top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

KISS | FALSCARA STARTER KIT | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Just when we thought that there's no more bizzare ways to apply false lashes here comes the FALSCARA! And it's another creation from the wonderful people at Kiss.


Kiss Falscara Starter Kit jumped at me at a drugstore in the middle or November and I swear I saw someone well known use it online. I just couldn't find them so I had to dig in myself and see what this is about. Apparently it's the "new way to lash" which is something I need, I need every way to lash which I'm capable to do. The starter kit retails for 599 Crowns which is hella pricey and you get the lengthening lashes (wisps), the bond and seal which come in a dual-ended mascara like packaging and the applicator. If you ask me, that's quite a lot of money for quite a little amount of things. But buying them separatelly didn't seem much more efficient so I went for the kit.


It took me a minute to write this review so I actually purchased the volumizing wisps as well a couple weeks later together with the Falscara Remover. I think it would be better to sell the kits with both versions of lashes but it is what it is. Also, the remover didn't seem like anything special to me and it was pretty expensive as well but at this point I was dedicated to see how it's all going to work together. The Volumizing Wisps were 299 Crowns and the remover around 230 Crowns if I remember correctly.

For each eye you get 5 pieces of wisps secured in a plastic packaging. They are quite long and whispy and I like that you can choose how many you're going to use. Then the seal and bond. The bond it supposed to be like a glue and it's black and very, very sticky. The seal it supposed to get rid of any residue from the bond and secure the lashes in place. And then there's the applicator which looks very similar to other lash applicators I've seen.


According to the packaging and Kiss website, this is supposed to give you look of lash extensions. And it's also supposed to look very natural, without clumps and it's supposed to be easy to do. I suck at lashes so we'll see about that. But their slogan is "if you can mascara, you can falscara" so they really believe in me a lot.

 

The application

Lengthening wisps on the left side

The instructions say that you should start on your clean lashes applying the bond in a very thin layer, a little goes a long way. Then you take the wisps and put them under your lashes close to your waterline but not directly on it. You press the wisps and your lashes together and then you apply the seal to get rid of any stickiness.


So, I tried really hard not to mess this up and it's not as hard as I thought it was going to be. The bond is really REALLY sticky so go super easy on that. You need only a thin coat and it's going to be sticking your lashes to anything. That brings me to the problems I had with the applicator. It just kept getting stuck to my lashes. So I ended up placing the wisps with my fingers which worked well on the left eye. On the right eye I was a lot slower and there were a couple errors, I just couldn't get the wisp right, but I managed. The seal really helped with the glue feeling. I had to apply quite a lot of it but then my lashes weren't sticking to my face anymore.


The best thing about these? I really couldn't feel them at all and they looked very natural. It's not the usual "look at me I have bigass lashes" kind of look but it does amplify the lashes quite a lot. And you don't even have to use a mascara.

 

The removal

So here comes the fun story. I couldn't figure out how to remove the bond from anything. I tried my oil-based removers, alcohol-based removers, micelar water...about anything I could find but nothing got rid of that sticky feeling. I managed to remove the lashes quite easily but the residue afterwards was terrible.


I couldn't find the ingredients which are in the special Falscara remover so I couldn't compare it to the ones that I own. But when I woke up in the morning the stickiness was gone. Still, I wasn't too happy about that.


I got the remover at the end because I didn't want to go through that stickiness again so we can finally test the lashes properly. The remover is one of the two-phase removers and it contains rose water. You have to shake it up and use it on a cotton pad to remove the wisps.


Using this remover to remove the lashes helped a lot. It's quite slippery and the lashes really slided of like nothing. It removed the bond in little clumps but my lashes didn't feel sticky afterwards which I appreciate. I really hate to say it but you might really need this remover if you want to use these lashes. Which sucks because it's quite expensive but it looks like a little goes a long way and you don't use that much of it.

 

Wear test


So I applied the volumizing wisps for the wear test because I wanted to see them in action. They are easier to apply the more you try them so I didn't struggle as much this time. I did glue the left outer one a little weird so it's poking my eye a little bit. Other than that I cannot really feel them and they look very natural. I went for three because I just don't have eyes that long.


You can barely see them in the image but you can tell that they are very natural looking. You wouldn't think these are false lashes at all.






Wear time 9 hours

The first 30 minutes of the day I felt the wierdly glued on lash a little bit but then it just went away and I didn't feel them at all the rest of the day. I literally forgot I was wearing them until I went to remove my makeup. They are very comfortable and don't irritate the eyes at all.


That being said they are very natural and I feel like they didn't really do that much for my lashes in terms of the lift. They were volumizing and I would say that they did add a little more volume to my lashline. But they weren't really sticking out and my eyes just looked like normal pretty much. Just with a lot better applied mascara.

 

Final thoughts

From the start I was a little sceptical about this whole Falscara idea and I wasn't really convinced it's going to work for me. The more I apply them, the better I get so now I can actually do a full face of makeup with an eye look and then apply them without any problems at all. It just takes a little practise.


I like both the lengthening and the volumizing wisps, the lengthening may be a little more visible in my opinion. But they both look very natural and just like your lashes. If you don't like big thick false lashes but your lashes need a little help, these might be what you're looking for.


I personally feel like they could bring more styles with a little more bold wisps. I could use some crazier ones for very bright and bold looks. But the two are fine for the start and I can imagine people getting into these a bit. I think these are a little more reliable then my magnetic lashes. Because they are really stuck to the lash so there's not much chance thay they'll come of. You can wear them with any look without a liner which is also a plus.


I would recommend these for a beginner or someone who just struggles with lashes like myself. I hate lashes you have to glue on with passion. I still do it sometimes but it really makes me mad. One downside of the Falscara is the price and also the need for a special remover. I didn't manage to find out what magic is in it so I don't have a good dupe for you. So it's quite an investment but I do like them and I think they are a good idea afterall.


Do you have any favorite funky lashes? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


217 views0 comments
bottom of page