top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

SOL DE JANEIRO | TRIPLE BRAZILIAN BUTTER HAIR REPAIR TREATMENT | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

Sol de Janeiro has one of the most iconic scents to their products I've ever smelled. I'm not much into bodycare and fragrances make me sneeze but a hair mask is a product from them I could not miss.


The Sol de Janeiro Triple Brazilian Butter Hair Repair Treatment is a hair mask that contains Murumuru butter, Cupuaçu butter and Tucumã Butter which together hydrate the hair, get rid of frizz, seal in moisture and detangle the hair. It provides a special SOL Seal Technology which uses keratin to seal split ends and repair the hair. Honestly it sounds pretty cool. I got the smaller size which is 75ml but it's still a very decent amount and it retails for 386 Crowns at Sephora and other retailers with similar price point.


The packaging is beautiful, it looks almost like their iconic Bum Bum Cream and smells just as good. The mask comes in a tub which is also protected by a cap so it doesn't spill. The product has slightly yellow-orange tint and seems to be very thick. It is targetted towards people with damaged and/or dry hair.

 

First impressions


Since the mask is very thick, I decided to use it after slightly more clarifying shampoo - my Function of Beauty Shampoo. I applied way less of the treatment than I do with my regular masks. The texture was very thick and I didn't want to use too much and weight my hair down. I would say I dipped my fingers in and went in about 1cm deep. Hard to describe this kind of amount honestly.


The mask spreads quite nice in the hair but it doesn't really help with detangling all that much. I worked it in, from root to ends and let it sit under my shower cap for 10 minutes as suggested on the packaging.


I had no problems washing it out but my hair felt a little weird. Maybe it's the sealing technology, who knows, but the hair didn't feel as slick and moisturized as with some other masks that I use. It did feel nice and almost more thick than before but not really slick and detangled, which is the sensation I am used to. That's not really a bad thing, it's just an impression.


I was a little worried that my hair is going to be too weighted down but so far it feels fine. I applied 2 pumps of my Function of Beauty conditioner and squished it in for a bit. Then I took my Curly Secret detangling brush and detangled my hair going away from the scalp to get some more volume in the process. I then applied all my styling products and plopped for about 12 minutes. I diffused my hair for 15 minutes until about 85% dry and put on my Curl Keeper clips for a nice root lift.


After I let all that air-dry for a couple hours I was finally ready to scrunch out the crunch with a little bit of the Verb Ghost Oil. I was really happy with the result. Of course, the end product is not only the job of the mask but the fact that my hair isn't weighted down and there's not much frizz happening gives me hope that my hair accepted the mask well and it's not too heavy. My hair feels very soft as well which is usually a sign of well hydrated hair for me.

 

Final thoughts

I have used the treatment multiple times now and I think I am a fan. The scent is a little overwhelming but I really like it. I don't think it's a mask for everybody, it's pretty thick and if you have low-porosity hair it might be a little too much. But if you go little by little it might be fine for any hair type.


I like that it's very hydrating so I like to use it after clarifying when my hair needs that extra moisture and I also love that it contains protein and has those repairing properties because my hair is bleached and needs all the protein and bond repairing it can get.


That being said, I like it but I also think that it's not a necessary product for everyone. The smaller version is not that pricey and you don't need to use a lot at all so I would recommend getting the smaller version before you dive into the more expensive large one. If you have coarse and very dry hair, it's probably going to love this mask. I think curly hair might benefit from all the butters as well as the protein. Just a heads up, because I write about CGM friendly products a lot, it's not CGM approved.


Would I recommend it? Yes, if you hair is very thirsty and needs some damage control and repairing. I can see mostly damaged and dry hair benefiting from this mask and I really like it. It gives me different effect than my other repairing and protein-heavy masks which I like because it's something new and patented repairing technology is always fun to try. In this case, I feel like the feeling in my hair is because of that, the SOL Seal stuff. And I am a fan. But there are plenty other great masks for lower price so I'm not saying "go and get it now".


Have you tried any SOL de Janeiro haircare? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!

296 views0 comments
bottom of page