top of page
  • Writer's pictureMichelle

ARDELL | MAGNETIC GEL LINER | FIRST IMPRESSIONS

The only thing in the beauty world I just gave up on are eyelashes. I just cannot glue eyelashes, at all. I was very interested when the magnetic lashes came out, but the application is just a little flimsy and they aren't the most comfortable. And some time later, magnetic liners came to light.


I really like the idea of magnetic eyelashes but using a magnetic liner and one stripe of lashes? That sounds like a dream. I saw many reviews online of people being really stoked that this concept actually works. I have multiple magnetic lashes at home because I was desperately trying to make them work, so I decided to purchase the liner and pray to the lash god, that it will work.


I picked up the Adrell Magnetic Gel Liner, because I didn't feel like ordering some noname brand from Amazon. I ordered it from elnino.cz and it was 299 Crowns. A pretty pricey liner considerin you get 3ml of product.


It comes in a little pot and with a brush, which is a little too thick for me personally. I like really slim brushes for my gel or powder eyeliner. The consistency of the liner is very thick, tacky and almost goopy. It's a little strange, but that's fine because it has to have a ton of magnetic particles in it I assume and that probably messes the formula quite a bit.


Of course, you can apply it on its own but I tried and honestly it's super hard to make a decent line with the gel liner. It's just too thick and doesn't really perform like a regular liner. Therefore, I went for the second application, which many people do, and I applied it over my regular liquid liner. One disadvantage of this is that you cannot really see where you put it. But I don't think you need that much product on the lid to be able to make it work. So I just dabbed a little bit along my upper lashline and let it dry for a bit.


I decided to use my Trend It Up magnetic lashes, which are the longest ones I have. I have different pairs but those are more just accent lashes and I wanted to go bold today. The magnetic force it not too strong, it doesn't pull the lash. But when you put it on the liner you can kind of feel it click. It's difficult to describe, but you are able to tell if it's working or not. I didn't apply quite enough to the inner portion of my liner so the inner corner is a little off on one eye, but overall I really like how they went on. It was super easy.


The one advantage of these is that you can adjust them however you want and the liner still works and you don't have to re-do anything just maybe add a little liner. The lashes don't fell uncomfortable but you can sort of feel them on the eyes, much like regular lashes. To me, this feels a lot better than regular lashes. I wish I had more styles to try on and maybe I will order some other magnetic lashes to see how different lengths and shapes work.

 

Wear test

I want to see how long they last and if they bother my eyes at all. I will be doing little updates to see how long I can manage to keep them on and if anything changes through the day.


1 hour in: I feel like everything is fine so far. I can feel them but they're not bothering me...yet. I adjusted them a little bit, because I feel like I didn't do a great job applying them the first time. Now they're a bit more visible and fluffy.


3 hours in: I noticed that these are a little stiff and they are not right at the lashline on the outer corner. I tried to fix it, but that's just how these lashes are, which bothers me just a tiny bit. It's also not really visible, especially if you wear glasses like me. Overall, they still hold well.


Wear time 8 hours

I lost the track of time but I had these on for 8 hours in total. To be honest I am impressed. I was a little worried, that they would start falling of or getting loose. None of that happened. They didn't feel uncomfortable even after such long period of time, at moments I forgot I had them. I really like the look of them and I already ordered some different styles, so I can get a little more drama from my eye looks.

The only thing that was a little problematic was the removing. It doesn't hurt, but it pulls a little bit. Which is probably expectable from a magnet, but it did flake off patches of my liner. So there are pieces missing. That means that taking these of and going about your day isn't an option if you don't like patchy eyeliner.

The liner is pretty hard to remove, I tried with a oil infused micelar water, that didn't really work, so I switched to makeup removing oil and that worked well after I rubbed it in enough.

 

Final thoughts

I am honestly very impressed. I knew this would work, because I saw it online already, but it doesn't only work, it lasts and performs great. I feel like this held up better than any glued lashes I ever had on my face.


The application is easy, you don't have to go for a full line. The product formula is a little weird, but not impossible to work with. The application of the lashes is fairly easy and you can manage it very slowly and go magnet by magnet. And it looks very nice after you apply them.


Overall, I am really happy I finally ordered the magnetic liner, because the two-piece magnetic lashes just aren't for me personally and this way I can at least use them and not waste my money. If you struggle with lashes like me or have bunch of the magnetic ones like I do, I highly recommend this product. They even sell this liner in a set with a pair of Ardell lashes if you don't have any!


Have you tried magnetic lashes or this liner technique? Let me know how it worked for you and thanks for reading!

116 views0 comments
bottom of page