top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

FOURTH RAY | THE BIG REVEAL RESURFACING KIT | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

The haul continues as I look into yet another gift set from Fourth Ray Beauty. This year has been quite a skincare based year for me as I stayed home a lot and I also gifted my family a lot of skincare so let's look at what I gifted to myself.


The Fourth Ray Beauty The Big Reveal Resurfacing Kit is a set of three products that are targetted towards dull, uneven skin using AHAs and fruit enzymes to help reveal smoother and more even complextion. The set retails for $24 and you get three mini products. There's the Papaya Face Milk (14ml), Reveal 10% AHA Serum (14.8ml) and the A-HA Moment Enzyme Mask (15g). They are all very decent sized minis and they will last you for more than a couple uses for sure.


The kit comes in a pastel orange box, I really like the packaging of the skincare kits. On the back of the box you get all the information about the products and how to use them. All the products are vegan, cruelty-free, paraben-free and gluten-free. Let's look at the individual products.


The Papaya Face Milk is one of the best selling face milks Fourth Ray Beauty has. It's a hydrating product that can be applied as a serum. It comes in a bottle with a pipette so you just drop 2-3 drops of the milk into your palms, warm it up and gently press into the skin. There's Papaya Enzymes, Papaya Oil, and White Tea in the formula so it should replenish and condition the skin.


The Reveal 10% AHA Serum is a exfoliating serum that should be applied at nighttime. It comes in the same bottle with a pipette and you apply 2-3 drops of it to clean skin. You should start slowly with it and apply just a couple times per week and let the skin adjust to its strength. The serum contains lactic acid, glycolic acid and strawberry enzyme. It's supposed to resurface and refine the skin to reveal smoother and more radiant complexion.


The A-HA Moment Enzyme Mask is an exfoliating face mask which contains papaya enzymes and AHAs. You should apply it to dry clean skin and leave it on for 5-10 minutes. It should be used 1-2 times a week. It contains glycolic acid and lactic acid as well as the Reveal serum so beware that it's also quite a strong exfoliating product. It resurfaces the skin and makes you more radiant and smooth.

The overall thought behind this kit is pretty clear. We want smoother, more radiant and exfoliated complexion. It's worth noting that using these products may lead to increased skin sensitivity to think about that and apply your SPF (as you should anyway). The serum and mask are the strong ones in this kit and the face milk is supposed to be like a calming treatment after the exfoliation. It makes perfect sense to me.

 

First impressions

The A-HA Moment mask is a very nice mask, it smells like papaya and it's very pleasant on the skin. I didn't even realize that there are any acids in it. It has little bits in it which add a little bit of physical exfoliation as well once you rinse the mask of. My skin didn't have any reaction on it and it honestly felt pretty nice and my skin felt very smooth after using the mask.


I followed the mask with the Papaya Face Milk as I was told to do on the packaging. It's a lot thicker than I expected but it's very nice and nourishing. It gives you a lot more hydrated and soft feeling than a usual hydrating hyaluronic acid serum. This is more on the edge between a serum and a cream. It's a very interesting texture and for dry skin this could make wonders I think. It also smells really nice, like papaya.


The Reveal serum took me a minute to use because I was a little scared to use it. I use quite a lot of chemical exfoliants but this one for some reason just really scared me. I think it was the smell because this serum seriously stinks. It's full of acids so I wouldn't really expect anything else but it still smells really bad.


After applying it though my skin felt absolutelly fine and I didn't feel any stinging or irritation. Everything else went well on top and in the morning I woke up with a nice and glowy skin. You can always tell the difference when you wake up after using a chemical exfoliator. It's just the best.

 

Final thoughts

I've been using these product for a couple weeks but I use a lot of skincare so I wasn't really focusing hard on them. However I do really like them and I think it's a nice set of product to try out if you want to get into exfoliation more. Especially if you want to try the AHAs, the serum is a great starting point. It works really well for me and it doesn't irritate my skin at all.


The mask is my go-to resurfacing mask and the Papaya Face Milk is just such a nice thick nourishing serum. I usually use it at night when my skin feels very dry or when I use a harsh mask before my skincare routine.


The Big Reveal Kit is a great gift for any skin enthusiast or yourself if you want to try out some of the resurfacing Fourth Ray beauty products together with the face milk. I woul absolutelly recommend getting it.


Have you tried any good AHAs lately? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

129 views0 comments
bottom of page