt, shade Fair

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Essence Contouring Duo Pallete, shade 10 lighter skin

  • H&M Pure Radiance Blusher, shade Brown Sugar

  • Soph x Revolution Highlighter Pallete

  • NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream, shade Lima

  • I <3 Revolution Green Tea Fixing Spray


End of day 2
End of day 2

Wear time 9 hours

I am still impressed by how this foundation looks when I get home or when I look at myself in the mirror. It looks very nice and natural and even when you're sick all the time, like me, and blow your nose all the time, like me, it doesn't look too screwed up and broken in places. It's very seamless and even when a little patch goes away, it doesn't make a hole in your makeup. It feels like a perfect everyday foundation, to be honest.

Also, I am obsessed with NYX glitters! I bought their last year's holiday collection glitter vault and it's so GOOOOD.




 

Day 3

It's the cream base day. I've been putting off this wear test for ages so today I was just like, well, fuck it and let's do it. I did use cream bronzer and a cream blush and finally got some use out of my stippling brush. Because I used that to apply the foundation and the blush as well. I went over the foundation with a sponge afterwards, but the stippling brush is a really nice way to go, it's just really tricky to get.


Start of day 3
Start of day 3

List of used products

  • Benefit Porefessional

  • NYX Bare with Me Hydrating Jelly Primer

  • 183days Baby Skin Foundation, shade 010

  • Essence Camouflage+ Healthy Glow Concealer, shade 20 light neutral

  • Milk Makeup Matte Bronzer, shade Baked

  • Revolution Pro Blush and Lift Liquid Blush, shade Peaches

  • Fenty Beauty Pro Filt'r Setting Powder, shade Butter

  • NYX Brow Sculpt and Highlight, shade Soft Brown, Rose

  • Trend It Up Brow Filler Gel Waterproof, shade 020

  • Sephora Universal Cooling Eye Primer

  • Makeup Obsession Dream with a Vision Pallete

  • NYX Glitter Glue

  • NYX Glitter Brillants, shade Blasphemy

  • Revolution Pro Refill Pressed Glitter, shade Treasure

  • NYX Cake That! Powder Liner

  • L'Oreal Bambi Eye False Lash Mascara, shade Black

  • NYX Jumbo Eye Pencil, shade Lime

  • Physician's Formula Butter Bronzer, shade Bronzer

  • Revolution x Soph Highlighter Pallete

  • NYX Bare with Me Multitasking Spray

  • Dermacol Matte Mania Liquid Lipstick, shade 30


End of day 3
End of day 3

Wear time 11 hours

Since the weather is getting a little colder, my skin is becoming very oily for some reason. I am hydrating and nourishing it as best as I can, but there's something about it. Everytime I powder my face like I normally would, my face just sucks it up in a couple hours and it becomes really sticky and it's annoying. This exact thing happened today as well. The foundation didn't look the greatest but it's disintegrating evenly, so at least I don't look like a patchy mess at the end of the day. However, it still wasnt the greatest. The cream products stayed put, those worked really nice. However, my concealer and chin area were looking quite bad. Also please excuse my new shorter haircut which I look very akward with. I hate it now, I'll like it again in a couple weeks. That's just how hair works.

 

Final thoughts

After testing this foundation for a couple weeks, because I didn't have time to write the review, I know quite sure how I feel about it.

I think it's remarkable that you can get a foundation for this little money, which works so well. Even though it's a matte foundation, I don't think it's matte to the point that your face looks like Sahara, it's just not dewy. I would say it's more of a satin natural finish. So I believe, it could be good for anybody.

The shade selection is horrible, but if you manage to find yourself a match, it's a great purchase. It looks nice, plays well with other creams and powders, it lasts a really long time and wears off really nice and not too patchy or messy and gross. I really like this foundation and I've been wearing it quite a lot to be honest.

Have you tried any of the 183days product range? Let me know in the comments

147 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page