top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

HAUS LABORATORIES | GLAM ATTACK LIQUID SHIMMER POWDER AND METALLIC LIQUID CREME | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

I've been resisting the urge to buy stuff on Amazon for the longest time...but the quarantine just got me. I ordered some really important and necessary things and also some makeup. One of the brands which is sold almost exclusively on Amazon is Haus Laboratories.


Haus Laboratories is Lady Gaga's makeup brand and I've had my eyes on it for the longest time. Their first launch involved their own liquid shadow formula and I am a sucker for a good liquid shadow. After seeing some reviews and finding out they have a second formula, I had to step in.


There are the Haus Laboratories Glam Attack Liquid Shimmer Powders, which we have two of. It's a multifaceted shimmer liquid eyeshadow which comes in 9 shades. It's weightless, smudge-proof, liquid to powder, which is easy to blend and to layer up. One of these on Amazon is actually 21 Euro and you get 3.5ml. Liquid eyeshadows tend to last a very long time though, so I wouldn't worry about the amount too much. These are also cruelty-free and vegan, transfer-proof, flake-proof and should last all day. I've got the shades Chained Ballerina and Angel Baby.


The other formula are the Haus Laboratories Glam Attack Metallic Liquid Creme which is also a liquid eyeshadow. This one has longwearing opaque coverage, it's crease-resistant and it has a true foil finish which stays put. These individually are 24 Euro, so they are a bit more expensive and you get the same amount of product. This product is also cruelty-free and vegan. It comes in 4 shades, I've got the shade Retro.


Both of these products come in the same black and very sophisticated packaging. It's sleek and it has a little transparent crystal-like peek at the bottom so you can see the color of the product. They both have a doefoor applicator and a little metal ball inside, so you can shake the pigments up. Not every liquid eyeshadow has that, but I usually like to shake up my liquid eyeshadows everytime I use them to get the pigment inside more even.


Also, I purchased Angel Baby first by itself for 21 Euros and then when I was doing another Amazon order, I noticed there's a set of two for 30 Euros. That's how I got Chained Ballerina and Retro, they came in a holiday set. There were many different sets paired up and I couldn't decide which one I want so I went with the one I probably could get the more use out of. I think that the set is the way to go, if you feel like trying them out.


I really like the shade selection of both of these products. There are some almost basic shades everyone can wear but there are also very unique, dark, vibrant colors so everyone can get creative with it. I am gravitating towards the pinky nude tones as always but I was very interested in the black/grey ones as well. Maybe I'll expand the collection even more, who knows.


The formula on all of them is very different. The Metallic Liquid Creme is very opague and just foiled all over. The Liquid Shimmer Powders are more glitter and pigment in a liquid base I would say. They look and also feel very different. I am stoked about all of them though. I also feel like online swatches don't really show the real texture and color of these. It's very hard to capture liquid eyeshadows well.

 

The looks

I usually review eyeshadow palletes and it's a lot more simple to create multiple looks from a whole pallete. This time, I will be using these in addition to other products. Sure, I can use them by themselves but I don't think that will make that interesting looks.


Retro

I used the Metallic Creme to fill in a graphic liner look and I love how it looks. I applied it mostly with a flat tiny brush because I wanted a very precise application. But the foiled finish of this product really shocked me, even with the brush it's just pure foiled metallic goodness. It's also very pigmented so I was able to use it to clean up all the imperfect edges on the look. If doesn't feel heavy on the lids and it wasn't irritating my eyes whatsoever. I also appreciate that it didn't flake at all. I had this makeup on for about 10 hours and the eyeshadow didn't move at all.


Angel Baby

For this one I went with a smokey look, because I like wearing pale pink tones with a lot of black and dark colors in general. I got carried away a little bit though with the bright pink inner corner. However, the pink sparkle is very flaterring to these very smokey looks. Also the lip might be a little too much, but I was really feeling it when I did this look.


I applied a generous amount of a very sticky base for this look. I whipped out my Conspiracy Pallete from Jeffree Star Cosmetics and I went in with the black shade first to build the pigment in the outer corner. I aimed at a more rounded look. Once I layed out the black, I took a little bit of deep purple to smoke out the edges slightly and then went in with a very pale pink to create even more gradient. Then I applied the Glam Attack shadow straight up with the applicator first, it's very flexible so it's easy to follow the lid shape. To amp up the pigmentation even more I took the shadow on a small flat brush and applied a little more to make the pigmentation more even and prominent. I really wanted the sparkle to show up. After placing down the liquid shadow, I smoked the transition of the black with the sparkle a little bit to make it more smooth and seamless. It blended very well, but maybe wait a little longer than I did because a lot of glitters transferred into the matte black shade. After that I took the hot pink shimmer on a sparse tappered brush and blended it into the inner corner flinging it a little up and a little along the lower lashline. Then I applied some black pencil liner in the waterline and smoked it out with a bit of black and some of the deep purple. I felt like this look needs a big lash...so I applied a thin magnetic liner and applied a quite bold magnetic lash.


Chained Ballerina

For this one I wanted to make something special. I imagined a dark rainbow kind of a look. So I did a little gradient in the crease going from neon pink, purple magenta, dark violet to dark blue. Then I took the Glam Attack shadow in Chained Ballerina on a flat brush I use for cutting the crease and I basically drew on a giant black winged cut crease. It was super easy to use, I used a liner brush to create the sharp edge and it worked as a charm. It doesn't dry too fast to the point where you cannot move it but it's super pigmented and works well and dries down into a non-moving finish. After that I smoked the bottom of the eye and the wing with the same order of colors. I really like the galaxy vibe of this look.

 

Final thoughts

My overall thoughts on these products are very positive. I use liquid eyeshadows a whole lot and I love a good formula that is easy to work with and has a decent pigmentation as well. These are exactly what I'm looking for in a liquid shadow.


They are very smooth, very pigmented, the shades are beautiful, they are easy to blend and easy to be precise with. They don't smudge, they last very well and they don't flake through the day. I am very impressed with these and I think those are one of the best liquid shadows I've ever tried. Are they worth the price? That's quite debatable, compared to other high-end brands I would say the 30 Euros set is absolutelly worth the money if you can afford it and if you want to try them out. I am sure glad I did.


Have you tried anything from Haus Laboratories? Let me know in the comments and thanks for reading!


48 views0 comments
bottom of page