top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

H&M MAKEUP | HAUL AND FIRST IMPRESSION

There are a several days in every year, when there's a makeup sale in H&M. These days are those when I take my biggest bag, sit on the ground in the only H&M that sells makeup, probably in this frickin' country, and I just go nuts.


That's a quick summary for you to know, how excited I am about this. H&M makeup has been discussed by many people. Tati has been making videos about it for ages. I remember when they revamped their whole makeup line a few years back and it all looked so beautiful but to be honest, it's quite expensive. Like, noone said that it has to be cheap but it's not really like you want to go there instead of Sephora to get yourself some makeup.


That's why, the time the makeup is on sale, is so special. You get the best deal on a really good pieces of makeup and it's fun to go through sales, that's just a fact. This year, I was waiting and waiting and it finally happened and I was so happy that I made it in time because the majority of stuff was still there and I had a lot to choose from. So let's start with what I got.

 

Nailpolishes

Everybody knows by now, that H&M makes the best nailpolish. I've heard it so many times and the only polish I ever bought from them is a gold flakey topper. Which is stunning, but I never got a colored one, so I had to fix it.


During my first visit, I got the shades Mushroom, Beets Me and Power to the Purple. All of them STUNNING. The Beets Me one is from a different range, they call it Gel Studio, which I assume is supposed to emulate gel nails. This one polish was 69 Crowns on sale (199 Crowns regularly) and the other two were 59 Crowns (149 Crowns regularly), which makes it a really good deal for a really high quality polish.


During my second visit, I remembered seeing this beautiful dusty pastel neon orange...I'm not good at describing colors, the shade is called Portofino and it was 59 Crowns (149 Crowns regularly). So I picked that up and I also bought their get studio top coat, because I really want to see if the Gel Top Coat makes any difference. That one was 69 Crowns (199 Crowns regularly). I am very happy with all of those, because it gets hard to find unique colors once you own a lot of nail polish. And I'm glad H&M still has something to offer to my collection, because the drugstore is pretty much a dead zone for me in the nail department.


 

Blush

I've been hearing about H&M blushes for years now and I never saw any in sale, probably because all were gone really fast. This time, I finally got one. I got the shade Pink Peach which is exactly what it says, a nice pink peachy color. It says it has sheer coverage and luminous finish. It also can be layered. So this is pretty much a perfect blush. It doesn't have glitter in it, it's not too much and it's hard to mess up. As I said, a perfect blush. They have 13 shades and all of them look incredible. I bought it for I think 99 Crowns (199 Crowns regularly) and I couldn't be happier, the shade is really beautiful and it applies like a dream. I kind of hope, there's going to be more shades the next time I go there...because you bet I'm going to go back.


 

Brows

If you saw any of my wear tests, where I list all used products, there's sometimes a brow product called Superfine Browliner. This magicly named brow product is actually a retractable eyebrow pencil with a very precise tip, It's very similar to Precisely My Brow Pencil from Benefit and I really like it because it's not too soft and well pigmented.

When a brow pencil is too soft, I run out of it too fast and I don't feel like it's worth my money. In this case, the stiffness of the pencil is just right and it works great. I bought the shade Dark Walnut Brown, which is a lighter brown than the shade Chocolate I already owned and I think it's going to be a great match.

It comes with a spooley which is really nice and dense and it's matte and holds up the whole day without a doubt. I bought it on sale for 69 Crowns (199 Crowns regularly) and I really hope they keep making it because it's really my favorite eyebrow pencil.



 

Eyeshadow

I've heard so many good things about the H&M eyeshadows but their palletes were never on sale in my country. This time, I got lucky and a little greedy.

First two palletes I bought were the Eye Colour Pallete in the shade Urban Butterfly and Aubergine Dream. Both of them cost me 129 Crowns (399 Crowns regularly) and I got the second one because I really wanted to try some of their matte shades.


The Urban Butterfly pallete has more fun shimmery, metallic and duochrome shades, which blend very well even though they are not matte. I tried doing a full look just with this pallete and it worked out just fine, there shimmers can be blended into the crease like nothing's weird about it. And to be honest, there isn't, you can do whatever you want with your makeup. Anyway, the quality of these is so nice. You get 9 shades, a decent mirror and a luxurious packaging. The only complaint I have about these are the narrow pans because I have big eyes and I use big blending brushes so it's a bit harder to get into the pan, but they are incredible anyway.


The Aubergine Dream is more neutral / mauve tones pallete. It has 4-5 mattes (I'm not sure about the darkest shade), two stunning metallics and two satin shimmers. All of the shades are just beautiful. The matte shades come across a little powdery when you swatch them, but that doesn't mean much because brush application is much different.




I also picked up the Infinite Impact Eye Colour in several shades. I love H&M mono eyeshadows. A long time ago, I bought their Turmeric and it has been one of my favorite eyeshadows since then. It's just great quality and it's the most unique curry turmeric yellow that I've ever seen.


The first shade I got is called Supernova. This shade is a metallic shimmery champagne, cool toned almost gold. H&M just does some great stuff with color tones so it's hard to describe. But I am obsessed. It's a very nice shade even for highlight, but it is a tiny bit chunky so you have to be careful.


The second shade I got is called Chin chin and I just couldn't comprehend what is happening in the pan. It's so beautiful. It's a little darker chapagne, gold, metallic color, packed with glitter. It applies very smooth and creamy and metallic.


The third shade is the Peach Life, which grabbed me with the name before I even saw it and it's also very unique. It's a peach/pink shade packed with cool toned glitter. So incredible as well. I just love all these shades so much.

