top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

GLOW HUB | HUGE HAUL | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Sometimes you get an email with info about a new brand and you just fell in love. I got one of those emails from BeautyBay where they introduced Glow Hub and here we are with a huge box of new skincare.


Glow Hub is a skincare brand set in the UK/Ireland which provides simple skincare routines. They call it skincare for the next generation. They have multiple ranges, super cute packaging and nice ingredients. They are also cruelty-free and vegan and all they have is just so good looking that I had to place a giant order and trust me...I am tempted to get the rest as well.


They have the Purify & Brighten range, Calm & Soothe range and Nourish & Hydrate range. Naturally, I picked up stuff from all three because I couldn't resist. They also have a spot roll-on treatment and a bunch of masks and a peeling but I focused more on the everyday skincare items I use all the time.


The Calm & Soothe range contains jojoba oil and hemp seed oil and it is targetted towards stressed skin. It should also help with any redness. The Purify & Brighten range is a line for acne-prone skin and it contains black tea and blueberry for brightening, detoxication and tackling breakouts. And the Nourish & Hydrate range is hydrating range with coconut water and peach and the products often contain hyaluronic acid.

 

Introducing the products

From the Calm & Soothe range I got the Gel-to-Oil Cleanser. It's a gel cleanser that emulsifies into milky oil and it's supposed to wash away any dirt, grime and stress. It's not meant for removing makeup. I really like the packaging, the chunky tubes with pumps look really cute. You get 120ml of product which is a very decent amount. As I already mentioned, it contains jojoba extract for balancing the skin and hemp seed oil to soothe and nourish the skin. It retails for 10 Pounds.

From the Nourish & Hydrate range I got 2 bits. The first one is the Toner Essence. It contains the peach extract to boost radiance and hydrate the skin together with hyaluronic acid and aloe vera. It comes in a bottle with a press pump and you have to apply it with a cotton pad because of the packaging. It smells like kids champagne in peach flavor, I absolutelly love the smell of this whole range. The essence is very liquidy, almost like a very thin serum but it feels like more than just a toner. You get 100ml of product for 9 Pounds.

The other product is the Gel Moisturizer. It's a very lightweight gel moisturizer with hyaluronic acid, coconut water and peach extract. It should be providing a lot of hydration and also a nice dewy glow. It comes in a plastic pot, this one feels a little like a toy for kids to be honest. But I like that it comes with a protecting lid. The gel is clear, very lightweight and dries a little bit sticky. You get 50g of product for 11 Pounds.

The Purify & Brighten line really spoke to me so I went for three products. The first one is another cleanser. This one is the Jelly Cleanser. It contains black tea and blueberry extract. It's meant for dull and breakout prone skin. It's a gentle cleanser that melts away dirt, makeup and congestion without drying the skin out. It helps to soothe and balance the skin and give it a nice brightened look. It comes in a plastic bottle with a pump and you get 120ml for 10 Pounds.

The second item I got from this range is the Super Serum. This was the only non-spray serum Glow Hub has so I really wanted to try it out. It meant for acne-prone skin and it's designed to brighten the skin, balance and clarify. It has ultra-lightweight formula with black tea extract and blueberry as well as salicylic acid and willow bark to gently exfoliate the skin and declog pores. It comes in a usual serum bottle with a little pipette and you get 30ml for 12 Pounds.

The last item is the Moisture Lotion which is a spin on moisturizer in this line. It's a super lightweight moisturizer that's formulated so it doesn't clog the pores but it's still nourishing and hydrating enough. It contains squalane to hydrate and brighten the skin as well as the black tea and blueberry again. It also contains salicylic acid so it's a nice pair with the serum if you are trying to tackle these breakouts. It comes in a botte with a pump which I really like and you get 95ml of product for 11 Pounds.

 

First impressions

So I decided to test these for a little bit before writing down these first impressions so let's say it's about a week worth of using for each of these products. I got to know them a little but my opinions still might change later in the future.


Let's first look at the cleansers. The Gel-to-oil cleaner is very nice if you have very dry skin. My skin is sometimes very dry and when I want something gentle this is a great cleanser option. It does work well but it's not the best to be used with my Foreo Fofo. It's just not thick enough to work well with it and the plastic bristles glide over the face a little too harsh that way. So I would recommend using it on its own. It's a very nice cleanser though and leaves the skin feeling nice and soft and hydrated.


The Jelly Cleanser is also very nice and not drying or stripping at all. It can actually remove makeup pretty well too. It's a gel texture but it doesn't foam up at all and it works very well with my Foreo Fofo. I also really like the black tea/blueberry smell.


The Toner Essence is something I've been reaching for almost daily. It's my only hydrating toner product at the moment and at first I didn't really think it was doing much but in a couple days I figured out how to load up the cotton pad properly and it's working really well as a prep product at the beginning of my skincare routine. My skin feels nice and hydrated after I use it and almost like I've applied a little bit of a hydrating serum as well. I really like how lightweight it is but you still feel that hydration.


The Gel Moisturizer is very funny texture, it's very much a gel. I never had a moisturizer with TRUE GEL texture. It feels very nice and lightweight on the skin but it dries down a bit sticky as these gels tend to do. I apply my SPF after moisturizer so I don't really mind that. It's also great to mix SPFs into it because it's very lightweight and it plays well with different products. I can see myself using it a lot more in the summer, now I'm using slightly different moisturizers.


The Moisture Lotion is a little better in terms of texture when it comes to my winter skin. You can really tell that there's squalane in the formula because it hydrates really well but it's also very lightweight. I've been using it on and of and I cannot make up my mind about it. Maybe if I had acne-prone skin I would appreciate it more. Now I like as a well performing lightweight moisturizer with the benefit of salicylic acid. Which is actually quite great now that we have to wear masks everywhere. That mostly why I use this line a lot.


The Super Serum is also a great staple in my routine nowadays because of the mask situation. The BHAs really help my skin a lot and this serum is truly amazing. You can feel the difference in the skin. The pores are less congested and I had way less breakouts from the mask since I started using it. I really like it a lot and I've been using it pretty much daily.

 

Final thoughts

I am very glad I purchased these product and Glow Hub as a brand seems to be right up my alley. I think the Purify & Brighten line is right now the most "my jam" because of the maskne stuff and because my pores get really congested these days. But all of the products are a hit for me and overall I would recommend them all. I am very tempted to try even more from Glow Hub.


I love that they're vegan and cruelty-free and they are also a very affordable brand. They make the routine creation very simple and with the color-coding it's just a great brand to start with if you're looking to try out some new skincare and don't really know where to begin. They will literally give you your whole routine on a silver platter and it's probaby going to be made from very nice products.


Have you tried anything from Glow Hub? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

1,538 views0 comments
bottom of page