top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

NUDESTIX | MINI NUDE SKIN KIT | FIRST IMPRESSIONS | DEMO

Updated: May 2, 2020

Am I done with the quarantine hauls? Nope. I don't own many things from Nudestix, but I like their concept of minimalistic makeup and their universal products. Their skin sticks are quite pricey so I was stoked to get this little kit on sale at Sephora.


The Nudestix Mini Nude Skin Kit is a set of three All Over Face Colors from Nudestix, which can be used on eyes, face and lips. You get the shades Sunkissed, Sweet Peach Peony and Hey, Honey. Sunkissed and Sweet Peach Peony are "matte" formula, which isn't fully matte, it's very balmy and a little glowy. And Hey, Honey is a metallic formula. These are multi-purpose, but for me they are perfect bronzer, blush and highlighter shades. Each of these sticks has 1.8g of product and I got it for 640 Crowns on sale. It's not very cheap, but you get three quite pricey products, so I'm not judging the price just yet.


The set comes in a little tin box, typical to Nudestix. The box has a mirror in the lid and contains the three products. I really like Nudestix packaging and I enjoy travelling with it because it keeps everything inside very safe and it stays closed.




The sticks are very tiny, but that's to be expected. It's a nice set for travelling if you're into your cream products. I love using cream base products and this just looks like a perfect one-and-done kit, that can make you complexion ready in a couple minutes. A great advantage is that you can use these on your lips and eyes as well, so you could really survive a weekend with these no problem. The only problem is the amount of product, it's really not a lot.


The shade Sunkissed would work best as a bronzer or on my eyes and lips. It's not too dark for my complexion but it seems to me that it's a little pink. When I applied it the other day, I felt like I'm bronzing with a blush for a minute.


The shade Sweet Peach Peony is a beautiful blush color. I've used it on my lips, but it's a little too light for me, so it gave me the concealer lip vibe. But the formula is really nice and blendable and as a blush it applied quite sheer and looks very fresh and glowy.


The shade Hey, Honey is a beautiful gold right from the tube. I love the color of it and it's not even too deep for my skin tone. I usually struggle with gold highlighters because they just have too dark base, but this one looks like a perfect one. It's also very metallic and would look stunning on the eyes.




On the swatches you can kind of see the texture of those. They are creamy/balmy and not matte at all. They would be great for that fresh, no-powder, no-makeup everyday look. Very effortless in my opinion and would look great on everyone. The selection of these shades is clearly targeted to people with my type of complexion and I couldn't find a set like this with deeper shades. However, there are plenty different kits with different products and in different pricepoints, so maybe you would find a good one on Nudestix website if this one wouldn't suit you.


This set was limited edition consisting of their best-selling products. Nudestix products are free of sulfates SLS and SLE and parabens. They are also vegan, cruelty-free and gluten-free and the packaging is recyclable.

 

Application

The texture is very creamy and blendable, but I still prefer using my creams with a brush. Especially creams which come in this type of packaging. The pencil-like shape makes it harder to blend with a sponge, but I'll try my best to give it a shot.


I recorded this little demo, because I think it's easier to see how the products apply on camera. The photos can be a good indication, but it's always better in actions. At least in my opinion.


Just to add a couple comments, the bronzer applies way better with a brush. It will blend with a sponge eventually, but it's a lot faster and the product is better distributed when you use a brush. The blush applies good in every way, but it's pretty sheer. Sponge soaks up too much of it, so it requires a lot of building, because there's nearly no pigment left to be placed on the face. I liked applying it with my finger and blending it out with a brush, because I got the most pigmentation and the best blend. The highlighting stick is maybe a tiny bit too dark for me, but I think I can pull it off. It doesn't apply as intense on the cheeks as it looks when you swatch it. It's still very metallic but more subtle. I liked it the most when I just swiped it on my cheeks straight from the tube. It gave the most pigment and you can just blend it with your sponge afterwards.


I then used the shades Sunkissed and Hey, Honey on my eyes, they applied well, but I can feel the heavy balmy texture on my lids and I think they would crease after some time for sure. It's pretty sticky formula. I also put Sunkissed on my lips, mostly on the inner portion and it looks great in my opinion. The pink-ish undertone makes it a really flattering lip shade.

 

Final thoughts

I am honestly still not sure, if the price is justifiable for this little kit. I like it as a whole, I think it's great for travelling, I like the brand and the idea of these products. I also really love the packaging.


What I don't like so much is the texture of these. They are creamy but they don't blend that well. Compared to my Milk Makeup cream products, these don't blend as well for sure. I am a little iffy about the bronzer still, because the undertone just looks a little too pink and the blush is very sheer. If you are into a no-makeup makeup and live for creams, this might be for you. I like to incorporate these aspects of natural minimalistic makeup into my routine and personally, I think I have better products for that. These play well with powder, but I find myself working more when I use them than I have to. Mostly in terms of blending and building.


I will use this kit and I will like to take it with me when travelling, because it's handy and small and you have your whole complexion with you in three tiny sticks. But, they are tiny so I don't think I'll use this all the time. I would probably go through them in like a month. I have makeup and skincare I use only when I travel and those are things I like and respect and I think they perform well, but I wouldn't use them all the time and they are not my product of choice. This is where this kit stands at.


That being said, I'm a little on the fence with these and if you really love Nudestix and really love these products, you would like this kit. But if you're just looking into creams to try, I'm not sure this is the kit to go, because I have better cream products in my collection which perform better. They may not be too much cheaper, but you're already paying a lot for this kit, so why not spend it better.


Are you a fan of Nudestix products? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

772 views0 comments
bottom of page