The prices on these are a little confusing, some of them are 69 Crowns and some of them are 99 Crowns. I don't remember how much were they but it was along those lines.



Another product that I have tried before, but didn't really get the best colour, is the Fluid Hues Eye Colour. Basicly a liquid eyeshadow and we all know, that I need to try all the liquid eyeshadow on this planet. I bought a shimmery white shade before and it really didn't do me much justice. It was a little patchy, hard to put on but I was blaming the colour to be honest. So I picked up this mauve / beige shade with gold / orange duochrome glitters. So pretty! And I really hope it's going to work a lot better this time! I picked it up for 69 Crowns (249 Crowns regularly) and you get 7g of product which is quite a fair amount.



The best for the last, or more like, the biggest surprise for the last. There were about 5 of these palletes in the store on Saturday...3 left on Monday. There was a very nice English lady swatching the shades next to me and I fell in love with the swatches. We had a nice chat about how nice of a quality they are and how she expected them to be crumbly and flakey. So I just took one, because there may never be another chance. This is the Special FX Eye Colour Pallete, with 12 spectacular shades and holographic shimmer. There's no holo in this pallete (sadly) but the shades are that special something that I don't have and that looks just out of this world. Just look at these swatches. They're stunning! There are several shades I wouldn't even think of! Like what the hell, until this moment I thought that I've seen it all...I'm shook by this pallete.

You get 12 shades, the pans are a very nice size, the packaging is luxurious and gold holo inside, which I love. There's a big mirror inside and is really decent quality.

I feel like every shade is a little different and every shade has it's own "something different". None of them are crumbly of patchy or weird. They feel very soft and I cannot wait to actually use them. I bought this pallete for 199 Crowns (899 Crowns regularly!!!). This pallete is so pricey without the discount! That's a crazy price for a pallete but this one is a really special one and I understand that creating such unique shades and this high quality formula is probably very expensive.


 

Mascara

I have a lot of issues with a lot of mascaras but you know, sometimes you just have to believe. I picked up the Best Curlfriend Mascara. I mean, just the name is so cute, I had to believe in it. I have a f*ckton of lashes in line 4 rows on my eyelids but no mascara makes them look nice and full without irritating my eyes. Let's hope this on succeeds. It's in the shade Deep Black, it was 99 Crowns (299 Crowns regularly) and the packaging got me a little shook. It's looks so plain and cheap. It's a bulky fat white tube with a black lid, so simple. I don't know what was I expecting, but all their packaging is so fancy... Anyway the brush is plastic, it's curved and it looks very similar to the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara brush. I didn't like that one, not because of the brush, but because of the formula, it was too heavy and thick and wet for my eyes. My eyes get very watery out of nowhere when I wear an irritating mascara so it's pretty quick to see which one works and which one doesn't. After trying this one multiple times, I am very impressed. It does curl my lashes very well, even the top layer of them is curled very well and it doesn't irritate my eyes at all. It didn't crumble or transfer on me and because it curls quite well, my upper and bottom lashes don't get tangled in my outer corner as much as they usually do. I am very happy with this mascara.


 

Foundation

I've been baited a little bit by this product. I saw this very nice compact which said Immaculate Powder Foundation in the shade Ivory. I looked at it, I liked it, I've never had a good powder foundation, so I took it. It cost me 99 Crowns (299 Crowns regularly) and I for some reason thought, that Ivory could be one of the lightest shades. My, oh, my, I looked at their website and there's probably about 4 lighter shades. Well, screw me I guess.


The funny thing is that it actually swatched as a perfect match but when I tried to apply it with a sponge that comes with it, it looked like I just tanned my face for a week and dipped my body in white paint. A very flattening look.

I did wear it for a walk with a properly covered body and it looked very natural and nice, so maybe I will try to apply it in a different way the next time.

On the website it claims to have a natural finish, which I agree with, and you can use it by itself as a foundation or to set your concealer and foundation with to create a flawless finish. I totally have to try this more, because I really like the compact and I think this could be great for touch-ups as well.


 

Concealer

I was too curious not to pick this up. I saw a box filled with concealers. I picked up the Cover-up Concealer in the shade Almond Beige. Again, it was super hard to see which shade is the lightest and this one probably was. I got it for 69 Crowns (199 Crowns regularly) and you get only 2.2ml of product which is really not a lot. It's quite dark so I will probably use it more for spot correcting or by itself than to brighten. However, the coverage is really nice, medium to full for sure. It feels very creamy, a little thick but not too heavy or cakey on the skin. I think I will like this one.


UPDATE: I went to H&M website to check out the concealer and it's by faaar not the lightest shade. I am still using it to conceal, I just have to go on top with a lighter concealer to highlight.


 

Just a pro tip, if you have a friend with a very dry skin, I recommend, or more like my dry-skinned friend recommends their All-day Liquid Foundation, which I tried and totally hated it because it just couldn't stay in place but she loved it sooo much and said that she doesn't even have to set her face when using it. I'm very happy about discovering this and when something doesn't work for you...well pass it onto your friends or family members and someone may find their holly grail like that.


I highly recommend going to you closest H&M and if they sell makeup, go and pick up something. I've never had a bad product from them, it's a little tricky to pick shades sometimes, but we all know that. However, I think it's worth the shot because their makeup line is ON POINT.


If you have any H&M recommendations for me, write them down and thank you very much for reading!

13 views0 comments
bottom of page